We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Courtyard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfsand Resort(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
136
81
19
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
81
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannon beach hotelgas fireplacefree mimosashaystack rockfrittatanice librarythe main hotelkeurig coffee makersmall kitchenetteshort walkjacuzzi tubhomemade granolacomplimentary breakfastbeautiful roompleasant staygreat visittwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 244 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is the second CBHL property we've stayed at. My mother and I go down each year in mid December for her birthday; Cannon Beach is one of her favorite places. We get a great deal with TravelZoo and while winter is certainly not a lively as summer, it's a nice place to spend a few days and wind down before the hectic holiday season. And we never miss the Coaster Theatre on Friday evening for the Christmas play or musical.

The staff is friendly and helpful and the property is quaint and quiet. The Courtyard is well cared for and the rooms are certainly roomy enough for hanging around for a couple days. The housekeeping staff is excellent and everything was touched up very nicely each day. The courtyard would be a lovely place to enjoy in the warmer months.

My only complaint with The Courtyard and The McBee Cottages (not having tried the other two properties yet) are the beds and most definitely the sleeper sofas. They are really, really uncomfortable. I always let my mother have the bed and I take the sleeper sofa. We were in Room 17; a lovely corner unit that we really enjoyed and while the sleeper sofa was extremely uncomfortable, I don't know that the mattress was much better. The "mattress" on the sleeper sofa was basically worn down to a flat pad. It makes for a rather restless night. I hope for better luck next year.

Other than the bedding options, we thoroughly enjoy our stays each year.

Room Tip: Corner suites have extra windows, so nice for extra light...and a little more privacy and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Sea616,
Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your experience. We're so happy you and your mother enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind words about our service to the staff. Room 17 is a favorite for it's private location and airy feel. I do apologize for your experience with our beds, the sofa sleepers are intended for smaller children and adults in a pinch, but I agree they do not allow for the same comfort as our queen beds. Please know we are replacing all the mattresses at The Courtyard this year, and we will hope to impress you with improved comfort when you next return. We appreciate your feedback! Thanks again and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Courtyard offers a very charming accommodation. Our room (Courtyard Grand) was very spacious (for two people) with plenty of room to move around, a separate sitting area and a small dining table. It was wonderful having the small kitchenette as we were able to eat in for several meals. This is a great location, walking distance to the main business district and right across the street from a very good coffee shop (try the "Good for you muffin.") You can also walk 1/2 block and go right out on the beach. We were able to leave our window cracked at night and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. Bathroom was very nice with great linens. There is a small library open to the guest that has a great fireplace and is full of books. We would have given this 5 stars except the bed was way past its life span. My hips literally hurt after the 2nd night from sleeping on it. A hint to management, a mattress should be flat across the top, not have two sunken in areas where people lay. The front desk staff were wonderful. The room was very clean and other than the bed very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor but there was absolutely no noise from any of the other units even though they were occupied. These appears to be very well built/insulated units. Very hot water and plenty of it. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear tatterbug,
Thank you for staying with us and posting a kind review of your experience. Your feedback is invaluable! We're so glad you enjoyed our amenities, location and service. Your detailed description of your room and offerings is greatly appreciated. Please know we have been working through The Courtyard, replacing all the mattresses as quickly as possible. I'm so sorry you did not enjoy one of our new beds yet, but we will be sure to provide much improved comfort upon your next visit with us. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in room #10. It was absolutely perfect! From the cozy bed to the fully equipped kitchenette, we had no complaints. Everything was updated, and the bathroom was wonderful with a HUGE jetted tub! The room even had with a private little patio! They thought of all the touches too, fresh taffy in your room to DVD's and umbrellas for rainy days! And did I mention it's half a block to the beach. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The bottom rooms have patios!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bham-Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear bham-Melissa,
What an amazing review! To be called "Perfect" is the best recommendation we could imagine and your thoughtful remarks are much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed the spa tub and patio, and our short distance to the sand. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we will work hard to keep your glowing impression of us when you next return to Cannon Beach. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner & General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What can I say - what better place to hold out on a very windy, rainy stormy weekend in Sept.!
My husband and I took advantage of a travel 2 night special in Cannon Beach. We were not sure what we were heading into but it sounded promising. We were not disappointed. The Courtyard is a great location just a ways out of the core village area and a block off the beach. Our room on the 2nd floor corner suite even had a peekaboo view. If it was nice you could sit out on a warm day. The room was nicely appointed with a small kitchen area and a bath with a large soaker tub for 2. After a day braving the winds and the tense drive to Oregon from BC, it was nice to relax in the bubbly tub.
This property is well used but it still felt comfortable and clean. You can wander up to the main lodging hotel, where you must check in upon arrival and there are warm cookies and delicious lattes offered.
The beaches are lovely and I am appreciate the restaurant menus that are available so that you can plan your meals accordingly although breakfast and lunch were nice to enjoy in the suite.
I love buying the pots of fresh crab and shrimp, cheese and crackers to go with wine picked up for the room mid afternoon happy hour!
We definitely would use this property again especially with the special offer. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Sandy S,
Thank you for your warm and descriptive review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time taken to share your experience with the travel community. It sounds like you made the most of your trip, it is so rewarding to hear about guests enjoying the different features of our rooms. Our spa tubs and fireplaces are certainly valuable during a stormy weekend! We will have several special offers in the coming seasons, please do keep in touch! Thanks again and we'll hope to see you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner & General Manager
The Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got lucky with both weather (sunshine and no wind in mid-October) and a great room rate ($100 per night). We have been coming here for over 10 years. We stayed in #22, which is second floor, and is one of two king bedrooms that they offer. No kitchenette in these rooms as in the others, but we prefer the king bed rooms. (Other rooms have sofa beds, which may be great for small families, but we are in it for the romance!) This room style has a small balcony that overlooks the brick and fountain courtyard, which is cute. Much privacy as it is off the main road, separated by the hotel’s parking area and the enclosed brick courtyard (which is locked at night-very secure and private). The exterior is Nantucket-ish. Nice, cozy room with gas fireplace, huge double tub and small fridge. Tiny water closet and shower area, but it is fine for 1 person at a time. On site, they also have a small library room with sofa and chairs, coffee service, a fireplace and a free computer - it opens via french doors onto the central first floor brick courtyard. We love the location to both the beach (1/2 block) and for walking to downtown CB. Did I mention the housekeeping was the best ever? Super clean. Knowing what to expect combined with a great weekend rate made this a wonderful visit. Food tips: try Newman’s next door for great food and service and also the Irish Table down the street. One downside: no dresser to unpack clothing. We used the nightstand drawer and tiny closet but I do miss some type of drawers. (Yeah, I am an over-packer!)

Room Tip: Two rooms (with king beds and double tubs!) are upstairs. Other rooms have queen beds but offer kitchettes, small sofa(bed)s and little patios (on the ground floor).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfwife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear GolfWife1,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Wow! We appreciate your business and cannot thank you enough for your fab review. Sorry we don't have dressers in our king rooms.......but, glad all else met your satisfaction. Look for our fall specials via email eBlast, there are some great specials coming up this fall. We all look forward to your return!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews