We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Weekend retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tolovana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tolovana Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location! Great access to the beach. Friendly staff. The room we had could use a good preventative maintenance scheduling. The beds were a bit hard. There was no on site convenience sundries on site, but had a great pool and spa. A BBQ was on site. The biggest downfall was they charge a rental fee for a DVD, and it is more than $3.00. All in all, it was very a great price for the nice weather we had for the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Footballisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    436
    168
    103
    28
See reviews for
583
608
77
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

When I travel the West Coast I like to stay at the Tolovana Inn in Cannon Beach. It's a clean, quiet,comfortable and well staffed. The wonderful location has a view of the famous Haystack Rock. The rock is 235 feet and is the home to many nesting birds, like puffins and cormorants. The tidal pools are teeming with invertebrates such as crabs and sea stars. This makes a great place for families to explore the great outdoors. Next door is located the almost equally famous Mo's restuarant. Easy access to the beach opens the day or evening to long walks, At night you can build camp fires on the beach and roast marshmellows. I travel with my Therapy dog and am always looking for the best place for both of us. You will not be disappointed and neither will your dog. They have a nice lawn area for the dogs relief and they even furnish the poo bags. There are also a few free roaming rabbits on the property which are fun to watch.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the full view of the beach. The partial is still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara95242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Tolovana Inn is located on the Oregon Beach in the tourist city of Cannon Beach. It is very reasonable, with the usual conflicts of design.

1) the room sleeps 2, but only seats 1 unless the other chooses to work at the desk.

2) If somebody is working at the desk, the person in the comfortable chair needs to be pretty small in order to get from their chair to the bathroom.

3) It looks like the room was designed to have a small bay with a coffee bar above a refrigerator. Since the refrigerator was not included, you have some interesting "how do I use this space" questions.

4) As a beach located hotel, they nicely include 4 towels for the 2 people. But, since there are only racks for 2 towels, they put the other 2 on top of the shower curtain holder. So, if you wish to take a shower, you now need to figure out where you'd like to put the spare towels.

Otherwise, the room was clean and neat, staff very friendly, bed slept fine. A restaurant is in walking distance, but if you're willing to drive, the area has a wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

-$89/night for a double twin
-clean, small room, room/bath did not appear old but may need to ask for newer room because not all the rooms were updated
-anytime window shades were open, people walking by on balcony could see into room
-walls are thin, very noisy as people went to their rooms in the late evening
-breakfast not included
-free wifi
-walking distance to the beach
-5min driving to center of town

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a few days extra to spend in this area of Oregon and decided to get a room at the Tolovana Inn. The room was small but very comfortable. Indoor pool and whirlpool were just the ticket after long hikes along the beaches. Very clean and confortable place to say. If we have the opportunity to stay in this area again for a longer period of time, we would like to check out their condos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not by the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved the view and our rooms, but the check-in was slow and our room mixed up. When we checked out the bill was incorrect. Nancy told us she would call after she talked to the night auditor, but she never did. Several days later we found our credit card had been charged. We wouldn't stay here again just based on the front desk. They were friendly but slow and didn't follow up.

Room Tip: The southern beach view was more private. No view of Haystack which we didn't need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terri58687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I drove through Cannon Beach eyeballing the "fancy" hotels and calling frantically as the sunset. We wanted to walk on that beautiful beach as the sun set, but, couldn't seem to find anything that was suitable yet affordable.
As I was on hold, my husband ran into the hotel to check availability and rates, VIOLA, we hit hit the jackpot.
We were provided a wonderful ocean view room, newly renovated, re-decorated. The room had a fireplace and a Murphy bed, no carpet, all laminate (much easier to deal with sand). Great kitchen, all utensils provided, including the toaster. The mini stero with I-pod capadibilty was a bonus, as was the free wi-fi.
All of this, and, miles of unspoiled, unpopulated beaches. The area is absolutely beautiful and unspoiled.
We found our stay quiet and relaxing. The room was fantastic, the rate very affordable. The Murphy bed was comfortable and the furnishings abundant.
We're looking forward to our next trip to the Oregon coast and won't think twice as we pass the the other hotels and head to room 206 at the Tovolana Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Property: Tolovana Inn
Address: 3400 S Hemlock St, Tolvana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3076
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tolovana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing