We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Fish & Chips (Halibut)!”

Bill's Tavern & Brewhouse
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tacoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome Fish & Chips (Halibut)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My Wife took me to Bill's for my Birthday Dinner. I'll start out with just a few negatives regarding our visit, apparently the Owner's Son was one of the Bartender's this particular evening. In all my visits with various bars and or pubs, I would have to say that this gentleman lacks any sort of sincere skills to communicate with the patrons. It just seemed that he really didn't have a care as to who was walking or not walking through the front door! Maybe it has something to do with the fact that the family also owns and operates another pub at the other end of town! What I'm getting to is that whenever you run a bar or pub it's in your best interest to not only to get to know you patrons, but also take a interest in answering their questions with some sort of conviction about the surrounding area! The last negative piece would be their lack of televisions airing local and national sporting events! We had to ask for Monday Night Football to be aired during our visit on a rather out dated TV.

The upside to this bar of course is the food, awesome fish and chips and great happy hour specials. The carried selection of beers are brewed by the ownership and are top class for body and taste. The setting both inside and outside the bar are top notch.

Sincerely! Richard F.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    312
    128
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Seafood,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful fried halibut and wife love fried oyster burger! Very excellent beers! Relax and look around inside and friendly serve perfect for us!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great little bar with beer brewed on the premises and fun beach food (fried shrimp, clams, oysters, burgers, fries). Fun decor. We loved the value and the friendliness of the staff. Would go back in a minute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilene80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxed atmosphere for drinks and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good drinks, food, reasonable prices, and great service. We were looking for a pub that had everyday food and drinks with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welchs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Good Food, Homey Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

When you walk in the front door and stare down that row of bright tanks in the chiller, you get an impression of the focus here. I had the seasonal IPA and was very pleased. They have a wide range of local brews to choose from.

The food is pub fare. My chili burger wasn't anything special. But my partner's fish and chips were perfectly prepared. I usually get the tuna salad sandwich and they always do a good job with that. The burgers are good. The fries are good. Portions are ample. Service is quick and efficient to start, then they tend to leave you alone or forget you.

There are a couple TV's on the bar side, but they are not intrusive. This is a neighborhood hangout. The bar is very inviting with all the natural wood, antiques and wood stove. The kiddy side is less warm and inviting but there are interesting wall murals, the theme of which is continued in the bathrooms.

I stop in every time I visit Cannon Beach. Bill's is right in the middle of the main strip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Tavern & Brewhouse also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bill's Tavern & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing