We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Cannon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cannon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July and had a great stay. The hotel is very nice...old and charming but updated and comfortable. It is not right on the beach like some of the other hotels, but only a block away and very close to Haystack Rock which is awesome! Our bed was comfortable and there was a gas firelplace in the room...very cozy. The breakfast was good although would have appreciated some vegan options. Lunch at the cafe was great....lots of vegan dishes and even vegan cupcakes!! THe staff at both the hotel and cafe were great, very nice and very good service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Tracy 23_13,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable review about your stay at the Cannon Beach Hotel™. Your feedback was shared with our team (mainly with Pierre, who is in charge of the breakfast; and Jana Lee our Chef).
I want you to know that we are studying a vegan option for breakfast (for your information, we already have two gluten free options). I do hope that we will find a solution that will meet your expectations.
We value you as a guest and your constructive criticism, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service excellence. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Cannon Beach Hotel™

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a delightful surprise I found in this hotel as I made a quick 1 night trip to the beach to meet a friend vacationing in the area. I chose a small room that was perfect for 1 person, it had everything I would need & want. But the best part was the breakfast that came with the room. The little café is delightful, as was the staff. The food was delicious...they even accommodated my specific dietary needs graciously. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Barbara S,
Thank you so much for choosing Cannon Beach Hotel™ on your recent stay in Cannon Beach, and providing your feedback.
Thank you for your nice and encouraging comment about our breakfast. Your feedback was shared with our team.
We value you as a guest and truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Cannon Beach Hotel™

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Those who gave a slight downgrade to the hotel should be pleased that new mattresses arrived very recently. They are the best that I've ever found in a hotel. As for the other comments commending the rooms, the hosts and the location: they're all true. It is truly a great place to relax. Definitely, it's a place to which one should return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Graeme B,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable review. Your feedback was shared with our team. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
And yes, as you notice, we have new beds that are really exceptional! I design those beds for our hotels with a team of experts. It is nice and encouraging to read that you appreciate their quality.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Cannon Beach Hotel™

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Canon beach is beautiful enough. This hotel is small and has older plumbing (part of the attraction) and rooms. It is situated one block from the entrance to the beach by "the Haystack" so is very convenient. The rooms are older and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms are fun and definitely different than your usual motel. There is a small cafe attached to the hotel where an included breakfast is served. It is very nice. Quiche, yogurt, strong coffee and fruit are available. Later in the day the cafe becomes a small restaurant. It has wonderful cupcakes. But you better get yours early because they tend to disappear by 3 or 4 pm. Warm chocolate chip cookies appear around 3 pm in the hotel lobby for guests. The lobby is small but is like a living room and has a gas fireplace going all the time. Canon beach tends to be cold so this is very nice. The hotel provides beach chairs. It is more a place for romance. It is definitely not a place for families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingDuo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest – TravellingDuo53 --,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Historic New England-style Cannon Beach Hotel™. Your encouraging feedback was shared with our team. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We hope to see you again in the future (we have new beds!) and wish you the very best.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Cannon Beach Hotel™

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our plan was to be in Cannon Beach only for the day... but once we saw this hotel and went inside,we decided to stay. Best decision we made in a long time! Staff was very nice. The room was lovely. The food was great! I would highly recommend staying here although I thought the price was a little high. My husband and I hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay on the second floor next time. Parking lot on both sides of our corner room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We reserved our room in the hotel expecting to enjoy our vacations in a beautiful place. The website that we used to book the hotel said "Free! Any additional children or adults stay free of charge when using existing beds." and it didn't clarify that children under 16 were not allowed. When we arrived, we were told that we couldn't stay with our daughter. The whole town was sold out! Finally, they sent us to other building where we could sleep but the place was noisy and it didn't include breakfast.
We were disappointed with hotel and management. The problem here was between the hotel and the website listing it, not us! but we were more disappointed with the manager who was not even contacting us knowing our problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank MMC681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Cannon Beach Hotel was amazing! Claudia and Pierre the owners were so gracious as we walked into the Hotel and gave our name, they immediately said "Happy Anniversary" and had Champagne and delicious Cupcakes delivered to our Suite...YUMMY!!! From the moment we arrived we were charmed by the beautiful Hotel, it's decor, so warm and inviting. The Staff was extremely kind and helpful and always wore a smile on their faces! The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. The Hotel Cafe which included a breakfast buffet was quite nice and had an assortment of cold and hot items. However, in our 4 day stay, the menu items never varied, it would be nice to see some variety incorporated. The adjacent Cafe and Olio Cupcake Bar were equally as inviting, decorated in a Parisian atmosphere. The Manager/Chef, JanaLee, her husband, Francis and Server, Erin were awesome! Their attention to detail and customer service as well as their warm and friendly personalities made us feel as though we were dining in our best friends kitchen. The selection of lunch and early dinner items as well as the fresh baked daily assortment of cupcakes made for quite a treat indeed! We look forward to returning again and again! Thank you all for making our anniversary trip so special!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
0.6 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#7 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Beach Hotel

Address: 1116 S Hemlock St, PO Box 943, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3053
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $127 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cannon Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cannon Beach Hotel - Historic New England-style Bed & Breakfast chosen as the Best B&B in Cannon Beach by the Travel Channel, and a member of Unique Inns. In continuous operation since 1914, this boutique hotel stands as one of the last remaining historic lodgings on the Oregon coast. The hotel has been completely refurbished, designed to celebrate the past as well as offering many modern amenities with the timeless reunion of style and character. Each guest room is unique and features a combination of gas fireplaces, four poster beds, over-sized claw foot soaking tubs, rain shower heads and deluxe linens. Designed with couples in mind, the hotel welcomes guests over the age of 16 exclusively. We are non-smoking and pets are not allowed. Daily, complimentary breakfast is included with a buffet-style menu of home made quiche, potato casserole, pastries, yogurt, cereals, fruit, coffee and juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing