We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be going back!”

Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We'll be going back!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My family went for dinner last Saturday, and were very pleasantly surprised. The service was very attentive, but didn't make you feel rushed either. The onion rings we had for an appetizer weren't very good, but the rest of the meal was exceptional. The clam chowder was very flavorful and had a lot of clam meat, and my oyster dinner was perfect. About 15 extra small oysters fried up just right, and the rest of my family all loved their meals as well. We were so full, we couldn't even consider dessert, though they all sounded marvelous and are made on sight. We'll definitely be going back on our next trip to Cannon Beach!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morthgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    399
    191
    53
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food & Value”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife had the clam chowder and thought it was good. I had fish & chips and it was good. A pretty good value. Service at our table was good. The only down side is that we were waiting in the bar for a table and waited a long time (an hour or so but we were not in a hurry). We noticed that a lot of people were getting seated who had not been waiting near as long as we had. I approached the young man who was seating and inquired and he became very defensive and loudly insisted (load enough that about everyone in the bar could hear him) that he had called us many times but we did not answer. It was very odd as we were not upset or confrontational but he was upset and confrontational. Maybe he was just having a bad day?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“A classic!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is worthy of a destination from anywhere along the north Oregon coast. It's a homey, classic steak and seafood place right on the main drag of Cannon Beach. Good wine and strong drinks accompany. They've now built a spacious patio out front of the bar to enjoy the 12 days of sunshine the Oregon Coast receives each year.

Upscale Cannon Beach features a number of ambitious restaurants that receive well-deserved attention from regional food writers. The Driftwood is where you go to get good steak, prime rib and razor clams in an unpretentious (OK, antique store) setting. It has a spacious bar on the left side that is a good option if you just want lunch or a light dinner.

They're very welcoming to children in the restaurant side.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is average.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had our first dinner in this restaurant. The food was okay but not too healthy. Very dark interior and noisy even though we ate early.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yiyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“fun bar and friendly service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped in for lunch and found a couple of seats at the bar. Got there just before the rush. The clam chowder was great and the fish and chips and fried oysters were tasty as well. A nice place to get out of the rain and catch a game on one of the two TV's.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Driftwood Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing