We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel, not a Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Cannon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very nice boutique hotel, well decorated, and centrally located. I wouldn't classify this as a B&B, however, as the breakfast consist of scant offerings of fruit and pastries. Other than that, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtimhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Cannon Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We didn't have a lot of options for our 2 night stay in July because many hotels in the area require a 3 night minimum. Cannon Beach Hotel was one of the few options that was also a reasonable price. We were pleased to find there was also a first time visitor's discount if you booked via their website and let them know.

When we arrived I mentioned that discount and the woman told me it had already been applied. Only as we were walking away to head to our rooms did the man working there whisper something to her and when we came down later she said that now she was applying it. So beware of that.

Otherwise I'll start with the downsides:

The included breakfast is not all that great. It's pretty much cereal or the like. If you want something more substantial, they'll deduct the value of the continental breakfast from your bill. I ordered something off their menu, and it was totally flavorless. I'd recommend skipping their breakfast and eating at one of the many superior places nearby. Sleepy Monk Coffee is nearby and has some pretty amazing coffee and great pastries.

Aside from our discount issue, the front desk staff was a bit surly but we didn't need them for anything so it wasn't much of an issue.

Now the good parts (which is the majority of my experience!)...

The hotel was much lovelier than I was anticipating. The Cape Cod exterior and roaring fire when you enter set the tone. Our room was spacious and decorated in soothing neutrals and had the feeling of a real bedroom in an upscale home. We loved having the electric fireplace even if it made the room a bit too warm (it was July after all).

For the very reasonable price I was shocked at what a comfortable and beautiful room it was. I can't imagine why you'd need to pay more to stay at other local hotels.

It's also an easy walk to haystack rock and the town's cute shops and restaurants. The nearby Wayfarer has the best view but is totally overpriced for mediocre food. Castaways Tini Tiki Hut is fun and friendly. Although the food is not the best I've had, it's more compelling than the Wayfarer and we enjoyed the friendly waitress and interesting cocktail list, and the banana dessert can't be missed.

So the service at the hotel may not be the warmest and fuzziest, but I'd highly recommend it for a fairly luxurious stay at a great price!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Fabulous little hotel in Cannon Beach. Impeccably clean! Very comfortable rooms. Fireplaces in most rooms. Several rooms even have claw foot tubs! Lisa and Allison are wonderful!

Room Tip: Great last minute bargains! Also ask for any specials.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella51862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

A very disappointing stay: the room was over priced, the service was impatient, the location was noisy, the carpeting in the room had not been cleaned in months and the breakfast consisted of Raisin Bran and a piece of toast. The management clearly made no effort to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcvweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Friendly & helpful staff. We were upgraded to a large suite since it was available. Midtown location is great; there is a small market next door and two coffee houses less than 1/2 block away. Beach access & Wayfayer restaurant is 1 block behind the hotel. Wonderful fabric shop and glass studio & store across the street. Dooger's restaurant 1 block away. A 10 minute walk to downtown Cannon Beach. Hotel offers free use of umbrellas. A great little place we would go back to. We've been going to CB for over 20 years and this is the nicest motel we've stayed at.

Room Tip: Ground foor suite w/ walk in shower, rm 9 is best!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We selected this place because we found it on Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild www.obbg.org
We look for B&B's for the charm, variety & social breakfast...
The bed was fine. But another terribly disappointing Breakfast. We received 2 vouchers for a Continental Breakfast in the built-in restaurant that were worth $3.50 against the (somewhat overpriced) menu items. We stuck with the CB, which consisted of a choice of 2 dry cereals, toast (white, wheat or rye), tiny cup of melon bits and coffee/tea/juice (which I suspected would be an additional charge, but was wrong). I noticed several other guests also chose the CB rather than pay more for an actual Breakfast.
In my (never to be) humble opinion, they should not be allowed to advertise as B&B.

Many have said that the rooms are small. That is all relative, and to be expected in 100 year old B&"B"s. We had room #1 (second tier) which was MUCH larger than our last B&B room in Antonito, CO (where we could barely squeeze around 3 sides of the bed. We got the last minute discount of $95 on a $165 room, and there are 2 larger rooms, so we had no problem with the room - cozy, but ample for our amount of luggage. Lovely gas fireplace that overheated the room in June. The shower is poorly conceived - the huge "rain" showerhead is too high and the curtain to close, so there is no room soap up without pointing the spray at an odd angle - usually over the curtain & soaking it.

The ice bucket is tiny & inconvenient to have the staff fill it from some hidden ice machine. But, if not for the B&"B" 'trick', I would have rated Excellent overall.

Room Tip: Website has $1st timer coupon & last min.disc.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank RogerC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Cozy room with a fireplace. Not much room to move around but for a romantic getaway it's cozy. The shower is on the small side but overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Beach Hotel

Address: 1116 S Hemlock St, PO Box 943, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $154 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cannon Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cannon Beach Hotel - Historic New England-style Bed & Breakfast chosen as the Best B&B in Cannon Beach by the Travel Channel, and a member of Unique Inns. In continuous operation since 1914, this boutique hotel stands as one of the last remaining historic lodgings on the Oregon coast. The hotel has been completely refurbished, designed to celebrate the past as well as offering many modern amenities with the timeless reunion of style and character. Each guest room is unique and features a combination of gas fireplaces, four poster beds, over-sized claw foot soaking tubs, rain shower heads and deluxe linens. Designed with couples in mind, the hotel welcomes guests over the age of 16 exclusively. We are non-smoking and pets are not allowed. Daily, complimentary breakfast is included with a buffet-style menu of home made quiche, potato casserole, pastries, yogurt, cereals, fruit, coffee and juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing