We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STEPHAIEIE INN NOT FAIR TO SOME WITH DISABILITIES”
Review of Stephanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stephanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Subject: Stephanie Inn
Location: Cannon Beach, Oregon, United States, North America
Title: STEPHAIEIE INN NOT FAIR TO SOME WITH DISABILITIES
ID#: 207151852

I attempted to reserve a two day stay at this inn for August 2014. In the comments I notified the inn that I have an emotional support dog, with full Psychiatric verification. By law it is not necessary for anyone to pre-notify any landlord of a disability or animal accompanying them.

The Inn has refused my reservation on the the grounds that any psychiatric animal does not fall under the Disability statute...which is absolutely not true, They also asked me at the front desk via phone what my disability was, this is also illegal.
They might be interested in the fact that I was raped in a four star hotel three years ago, and am unable to stay at any hotel without a dog that will bark if anyone enters my room or a stranger even attempts entry.
I am disgusted with such a rural and close minded approach from an inn that preporates to be of quality. They should probably check out the American Disabilities act, along with other federal laws.
:

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
12  Thank annew1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

We are very sorry you misunderstood out intentions in getting the information we needed from you. There are 2 different disability laws for emotional support dogs. One is for traveling in a plane and living in housing that otherwise does not allow animals and the other is for service animals in restaurants, stores, hotel, and other public places. Unfortunately, the paperwork you sent us and was referring to pertained to the plane and housing act in which you were correct, that in those instances, emotional support dogs must be accepted. If you take a look at the Fair Housing Act or the Air Carrier Access Act this will support your claim. However, the new definition from the Americans With Disabilities Act revision states that animals tasked only with providing support, comfort, therapy or companionship aren't considered service animals and may not be permitted in restaurants, stores, hotels or other public places. Because of this revision, we do not accept these types of animals. We are very sorry you had a bad experience in a 4 star hotel and we can understand your frustrations with the laws concerning this. And when a guests tells us they have a service dog, we are only legally allowed to ask 2 questions and they are "is the animal required because of a disability?" and "What work or task has the animal been trained to perform?" At no time were you ever asked what your disability was. We hope this explanation/information gives you some clarity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,635 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a great trip. we had a Second Floor Ocean View room. The view and room was unbelievable!! The service during our stay was fantastic. The bellman Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He would shuttle us downtown to Cannon Beach anytime we wanted and give us sorts of good tips every trip. We also had dinner in our room one night, that is a must... food was delicious and it was so nice and casual to be oceanside having your own private dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for the nice review and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know you stay was an enjoyable and memorable one. I will share your comments about Jeff with him. And what a great experience you chose to have dinner in the privacy of your room while watching the ocean. We hope you will get another opportunity to visit the Cannon Beach area and choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the Stephanie Inn at Cannon Beach, Oregon, and can hardly wait to go back. We had a lovely corner suite on the 3rd floor with a nice outdoor deck which was too windy to use but a gas fireplace proved very enjoyable and we could sit by the fire and see the ocean and beach for what seemed like miles in each direction. The Inn serves a fantastic buffet breakfast every morning and a marvelous dinner every night. Why go anywhere else to eat when the food here is so good! Lovely, friendly staff and a complimentary wine "Happy Hour" is served every afternoon in the lounge facing the ocean. Nice way to meet other travelers. There are lots of places to visit up and down the coast using the Stephanie Inn as a home base and when you get back to your room you will be welcomed by your very own stuffed bear which you may purchase to take home. 25% of the bear's purchase price goes to a local charity and the bears are adorable. Needless to say, we brought one home.

Room Tip: The upper two floors have marvelous views for miles of beach but the ground floor rooms each have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 492anned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We really appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed the many amenities the Inn offers. How relaxing it must have been for you to sit by the fireplace and watch the ocean. And what can we say about our food - we promise you won't go back home hungary. Our chef does such a great job only serving the freshest cuisine. And thank you for adopting the bear. A portion of the proceeds goes to Operation Santa Claus which helps the children in our area who otherwise would not have a Christmas. It truly was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you will return so we can be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is, by far, one of the most amazing stays I've ever had. Anywhere. My husband and I made the trip from Chicago to my kid sister's wedding while I was 7 months pregnant. After a long flight, short detour (someone didn't want to stop and ask for directions) and beautiful rest-of-the-drive, we were greeted at the door by very friendly staff. We were immediately stripped of our heavy luggage and walked over to the refreshments. We had made it in time for their beautiful cocktail hour. I smiled and gratefully declined a glass of campaign. The man working reception smiled and said, "oh yes, you're Samantha's pregnant sister. We have some sparkling grape juice just for you." How could i refuse?! We checked in with our drinks in hand and followed our bags up to our coach house room. My jaw dropped - the room was amazing and the views were stunning. We slipped out of our shoes and started texting our other family members. My sister and her soon-to-be hubby came up to say hello and together we discovered a box wrapped in duckie paper sitting on the table. I was a little confused, but the card was addressed to us. My sister and I opened it and our hearts melted. The Stephanie Inn gifted us the most adorable plush soothing-sounds stuffed lamb for our little one for when she arrived - how thoughtful. We felt so special, like their most important guests, even though we were there for my sister's wedding.
Now for the wedding... so gorgeous! My sister married into a HUGE family and the couple just wanted an intimate, close family wedding away from it all. She selected the Stephanie Inn to host her guests and the event and she made a fantastic choice. They had a planner who helped her with everything from the photographer to the officiant to the dinner reservations. Everything was perfect. She had such a beautiful and memorable wedding and we all really, truly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the Stephanie Inn. Our stay was so amazing, we couldn't have asked for more. Our families are toying with the idea of making a trip back every few years to enjoy so relaxing time together and making more memories.
One more thing... OMG the sheets. You've never slept in such amazing sheets in your life. It was like sleeping in butter. I ended up purchasing several sets for myself and as xmas gifts for my family when we got back. Such a restful and relaxing place.
I hope you have the opportunity to experience the gorgeous, intimate, relaxing, personal place that the Stephanie Inn is and all of the beauty that it offers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We found the Steph on tripadvisor and waited to book our dates until the shoulder season deals arrived. We normally don't pay $300 for a room after discount but there is so much more about this place than just location, which of course is a jaw dropper. Most has been written about in recent reviews and it is all true.

A few details to add that I haven't seen lately. The afternoon wine tasting featured 3 types of beer and a half dozen wines, everything local and poured freely without tracking or judgement ;). The library setting is a bit cramped but you can take your drinks to your room and many do. The drinks are accompanied by some nice cheeses, bread, and crackers, great to tide you over until dinner. It is mostly a cruise ship type of crowd when we engaged in conversation and just about everyone seemed to be a return guest, some from the mid 90's. This place has a fiercely loyal following and it isn't hard to figure out why.

Breakfast is top notch. Hot oatmeal, fresh premium fruit, and baked items daily. Hot service varies every day with your typical items done so well. Cheddar laced scrambled eggs or pepper crusted bacon? Best ever. Dinner the same, almost as many servers as tables. By the way, yes the dining room is in the back of the place but it is on the second floor so it is more of a residential/forest view than a parking lot (glass half empty fellow reviewers?) view. Bright and elegant in our opinion.

Nightcap is served at 9pm for a half hour in the library and we retreated with it to our room. Hennessey, Baileys, liqueurs, about a half dozen choices. Not single malt territory but very nice.

Our room was on the first floor and we loved it. Still private and still the ocean view from your bed. Walk out access to the grass berm and beach is terrific. It sounds like higher floors are better for privacy but you ain't exactly slumming it on the first.

The staff and service take this place to a level deserving of the premium prices. They don't care about sand getting tracked in or how many times you visit the comp bar or how many cookies or salt water taffy you help yourself to in the lobby. All they care about is meeting and exceeding your needs, whatever they are. Just get yourself in the door and you will not regret it.

We will be back. Not at $500/night cuz we aren't there yet in life, but we will be back. If price causes you pauses, watch for the deals a month or two before ideally an off-peak arrival, do the math on all the included extras, add the way you will feel with treating yourself to a premium experience and you will see the value in the Stephanie Inn.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms don't face the ocean. Make sure you face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mydogsnameisdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was really impressed with this place, we weren't 100% sure if this was our kind of place, but just view from our 1st floor beach room, was worth the extra little bit of $$. Just to be able to open your blinds, turn on the fire, and sit in bed reading a book, or watching show, and being able to hear the ocean, was beyond the perfect experience. We do not drink, but if you do, they have 2x daily little wine things, they were kind to provide apple cider for us. They have such kind staff, that have lots of great advice. Our favorite places to ear while there was Newmans 988 ( reservation in advance) in a cute little yellow house, some of the most amazing lobster ravioli we've ever had, and they know how to cook their fish! We also went to a place called the Irish Table, my favorite of the trip, best salmon I have ever had. Then something quick and fun was the crepe place in town. The hotel rooms were large and spacious, tub was fantastic, shower great! Bed, oh my goodness the SHEETS!!!! I am buying a set! Fabulous beyond comfortable sheets! You could literally live in them! We enjoyed the fun little puzzle and chess set by the fireplaces, along with the long list of dvds they have for you to borrow. The breakfast was included in our package, it was nice to have, but was your normal breakfast buffet. If you are going to stay close, this place is perfect, being on the beach is definitely worth the extra bucks! Plus weather was fantastic, it rained 1 day, but was still so fun to go down in your boots and rain jacket and walk through the waves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rach0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Stephanie Inn is a gem on the Oregon Coast. From the greeting to the meals, this place does elegance in a wonderful, understated way. My wife and I stayed in the carriage house, a wonderful, spacious and quiet place, well decorated and brilliantly appointed, with such nice touches as beach chairs, binoculars, and a rubber duck for the tub. We loved the breakfasts - each day varied and was truly brilliantly prepared. Each staff person was clearly dedicated, warm and very professional, from the excellent masseuse to the kind chef who taught a great class on vinagrettes. The atmosphere is unforced (unlike so many "get to know you" b&bs) - even the afternoon drinks have a homey feel with great Pac NW wines and beers and a staff who truly knows them. And the beach - truly the most beautiful around - we walked constantly. We will definitely return to this wonderful inn.

Room Tip: All face the beach - the carriage house provides a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for all your kind comments. We really do appreciate you sharing your experience at the Stephanie Inn with others. We are very pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the many ammenites the Inn offers as well as our beautiful beach. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie Inn

Address: 2740 Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $289 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stephanie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stephanie Inn is Oregon's premier Four Diamond, oceanfront destination for anyone seeking a respite from the hurried pace of everyday life. With panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, the inn is truly a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stephanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanie Hotel Cannon Beach
The Stephanie Hotel
The Stephanie Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing