We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome onion rings!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge

Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukie, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome onion rings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for some place to have a beer and maybe something to nibble on. Because it was 4th of July weekend, everything was very busy. Luckily we found a table in the bar. Our waitress recommended that we order the onion rings so we did, along with an order of wings. The wings were good but the onion wings were fantastic! Hand cut and dipped, nice light batter and fried to perfection. We'll definitely go back on our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    359
    173
    51
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

There is a nice atmosphere with great service. We had the homemade clam chowder, asian chicken salad and fish and chips - all were outstanding. The best clam chowder I had in Oregon!! Inside was a little stuffy, but they have a patio equipped with an outdoor fire! It is also one of the few restaurants open past 9pm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AliMacK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

It looked promising for the outside, nice patio with a modern looking fireplace. Once inside we realized the patio was only for 21yrs and up, seems strange for such a family oriented town. The decor inside is quite tired, I don't recall the last time I walked through swinging salon doors, which almost knocked my daughter down on the way out as the host pushed through without looking. We ordered the oyster shooters to start. They were a local supplier so we figured they would be great. They were anything but! They were served in a large shot glass smothered in a very spicy unpleasant cocktail sauce and were much to large to "shoot". In my experience, the best oysters are served small, on the shell with their liquor and a small amount of accompaniment, chewing not required. We left half our order on the plate. Next came the chowder, which was the best part of the meal, along with our wine selection, also good. I wish we had stopped there. My husband had selected the seafood stew. It arrived in a tomato sauce that resembled a jarred pasta sauce and his clams were chock-ful of sand. I had the halibut, while cooked properly, the sauce was heavy and greasy, very much like what you'd expect from an old tired 1980s steak house. My children also did not touch their food. The kids noodles are literally fettuccini noodles with melted butter, and the grilled cheese was not liked by my 5 year old. Note that the kids drinks and food were the last to arrive at our table.
Prior to leaving my 3 yr old daughter had to use the washroom. I took her and there found there was a women's side and a women's/men's room. We used the w/m as the other was in use. It was filthy. The seat was soaking wet from a previous user who must have had issues using the urinal located right behind him. I ended up holding my daughter over the seat to use the facilities.
In the end, it was the worst, overpriced, dining experience we have had on our vacation. Fortunately there is a great ice cream shop across the street so we were able to rectify the evening in the end!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jendey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape L, Manager at Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are extremely disappointed in your experience at the Driftwood. We truly appreciate the time and effort you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback. As with any review, we are looking into each and every point and will take immediate remedial action to resolve any issue within our abilities. In regards to the patio, we are governed by the Oregon Liquor Control Board and are not able to allow anyone under the age of 21 on the patio. We are truly sorry you kids didn’t have a better experience with us. We have enormous pride in our property and when we learn, as we have here, that we have let you down, it causes us to redouble our efforts. We dedicate ourselves to the comfort and satisfaction of each and every guest, each and every day. It is our utmost concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time or money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our only bad experience at cannon beach. This is NOT a family friendly place, and the wait staff are very rude. If you want great food go to Moe's, or Wayfarer, or anywhere but driftwood. If you want horrible service, high priced and low quality food, then by all means this is your place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Makale3815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape L, Manager at Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are extremely disappointed to read your review of our restaurant. While we are not sure there is anything we can say to change your opinion of The Driftwood, we want to assure both you and other guests that we are a family friendly restaurant. However, we are only able to offer services on our patio to guests ages 21 and over due to OLCC restrictions. Kids are certainly welcomed in our dining room. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, we would welcome an email or call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overcooked Clams and Steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate here in 2013 and I enjoyed the food and service then. Something has changed. My razor clam was rubbery, hard and tasteless. My wife's steak was overcooked. Salads looked like they had sat in the fridge overnight. Service was very slow and indifferent(with few customers even...). I could not recommend this restaurant this year to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape L, Manager at Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your review of your experience at The Driftwood. Return guests are extremely important to us and we are very disappointed in both the service and food that you received. I will reach out to you in a private email also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing