We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good meal overall.”
Review of Newmans at 988

Newmans at 988
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Portland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very good meal overall.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The service and food were excellent! Being a food service professional, management needs to focus its attention on proper food handling.... i.e., using a cloth towel to polish glass and flatware. Not a huge issue, but definitely a food code violation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OR-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    100
    39
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I arranged a special meal for my wife's 40th birthday with a total of 12 friends. We all can't stop raving about the atmosphere, staff, and especially the food. My wife and I are nervous to go out to eat again because it will be difficult or impossible to match the experience we had. This unassuming house is filled with love!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 512michaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful meal!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Delicious green salads with pears and walnuts, rack of lamb and beef medallions entrees, and fabulous gelato/sorbet dessert. Seating's a little tight in this wee cottage, but the decor and the service were wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mkm_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Didn't disappoint..delighted”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Finally made it to Newmans at 988. We chose the chef's dinner a long with the wine pairings. Every dish was really tasty. tomato soup, cucumber salad, halibut, and berry dessert. All so good! Sorry I'm not very detailed...not my style. Suffice it to say, we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susancheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The restaurant is very small but the wait staff is excellent and very knowledgeable. There is only seating for about 20 or 25 people and you are right next to the kitchen. I had the roasted endive salad which was excellent. It was very salty and savory. My wife and I had the fresh caught salmon. Again very good. I don't think you would go wrong. It is more a place for couples. No cocktails, only wine.Definitely not for families with young children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDuo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newmans at 988 also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Newmans at 988? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing