We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Studio... Great Service... Awesome Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tolovana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tolovana Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Studio... Great Service... Awesome Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just returned from 7 nights in Cannon Beach where we stayed at the Tolovana Inn. The Tolovana Inn is located at the very south end of Cannon Beach, Oregon. So you are away from the busyness of town... but still a short walk to the basic necessities. (The Blue Store & Sea Level Coffee). Located a short walk to the Haystack and if you choose a water view or waterfront studio... you get the best views regardless of the weather. I wasn't prepared for the windy days so if you haven't been to the Oregon Coast... Bring a Hoodie!. and a big kite. The nights are calm and perfect for a beach fire and the Tolovana has several fire pits along the beach for you to roast a hot dog and make your favorite s'mores. Note... our studio had a small fridge and a the basic necessities to cook a breakfast but every night we ate out. The Hotel lobby has good complimentary coffee at 6 am every morning but bring your own cream. If you like Roomservice... bring a butler because this hotel doesn't have a restaurant... Although there is one next door open for lunch and dinner it's not the kind of place anyone could eat at more than once a week. there is WIFI but not good enough for streaming, so no NETFLIX on the IPAD for the kids. however, the kids were more than entertained by the bunnies that roamed the grassy areas in front of our room. Tip, weekdays even in the middle of summer are relatively quiet and weekends in Cannon Beach are pretty busy so... book ahead. I booked our room for next years retreat before we left.

Room Tip: the water front studios have an attached optional bedroom... we didn't find this out until after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    503
    188
    113
    32
See reviews for
678
710
91
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stopped off at the Tolovana Inn for two nights while on a motorcycle trip. The rooms were clean, but somewhat dated. Location was unbelievable and staff were friendly. The hotel is right on the beach.

We stayed in the rooms which faced away from the beach. They were very small, but were a great value if you can live without the view.

When we were there, it seemed that most rooms were occupied by families with young kids.

There are a couple pubs nearby, as well as a cold beer/wine store and a coffee shop.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the beach are small, but a great value if you don't need the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brady F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The room was just remodeled and was beautiful!! Comfy bed! The pool and hot tub were very clean and we enjoyed them immensely, especially during kid free hours. Very easy access to the beach and just a short walk away from haystack rock. The bathroom was surprisingly upscale.
We didn't stay in a view room, next time we will!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, its worth a couple of extra bucks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a corner room in bld 1 this visit which was quiet this trip! The front desk experience was great!coffee always available in lobby...miss the liquid creamers .nice touch with jug of fruit slices&water! the pool and hot tub always a hit with us.outdoor gas grills a great plus for summer meals wish they were available year round.The hotel was busy but did not seem crowded..a good 2 night stay! we have stayed here for nearly 19yrs..a favorite for location

Room Tip: choose oceanfront when possible.worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our room was a one bedroom suite that was awesome! Decorated beautifully! Very clean! We had a balcony that overlooked the ocean and Haystack Rock. The staff was very friendly and professional. Only wished we could have spent more time there, but our plans would not allow that. I would recommend to everyone! Kitchen well furnished. The beds were very comfortable. Just loved it all!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor!! The view is fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tysmamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

So after a long walk we had, we finally wanted too lay down. So when I pulled the sheets down sand all over the bed. I called they said they will be up here immediately with clean ones. I don't think half hour is immediately, and when he arrives I thought they were gonna replace them. He just handed me the sheets and told me I could replace them. Yea real good service. And this was our second time coming. We won't be coming here ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bueno99chivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the lack of service provided by our staff member. I can assure you all sheets are changed. Many times when guests have been on the beach and place beach items on the bed, sand will sift through to the sheets. I’m not sure if that was the case here but generally that is what we discover. Regardless, our new staff member should have replaced all the bedding for you. We’ve shared this review with our Executive Housekeeper giving her the opportunity to review our procedures with our staff members. While we pride ourselves on the high level of service we provide all our guests, I’m truly sorry we fell short in your particular case. It appears this was the second time you stayed with us so hopefully your first experience was satisfactory. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide the level of service you experienced on your first visit. If there’s anything we can do to make it up to you, please let us know.

Thank you-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
239 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel was recommended by some friends who have enjoyed family vacations here for many years. It is south of most of Cannon Beach with easy access to the beach. Rooms facing the ocean have fantastic views of the iconic Haystack Rock. A restaurant, Mo's, is right there on the beach and was also recommended by our friends. The hotel grounds are well maintained and there is sufficient parking. We didn't know before we arrived that at least some of the rooms are actually studio apartments or condos; the hotel manages these for the owners. That explains the guest book, some of the wall art, and the full book shelves we found in our unit. We were pleased to have a moderately well equiped kitchen in our unit.
The only source of sun light and ventilation was the sliding glass door leading out to the balcony. The unit was frequently stuffy so we had to leave the glass door open. We also found we could get some cross ventilation if we opened the front door at the same time. Our unit did not have air conditioning, ceiling fan, or other built in ventilation system. We didn't use the gas fireplace, but noted even with just the pilot light it was putting out some heat--really not needed on the warm days we were there. The bed was a Murphy Bed that tipped up into the wall during the day. It wasn't the best hotel mattress I've used, but certainly is a step above a sofa bed mattress.
Just a comment about the reception staff. Usually the front desk had two staff, but one seemed to be constantly on the phone, so a line formed in the lobby waiting to be served. I suggest having more staff available and perhaps having the phone calls taken in the office.
This is a family friendly place and dog friendly, too. It wasn't unusual to hear kids playing or parents calling to their children. Some other reviewers have mentioned "thin walls" but we were not bothered by that.
We enjoyed our stay, think we had good value for our money, and would consider staying at the Tolovana Inn again. We would probably bring more breakfast and lunch supplies next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and perhaps a room on the end of the building that has some additional windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquadroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Property: Tolovana Inn
Address: 3400 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tolovana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing