We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first trip to the Oregon Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Haystack Rock
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was my boyfriend and I's first trip to the Oregon coast. We were staying with family in Portland and they insisted that we stay a night on the coast, it was well worth the drive. The Coast is amazing!
The little Cabins at this Inn are so sweet and cozy, I loved this over the large hotels chains and will stay here again on the next trip to Oregon!
Had some slight toliet trouble but they were very quick to fix the problem.
Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdmm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 203 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

The room was quirky but adequate. Had everything I needed with cute little homey touches in the kitchen and such. It was very cold when I arrived, but the heaters took the edge off rather quickly. Unfortunately the walls are a bit thin and I could hear much going on from the young people in the adjacent room. Was able to make a to-die-for pot of Sleepy Monk coffee in the morning which was a highlight!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeartoftheOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 1 at this Inn for a night during the week. We seriously considered staying a second night, but we already made plans to spend Thanksgiving with family, so we had to leave. The room featured wifi, television, DVD player (although we could not get it to work - probably the only down-side to this place), microwave, mini-fridge, queen-size bed, silverware, some dishes (cups, bowls, plates), a food-prep surface, and other basics. The best thing about our experience is that we truly felt like it was a home away from home. It was cozy, cottage-like, and that was nice for a change. The Inn is right across the street from the beach and it was really easy and convenient to walk. They offer free DVD rentals in the office. There are some informative books about Cannon Beach and Andes mints in the room. The furniture is really unique. The bed was super comfortable, I fell asleep almost instantly. The room was also very clean. I would highly recommend this Inn. We plan to return!

Room Tip: Room 1 was really nice and far enough away from the office to feel private. I would choose this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistyisaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the place. While our unit was small they have many options with larger spaces and amenities. Reasonable prices. The beach is nearby and a pleasant walk. I love the town of Cannon Beach, nice people and good food.

I would be pleased to return to this environment.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haystackas, Owner at Inn at Haystack Rock, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are sure glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Gosh, for the value and location, my spouse and I had a lovely time in Room 8 at the Haystack Inn. Yes, the "room" is a bit odd...it's actually two rooms and a galley bathroom with shower. The little kitchenette was helpful for us, cooking breakfast each day, sitting on the loveseat listening to the rain pitter patter on the roof. The lobby is next door with a nice selection of free movies, fruit and candy, such a nice treat!

Best thing about the place is the location. Walk a block to the ocean and stroll the beach at low tide and feast your eyes on the beauty of the sea. Walk north toward Ecola and drop into town, people watching, then a handful of blocks back to the Inn.

For what we paid this place was a great value. It's not the Ritz -- but hey, I'm here to be at the ocean, not in my room/hotel all day.

Room Tip: Not sure you can go wrong. Room 8 was just fine, though the other rooms farther from the lobby woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night during the week. Very clean and nice. Jacuzzi tub was really nice. Gas fireplace very nice but sunny out so a little warm with fire today. Would be great on rainy day. Location is great. Waled across the street to beach. Then walked to town to shop and eat. There is a small kitchen with fridge and microwave. Super comfy.yo don't get to look at the water but for the price it's really great.

Room Tip: #2 is beautiful. Right on the road so if you're a lite sleeper it might not be for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely older inn of about 6 units around a courtyard with roses and a fountain. Our room was clean and well maintained. It had a small kitchenette. All the furniture appeared to have been hand made with wonderful carved scenery capturing the ocean and Haystack rock. We were happy that the weather was very pleasant while we were there, as the room was quite small and had no room for chairs for relaxing. At the beach you don't expect to be in the room much, but this is the Oregon Coast and rain is frequent. There was fresh fruit free for the taking in the office and free DVDs - nice.

The location of the inn was perfect - in the north end of town. We could easily walk to lots of restaurants and shops, and the ocean beach was just a short block away.

Room Tip: This is a great room as long as you plan to spend the majority of your time in town and at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haystackas, General Manager at Inn at Haystack Rock, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The furniture was handmade & painted in our wood-shop in Cannon Beach. Looking forward to your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Haystack Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Haystack Rock

Address: 487 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $74 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Haystack Rock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Haystack Rock is ideally located within one block to the beach and three blocks from downtown. We offer nine rooms from which to choose: from one of the guest rooms with fireplace, to a spa cottage with 2-person Jacuzzi tub, full kitchen and fireplace. You can also bring the whole family and stay in the two-bedroom suite with full kitchen. Relax in our secret garden area and warm up around the fire-pit as you sip some hot chocolate. Sit on your patio and take in the sight and sounds of the Spanish style fountain within the courtyard. We invite you to discover our little spot of paradise on the Oregon Coast. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Haystack Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Haystack Rock Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing