We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Ranked #6 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

While I write this review I have a little bit of mixed feelings about this place. The location - lovely, you are steps from the beach and the view is awesome! There are lovely chairs to sit on and watch the amazing Cannon Beach sunsets on the grass area just near the steps to the beach. Once down the steps there are 2 fire pits (created by others) nearby for you to use and enjoy a campfire on the beach. The staff - another amazing and wonderful part of this place! They were polite, friendly, helpful and eager to make our stay wonderful. To the point where they went out of their way to help us when we had some challenges! You really cannot fault the service or staff. The office has a lovely collection of DVD's to borrow, hot dog sticks, beach towels and a washer & dryer with complimentary laundry detergent. All of that added to the appeal of the place.

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite 4 and it is this unit that is giving me the mixed feeling. The unit itself is well appointed. We had enough dishes, everything we used worked well, the temperature was easy to adjust to our needs (open the windows during the day to cool the place down and a nice fireplace and floor heaters for warmer space in the evenings). The kitchen had newer upgrades and was well maintained. Bedding was clean (but they had a few stains on the pillow case corners that looked like ink or hair dye) when we arrived and the place obviously had someone though to clean it as it was well vacuumed and dusted. However, the tables, chairs and futon were painted to look nicer - which was lovely to look at - until you sat on them. They felt sticky which made you feel a little dirty, which the chairs weren't, just sticky. It just wasn't a pleasant feeling. The bathroom was quite small and cramped, but in good working order. In the bedroom the mattress was a little dated, and the pillows were a little flat to sleep on, not quite what I expected for the price I was paying. There was also a large red stain on the carpet which was a little off putting.

That being said I feel that overall the place is very nice, perhaps the other units are a little better. Would I stay there again? Probably as the staff and location were well above par but I would consider trying another room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingMomYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rooms were very clean and the decor is very comfortable. Perfect location to enjoy the beach and the lovely town of cannon beach. Loved the access to the beach and the views are spectacular. This is the perfect place to unwind and to enjoy the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My room was small but comfortable and clean. I liked the window seat with a bit of an ocean view, and it was wonderful to open the windows and listen to the waves. A few small oddities: cold hair dryer, remote-control that was impossible to figure out, and a front-desk guy who recommended 3 restaurants, 2 of which didn't exist. But overall, I had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in the Sand Dollar suite 2… It was magnificent! The view is breathtaking, the ocean and EVEN Haystack Rock. I was worried that with this room I would not be able to see the rock but you sure can!! We moved the table from the window area to the side and pushed the futon up close to the window so we could put our feet up on the window seal… We sat there for hours just looking out the window! BEAUTIFUL! The staff is nice and friendly. The room was perfect, has character for sure! This will definitely be an annual trip for us.. If not biannual lol =)

Room Tip: Sand Dollar suite 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmeePlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If I was rating only the location this place would rate five stars .....but I feel this deserves a combined rating. When I pay $350 for one night's lodging I expect perfection across the board. We were here in June for two nights and the bed spread had multiple stains, the painted furniture(chairs) were all chipped and badly in need of a repainting, the toilet had 'debris' floating in the water and we never saw or heard from the staff when we were here. Seems as though they are resting on the laurels of a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We followed recommendations and asked for suite 3. This second floor suite has a to-die for picture window view of the sea. Add an outdoor terrace when weather allows and you have an unbeatable Cannon Beach place. The room has a living room and a full kitchen as well. Had we realized that, we might have packed the car with some breakfast items. Though posh by no means, the accommodations were very clean and covered the bases, from wifi to a gas fireplace.
We ate dinner at The Wayfarer which we really enjoyed. The halibut and salmon entrees were fresh and as good as any we have had in many more ballyhooed places.

Room Tip: Suite 3-great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is terrific. Cannot recommend highly enough. We were in the Puffin Suite. Outstanding view of the ocean inlet. Easy walk into town. The rooms, furnishings and bed were all new and top notch. It was winter and stormy when we were there - so much of the town was closed. No problem - we headed 10 mins away to Safeway bought wine and cheese and literally sat in the huge window and relaxed. If you are considering anywhere else in CB - dont. This place rocks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabulpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
0.9 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock

Address: 280 Nebesna St, PO Box 933, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3126
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $118 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Cannon Beach oceanfront inn offering studios, one and two bedroom suites and cottages overlooking Haystack Rock.For generations families vacationing in Cannon Beach have chosen to reconnect and enjoy the simpler things in life at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock. With charming rooms overlooking Haystack Rock and the spectacular Oregon Coast and a staff that is passionate about helping each guest create cherished moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite At Haystack Rock Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing