We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, TERRIBLE Service”

Wayfarer Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wayfarer Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gower
Description: The cuisine at the Wayfarer Restaurant & Lounge is simple, unembellished northwest fare, highlighting the best the region has to offer. We feature the freshest seafood available in the Pacific Northwest, allowing us to provide an intriguing collection in flavor, texture and variety. Our menu features great ingredients, grown, raised and caught by people who share our passion and commitment to serving great food. Their bounty is featured on this evenings menu.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
“Good Food, TERRIBLE Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our water was late, and the waiter was MIA. He seemed to greet all the other guests around us, but seemed to forget about us. Otherwise, the food was good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachTowelsBalloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
I would like to apologize on behalf of the wait staff for the marginal service that you received on your recent visit. I am glad that you enjoyed the food

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    435
    203
    74
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfasts are fantastic!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went to the Wayfarer for brunch on our anniversary. The friendly staff set the tone for the meal. My husband and I shared two breakfast entrees: crabcakes benedict and cinnamon roll french toast with marionberry butter and hazelnuts (filberts). Both were so tasty and nicely presented! The restaurant has recently been remodeled and has a nice, updated feel, a big improvement over the look a year ago when we ate there! Haystack Rock is right out the windows to the south. This is a great choice for brunch in Cannon Beach!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkagitTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Happy Anniversary and thank you for enjoying your special time at the Wayfarer Restaurant. I am glad that you like the remodel and loved the crab cakes benedict and cinnamon roll french toast.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocrity at its best”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Captive audience... some of the best ingredients available ... you can only hope for a memorable dining experience. But very forgettable. The food is pretty generic hotel food. Expensive. Bland. Service is bland as well. The most enchanting thing about this experience was the view of the beach and Haystack Rocks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jthreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot if your in the mood for a pricey but tastie meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I enjoyed the mushroom ravioli with crab meat. Husband had taste Red snapper. It was pricie but fun to sit with a glass of wine looking at haystack

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice view - great remodel - menu creativity lacking”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

If you can score a window seat, there's a great view of Cannon Beach from your table. We thought they did a nice job with their remodel, but the food was a disappointment especially at those prices. Not very creative with spices/herbs/cooking temps/ingredients, etc. We felt the push was to add lots of butter, cream, oils, salt, sugar and cheese to just about everything. Who wouldn't like that?! If you really want to taste your fish or are looking for good quality food across the board, without all the high-fat/high-salt, you might want to look elsewhere. We would not go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank canda-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfarer Restaurant also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing