We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth Another Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mo's Restaurant

Mo's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Worth Another Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Even though there was a line to get in we were seated in a short amount of time. It has a great ocean view. It is very casual with wooden benches and tables. This would be a great place for families. The tables were somewhat close together and I didn't feel very relaxed here. It was more a grab food and go kind of place. I was disappointed with the halibut and chips as it was mostly breading and the same for the shrimp. The wait staff was pleasant but everyone was in such a rush. I wouldn't go back, not my style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilburBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    313
    226
    69
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view. Ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ocean feont view. Watched the sunset. very nice.

Food was just ok. Nothing special about the Clam chowder. Chowder at Lincoln city's Mo a few years back was much better.( more clam and better texture)
Fried fish was over fried / cooked and was too dry. Fried oystera were juicy however.

The soup/stew dish (don't recall the name but starts with B and like 10 characters long) was good however. Big piece of fish and oysters and other seafood. Taste was not bed. Garlic bread was a good match for the soup.

Depends on what you order, price could be cheap to moderate.
Probably will come here again given the view. But won't get the chowder.

Helpful?
1 Thank olt1892
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“MO's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The best thing about this resturant is the veiw. Get a window seat if you can . They claim the clam chowder is award winning . But it is out of a pre packaged chowder base that you just add milk to . Its not that good. The fish is the same stuff that you buy in the freezer section at the market .Nothing special . But just OK . Prices are good for what you get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Consistent, but, not outstanding this trip. This was our last stop after 5 days on the Northern Oregon Coast. You just gotta stop at Mo's.

We arrived just before the noon rush. We had good service, and consistently good food. Normally I would give 4 stars, but this week we had some exceptional clam chowder and service that knocked Mo's right out of the box. The bread served with our meal, was huge, and perhaps, just not to our liking. It was fresh, but reminded me of a big slice of angel food cake. We split an order of clam strips and they were tender, not much spice. They have excellent fries.

Sadly, we are used to our Standard Poodles being allowed to dine with us outside on decks and patios. They were very firm with their "NO". One would be allowed as he is a service dog (but he was not working, so we would have been cheating and did not even bring it up), and we would not bring one without the other. We are very used to dining outdoors with them, and have done so at many, many restaurants on our travels.

Stop at Mo's for the consistently good food. In all the years we have been going (since our college days) it has always been good whether you stop in Cannon Beach or Lincoln City. I think we have been to them all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sued1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great food, great selection, great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Oh my gosh! This is our favorite seafood restaurant EVER....... and we have been coming to all of the Mo's locations for nearly forty years now! We don't even live in Oregon, but we try to visit the Oregon Coast every year. When we do, we eat at Mo's as many meals as we can. The food is fantastic and the portions are generous! The prices can't be beat! The wait staff is always family friendly! Some of our favorite menu items are: fish and chips (both types), prawns, clam strips, shrimp stuffed avacado, garlic cheese bread, oyster stew, fish tacos, the salads, seafood alfredo and, of course, their famous clam chowder (of which we always get the large "family style" offering. Be sure to get a "punch card" for the chowder.) For the children in your group who may not like seafood - the chicken strips are excellent! Don't forget the awesome deserts, too! Mo's also has a nice gift/souvenir shop and a penny press machine for you collectors out there. There are many different locations up and down the Oregon Coast and each is equally wonderful. We have visited the following locations: CANNON BEACH, LINCOLN CITY, OTTER ROCK, NEWPORT, NEWPORT ANNEX, and FLORENCE. We appreciate that we can count on the same delicious menu in all of the locations. ENJOY!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1SusiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Restaurant also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing