We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun thanks to Shea!”
Review of Sweet Basil's Cafe

Sweet Basil's Cafe
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Offering a healthy choice at the coast. Many vegetarian and Gluten free options. House smoked pork and meat options also available. At dinner Cajun/Creole dishes are featured plus local Northwest ingredients. Live music nightly in the Wine Bar.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super fun for a small atmosphere. The Cajun style food was excellent! A big part of the super fun was our server Shea. She was a blast and though we could tell her night had been challenging she kept an upbeat attitude and made us laugh! We would love for her to serve us again. Thank you Shea and our amazing chef. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrsilverfox, Owner at Sweet Basil's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for such a kind review. It's most appreciated
Chef john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here twice during our stay in Cannon Beach. The first was on a weekend night , very busy and had to wait 20 minutes or so for a table. Live music, 2 very good guitarist/singers playing in the bar dining area...we had a table in the back , somewhat quite dining area where there is also the open kitchen. Discovered a great beer, Kona Big Wave Golden Ale , fantastic stuff , made in Hawaii I believe.
Good varied menu including some Cajun dishes, the Seafood Jambalaya was fabulous.
2nd visit , a weekday and quite late, very few people....being a renowned little beach resort Cannon Beach is apparently always packed at the weekends, quieter in the week, instant table, Kona Big Wave beers and 2 Salmon dishes , cooked in different styles. Fabulous.
Service is quick and friendly, prices pretty reasonable, great food, beer and atmosphere
Many thanks
John and Claire from France

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnrU3874MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We showed up and the place was fairly busy. Rather than politely tell us we’d have to wait a while, the older of the 2 waitresses bluntly told us there were only 2 of them waiting tables, she had no idea when they could possibly get to us, etc, all in a tone that said we were clearly not welcome or even wanted. We were going to leave, but had heard the food was great so we stayed a while and sat outside at a table to wait. Finally the younger waitress seated us and tried to make up for the rudeness...she was very sweet. The chicken pot pie was good and the jambalaya was good but seriously too hot....and this is s group that likes heat! We had expected extraordinary food but it fell a bit short of that and the rudeness might have set us up for disappointment. Probably won’t go back on next visit to town.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 968julieam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our 2nd or 3rd visit and a wonderful experience. Amazing New England-style smoked salmon and clam chowder, Yummy chicken caprese open-faced sandwich and Turkey Sierra sandwich with avocado and cranberries. Very nice merlot-Sarah blend wine. Great choice for high-quality food in a small, relaxed coastal environment. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for the first time and it was our wedding anniversary dinner celebrations. There was a small waiting time as they dont take reservations its first cum first serve basis. They had live music also which was wonderful. They have a patio which is beautiful can have a meal sitting there during summer. We were thinking on what to order so the lady (forgot her name) helped us picking our food which was very helpful of her. I had lobster mushroom shrimp on pasta which was that days specials which was very tasty. For my husband we ordered polenta which was veggie dish that was also very good. We ordered wine and last but not least chocolava with ice cream which was very soft and delicious. I would recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank sanyaiscute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil's Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sweet Basil's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing