We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hot Crab Sandwich Ever!!”

Wayfarer Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wayfarer Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gower
Description: The cuisine at the Wayfarer Restaurant & Lounge is simple, unembellished northwest fare, highlighting the best the region has to offer. We feature the freshest seafood available in the Pacific Northwest, allowing us to provide an intriguing collection in flavor, texture and variety. Our menu features great ingredients, grown, raised and caught by people who share our passion and commitment to serving great food. Their bounty is featured on this evenings menu.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Hot Crab Sandwich Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was wonderful. We enjoyed eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner here and were never disappointed with the food or service! The view of Haystack rock is amazing. Our favorite dishes included the hot crab sandwich and the crab Mac and cheese! 3 of our family members do not eat seafood, yet they too always walked away from the restaurant happy and full! We were impressed with the service and the knowledege the servers had of the area. If only I could get them to deliver to Kentucky!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liltrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManager, General Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for all of your gracious comments and dining with us on numerous occasions. Regretfully we do not deliver at this time.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    419
    193
    72
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very painful experience in Cannon Beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a long drive from Vancouver, BC we checked into the Hallmark Inn (great resort!) and wanting a casual but tasty meal we were pointed toward the nearby "Wayfarer" (horrible recommendation).

To sum it up: This was our first night dining in Cannon Beach, and it was sorely disappointing. Read our experience below.

We were quickly seated by a friendly hostess (later to find out she was the manager). The server was friendly, if not a bit bumbling, and seemed to need direction in the order of service (ie: hi! drinks? appies? mains?)

Our cocktails were the only bright spot of the evening.

The clamshells in the appy were plentiful, altho it seems as though the clams themselves were boycotting the meal. Digging to the bottom of the tasteless broth revealed no stowaways.

Oh well, on to the mains, halibut and a filet mignon (curiously masquerading as a sirloin...)

The halibut was overcooked (think Goldleaf canned tuna) and had to be sent back TWICE only to come back the same...the server handled the error in a courteous way.

The $30 7oz filet mignon, asked to be rare, was a medium at best, and might have been mixed up with a sirloin for it surely didn't have the succulence one expects from a pricey cut of meat. At this point, we were out of breath to complain further. (and starving)

At our urging, the server offered us a vague "discount" for the errors in preparation...oooookay? Then shoved a horribly awkward "display model" tray of their desserts in our face, lovingly mummified with god knows what. Little did we know, the display model was likely served to us that night...

Assuming that a twice-maligned halibut earned us a complimentary cobbler, we were charged full price for a barely luke-warm, petrified piece of pie.

Upon letting our server know of the inedibility of the cobbler, she politely informed us that "oh, well it's just microwaved, we could toss it in there again for you if it's not hot enough..."

Ummm...no thanks. She then ran our credit card as we begged for release from this culinary prison. When we saw the cobbler on the bill, we mentioned it, and the manager FINALLY came over to ask about the double-bad halibut...

She invited us back to try breakfast and lunch, but I think we'll pass.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManager, General Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory service and meal that you received on your recent dining experience with us. We set our standards much higher than the service and quality of food you have described. I would like to let you know that I will follow up with our wait and kitchen staff about the quality of service that you shared with us. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

My sincerest apologies,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good meal for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose the Wayfarer Restaurant because it was adjacent to the hotel (Surfsand Resort) and we did not want to venture out on our first night it town. We were glad that we did. Its not a 5 star restaurant, but its serves great food, with large portions, for a reasonable price. My husband had Halibut fish and chips and gave the dish a 4 star for quality and 5 stars for portion. I had their razor clams which were a 5 in my book. I did not care for the rice side dish, but the green beans were fresh and crisp. The service was excellent. The wine selection was good and not over priced. We would eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebBAuburn_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManager, General Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your 4 and 5 star rating on a couple of our signature items from the Wayfarer. We will hope to see you soon at both of our properties.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant was good. Our crab cakes were excellent. Good food overall. Good service. No complaints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Braden_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManager, General Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed the crab cakes, all crab with a touch of scrimp mousse to hold it all together.

We are Grateful for your review,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orchard
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our hotel recommended the Wayfarer for a "special night out" dinner and my wife and I thought it was just average. We were quite disappointed in the pricing - too high for what we got. The food quality was fine, but nothing special. For a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, I should have known that it would not be a "special" place". Am sure it's fine for family dining, but not a special night out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandPinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManager, General Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I am sorry that you did not feel like we were the restaurant for “your special night out”. We do pride ourselves for fresh and local seafood and apologize if that is not what you received.

Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfarer Restaurant also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing