We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - Probably Better if You Eat Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill - CLOSED

Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK - Probably Better if You Eat Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our first time in Cannon Beach and we really never found a restaurant we were happy with. . .as we wanted something light/healthy/maybe fish/vegetables/NOT fried. After wandering from place to place, checking out the menus and not seeing anything that appealed on the menus OR the meals on the plates of others, we just gave up and ended up at this place. The atmosphere was fine. . .a little loud. . . but fine. . . and the servers were friendly. . .But it was basically a burger place and none of us ordered a burger. So. . .it's hard to be critical. . .the fries and onion rings were fine (how hard IS it to make tasty fried food. . .not hard) and the baked potato was fine. . . but the chicken and other non-burger protein we ordered were just okay. We won't come back. Don't get me wrong. . . it wasn't terrible, I just don't think there are very good restaurants in Cannon Beach. . .This one is fine if you don't have any sort of big expectations and. . .maybe the burgers are good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodaspoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUManager, General Manager at Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you couldn't find anything that you liked in Cannon Beach. Usually people find too many places that they love. I hope you find what you are craving and have happy travels. Best Regards, Vicki Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    171
    100
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Epic Lumberyard Burger is a must have”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you're a burger lover like I am, then I highly recommend eating at the Lumberyard in Cannon Beach. I rode my bike down from the campground for a Canada Day dinner, locked my bike up outside the restaurant, and ventured in to have a seat at the bar. The service was slow at the start, and did get progressively better as the night went on. The atmosphere was lively, and there was quite a few people in the place. I ordered the Epic Lumberyard Burger ($11.99), which was a 7 oz Tillamook Cheddar burger. This was an awesome burger! If I am ever in Cannon Beach again, I would go back to the Lumberyard, as I did experience an epic meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank digitalroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUManager, General Manager at Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
I am so happy to read that you really enjoyed your burger. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again! Best Regards, Vicki Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have eaten at the Lumberyard in past visits to Cannon Beach and have always enjoyed it, but this time, the four of us all agreed that our meals were "just okay". We ordered the fish tacos, rockfish burger, and two of their specialty hamburgers. While we all thought the fries were great, the rest of our meals were not that good and were a big disappointment. Although the service was good, we have decided to skip the Lumberyard next time. You can probably get a better meal elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUManager, General Manager at Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. My hope is that you shared your disappointment with your server. All of the servers have the ability to have food remade or changed to another option to make your visit a pleasant one. We really do care. Best Regards, Vicki Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere but bad food. We went to watch a game but literally got sick from the food. It just wasn't good quality. I wish we would have gone to the hardware store / pub instead and will next time.

Helpful?
Thank Dananada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUManager, General Manager at Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value our guests comments and use your input to continually strive to improve. I would love to chat further with you about what menu items you ordered and how we could make them better. Please contact me at the restaurant at 503-436-0285. Best Regards, Vicki Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
330 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Watch for MOLD!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a typical chain restaurant. Decent food and service, but no local commitment to customer service or loyalty. I was there during Happy Hour and ordered a beer (local microbrew IPA from Astoria) and pizza. As I was sprinkling cheese on the pizza I noticed mold clusters in the cheese. When I showed this to the waitress, without apology, she took the cheese jar and said she'd ask the kitchen to make another pizza. A new pizza and cheese was served with no comment on the prior serving. It seems big restaurants should have a routine for rotating and checking on the condition of the cheese and when there's a slip, at the very least the customer should be offered an apology. I did have a second pint that night, but will not come back on my bimonthly trips to the beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUManager, General Manager at Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. An appropriate response would have been a sincere apology as well as a comp on your pizza. I have personally gone through all the cheese and will make sure that this experience is never repeated. Please contact me at 503-436-0285 if I can do anything to make things right for you. Sincerely, Vicki Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill also viewed

 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing