We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The courtyard”
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our stay was pleasant, and we would most likely stay again. A few things though. When checking in, Eileen was friendly enough, but her "speech" was so robotic that it was quite difficult to understand what she was saying. Also, our room had no way of playing any music. Probably not a big deal to most, but it would have been nice to have an option of a radio or iPod adapter. After we asked, we found out that you can check out chairs and towels to go to the beach. That was nice. Too bad we had to ask.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing The Courtyard for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive criticism, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for The Courtyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We enjoyed our weekend required two night stay at the Courtyard. We had a corner room with a pleasant view and peek of the ocean as described. Very professionally run. Bed was great as was quaint but roomy bathroom. Room was very quiet. Walk to the Lazy Susan for breakfast, great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieonwabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Courtyard. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your kind words to my team here at The Courtyard. I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
With renewed thanks,
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had originally planned to stay the weekend prior to Valentine's Day, but the snow/freezing rain storm hit and they were nice enough to allow a raincheck. We decided to stay in March, because we really wanted a weekend away. Another poor choice of weekends, as it was beautiful when we got there Friday night, but was rainy and very windy the rest of the weekend (50mph). The CY17 corner unit was well done, clean and very nice bedding/blankets and towels. Although the mattress was weird, poor support on the edges- it felt like we rolled off if we got too close to an edge. The first night was fine, the second night we were both stiff when we awoke. The bathtub was very comfortable for a nice romantic soak. The bathroom does lack shelving, for the types of things ladies need shelving for, and also the caulking around the tub was poorly done, no cove base or tile trim to cover it at the floor. For the most part, the tile was very well done in the bathroom. The corner shower units are very nice and clean. The free wifi had a very poor signal all weekend- from Friday night until Sunday morning, we were kicked off numerous times all hours of every day just trying to check menus for meals or get information on the area. My 4G coverage was just as limited. The walls lack sound proof insulation (rockwool might be nice) as we heard the neighbors showering constantly, and could only assume the people below us could hear our jetted tub and shower when they were used. The kitchenette was supplied with real items like coffee cups, utensils and some dishes, which we liked. Although the signage said don't leave any dirty dishes or you will be charged. This, and the envelope left for gratuity, seemed a little unnecessary. I prefer to express my gratitude, not be asked for it. I can see where it would be a very nice place to be in the spring/ summer or fall although we did not have an air conditioning unit that we could see. The patio with the fountain is cute, the library was warm and inviting. The winds were very strong and the gas fireplace chimneys made a lot of noise all night. I was awoken numerous times during a daytime nap and that night when the wind would rattle ours. I don't know if this could be improved, but check the weather for high winds prior to your stay. Overall, we were pleased with the unit and we had a nice relaxing weekend, for staying in the room most of two days due to weather. I don't know about pricing and value as I haven't stayed in the area much, but it seemed it was a moderate to good value for what we needed. There was no view of the beach, we had a parking lot and rear aerial view of the restaurant next door- which smelled incredible, by the way. It was a very clean area, the lobby of the Cannon Beach Hotel is very cute, the cafe is very metropolitan and looks like a great place to have a meal. The front desk was extremely helpful with information when we checked in and any questions we had were answered promptly with full details. We have already discussed going back. We might look at the Hotel, but would likely choose the Courtyard over their other properties. Make sure your dates are solid, they do not allow any refunds or exchanges inside of the 7 or 14 day cancellation window- it is fully stated, and they won't bend much.

Room Tip: Don't have any room tips, we have only stayed once, in CY17- it's a corner unit on the parki...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
I was delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Courtyard. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a delightful, quiet place. There are 4 different complexes: Cannon Beach Hotel, Courtyard (this one), McVee's Cottages and Hearthstone Inn. Hearthstone and McVee's have pets and children. The other two are for adults. If you want peace, quiet and privacy choose the Courtyard. The bedding was "real bedding" not the polyester junk at most motels and hotels. Very clean with a patio door that leads out to a beach-access street. Easy walk to the beach with no big hill to climb. Close to haystack rock. You can even park right outside your patio door which makes it really easy to bring in your luggage. Beautiful gas fireplace with a nice mantel, LCD TV and DVD player with remotes. Nice bathroom although it could use a shelf for you to put your toiletries but not a big deal. Will definitely come back. We had room 11 on the bottom floor. We got the 1st time visit discount but it is well worth full price. R & L Rogers

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 & 12 have the patios next to the beach access road and you can park right outside y...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Lisa R,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Courtyard! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the value of your room. We truly appreciate your detailed description of the experience we provide, and I am thrilled that you mentioned our bedding and more adult-oriented luxuries, although The Courtyard does welcome little ones as well (but you are right, no pets there!). We strive to impress our guests with the little things and I can't express how overjoyed we are to read your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cannon Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We love staying at the Courtyard! It's the perfect escape from the city! We love the large DVD library, q-tips in the bathroom, laffy taffy - so many little great details! The hotel is one block from the main entrance to Haystack Rock & the beach! It's also super close to the picturesque downtown village! We give this place a 10!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauerpower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Bauerpower1,
Thank you so much for being our guest and for your wonderful review of your experience at The Courtyard! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the different room amenities and location in this blissful town. It's an honor to be your "escape from the city" and we hope to always provide the getaway you deserve. To call us a "10" is the ultimate compliment and we will work to continually earn this type of feedback from you. We look forward to seeing you on your next adventure to Cannon Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon to escape to Cannon Beach and celebrate my birthday. Little did we know our trip would coincide with the Oregon Coasts best (or worst) snow storm in many years. Road closures prevented us from getting to Cannon beach our first night, we ended up in Manzanita. Calling Kaela at "The Courtyard" we were reassured that they would honor the Groupon the following two days or whenever we cared to reschedule. Roads were open the next day and we enjoyed snow at the beach and hunkered down for two nights at The Courtyard. A very comfortable place, courteous staff and a quick walk to the beach or into town. It was comfortable during a snow storm, but I'm guessing it is spectacular when everything is in bloom and weather warms a bit. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus-was-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Gus-was-here,
Thank you for participating in our Groupon promotion and for leaving us such a positive review of your experience. The recent storm did put a damper on the roadways and we were happy to accommodate a safer time to travel. We're so glad you enjoyed the comfort and service at The Courtyard. We appreciate guests who are willing to brave the coastal winter for a bit of R&R! Please do join us in the warmer months, as you are correct, The Courtyard in full bloom is a wonderful sight to behold! Thanks again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My daughter gave us a two night stay at the Courtyard as a Christmas present. We loved it! The room was comfortable and had all of the amenities we like: good bathroom lighting, hair dryer, refrigerator, small kitchen, fireplace, and comfortable beds. Location was very close to haystack rock and walk to shops was not too far. Place was full, but we did not have problems with noise from neighbors. The only noise I did hear was water pressure from showers. During the day we walked to Haystack rock at low tide, shopped and took a short drive to Ecola park where we hiked and went to Indian beach and watched the surfers. Plenty of things to do. Great weekend getaway in the off season!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear laurie b,
Thank you for coming to stay at The Courtyard and for posting a kind review of your experience. We're grateful to your daughter for sending you to us as well! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities in your room and all that Cannon Beach has to offer. We will hope to see you again, maybe your daughter could join for a family getaway? We appreciate your words and feedback, it is invaluable to how we continually strive to improve the guest experience. Take care and we'll see you next time!
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#5 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Address: 964 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $179 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard - Secluded accommodations set back from the beaten path in Midtown Cannon Beach allows children 12 and up and includes a beautiful continental breakfast buffet served at the Cannon Beach Hotel Cafe from 8-10am. With a modern and sheltered grace, this property was built for relaxation. More than a dozen contemporary guest units face a private brick courtyard with a gently burbling fountain, petite flower gardens, guest library, and comfortable Adirondack seating. Offering a variety of amenities and upgrades, rooms at The Courtyard are stylishly appointed with custom furnishings, gas fireplaces, and original art. Most rooms have petite kitchenettes, Keurig Coffee makers, lounge areas with sofas, coffee tables, dining tables and patios or balconies. Our best rooms offer robes, two-person spa tubs and queen or king size four-poster beds. A haven just three doors to the sand. Pets and smoking are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Cannon Beach
Courtyard Cannon Beach
Cannon Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing