We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately in the top 1000 things you should do!!!”
Review of Stephanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stephanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well run, clean, fabulous staff, wonderful location. Amazing breakfast. Dinner was wonderful!
The room (top floor suite) overlooking beach. Although I think all rooms overlook beach. Everything was perfect. Great place to stay to explore area. Wonderful town. The view of Haystack Rock is hypnotic. Walk at low tide and see huge starfish and anemone.

Great place!!!!

Room Tip: Went for top floor away from stairs and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,595 - 1,601 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were fortunate to make a last minute reservation at this lovely Inn in mid-August. We did not have an ocean view but we enjoyed our mountain view suite very much. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed, the dinner was delicious, the service was gracious and warm and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We loved the view during the complimentary wine gathering in the library and my husband appreciated the bottomless cookie jar in the lobby. We would definitely return when we are in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarefreeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you found our mountain view suites very comfortable and well appointed. These suites are some of our most popular rooms. It truly was our pleasure to have you as our guest and the cookie jar is full of our own home-made cookies awaiting your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Suite 306 from September 17 to 20, 2013. The location, service, meals and snacks were all top-rate.

We'll be back! The only surprise was that the inn doesn't offer laundry service.

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean-front rooms have terrific ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

First hint, don't be early. We arrived from Portland - well before 4 o'clock. The guy at the desk
called housekeeping and told them to work on our room ASAP. Told us to go into town and the
room should be available between 3 and 3:30. We returned at 3:15. No dice. Four or so couples were sitting in the library, waiting to be summoned! No refreshments offered. We were the last to get our room - just after 4. Were told that his two bellmen and two carts were in use. Had to pull our car up to the front and did have help unloading it - delivered to our room in shifts. And the room was NOT what we expected. Yes, a first-floor ocean view. The "patio" ie a bit of concrete in front had two chairs and a table, but no dividers between you and your neighbors. Private it was not. The room itself was fairly small, dark and featured a bedspread out of the'60s. Bathroom was great but you can't live in the bathroom. Other than the guy who
checked us in, the staff was super. The wine hour, dinner and breakfast were fine, but dinner
not included. We've stayed in splendid hotels all over the world, but did not think the Stephanie
Inn was worth the $500 plus a night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tafttiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry you were disappointed in your accomodations and that we didn't point out our complimentary refreshment center in the lobby for your use while you waited for your room. It was not our intentions to ruin your stay in any way, and we are very sorry if we did. Sincerely, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay here last week was the highlight of our northern Oregon coast visit. That compares to four other properties visited. It also was the most expensive but we had a fabulous suite with balcony and felt it worth the price. Our view of the beach and rocks was special. We ate in the dinning room and had a good not great meal.. Service was very good but the entrees were not the best. We enjoyed the wine tasting hour and met some fellow travelers that had friends in common. Could have easily spent another night here but was booked down the coast and had to depart. We would return and would recommend. One more the hot breakfast was really good.

Room Tip: We had a third floor suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Stephanie Inn with others. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you will return and also recommmend us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Yes...very pricey, but worth it! We usually don't spend this much money on our travels, but felt like splurging after several days of moderately priced chain motels. We had a gorgeous standard room with an ocean view. We sat out until dark and opted to order room service rather than leave the beautiful room with such an amazing view. We waited 90 minutes for dinner, and when I called down to complain, they realized no one had put in the order. Our meal arrived soon after, and the meal was not charged to us. These things happen... That's the only negative thing I can say about our experience there. High class..great evening drinks..great service...great breakfast. We tried to add a second night, but they were full, and this was off season. Can't wait to go back and stay a few days. This was not an expensive hotel room....it was a memory making experience. Sometimes you just have to treat yourself.

Room Tip: I would only stay in a room with the ocean view. It makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JungleJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one. But I am so sorry about the room service error. I have talked with my entire dining room staff to insure that that does not happen again. They send their sincere apologies. We do hope you were finally able to enjoy your dinner. We know you have lots of choices to stay and dine when visiting the Cannon Beach area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I chose Stephanie Inn for a weekend getaway to celebrate our first anniversary and my birthday (June 28-30, 2013). It was a big mistake. We got there late on Friday night, for a hotel that charges around $500 - $600 a night, you would expect to be showed to your room. Nope, we were just given the key to our room and told that it is in that direction. We were staying in the Carriage House, which is a separate building from the main hotel. Which makes help with bags and being guided to the room even more imperative than if you just take an elevator up from the lobby.

The next day we had dinner at the in-house restaurant. My hubby wanted to surprise me and plan dinner, so he had made reservations pretty much at the time of booking our room and told them we were vegetarian. I later saw that even the daily itinerary that was left in our room had noted that we were vegetarian and celebrating a birthday and anniversary. For a restaurant in what claims to have a 5 star level of service, one would think that the info on the itinerary would have been conveyed to the restaurant ahead of time. Nope, our waiter ran scrambling to the kitchen to ask the chef what he could make. Clearly, planning and giving advance notice was a waste of our time. So, we had a rather mediocre, super greasy vegetable napoleon that neither of us could even finish half of. So, anyway we ordered dessert and that was good. But, a few minutes later we heard the server wish the couple at the table next to us happy anniversary and happy birthday, which left them very confused as well guess what? That’s what we were celebrating. My hubby was understandably upset as he had really wanted this to be special and we could have had better food at a pub.

We were checking out on Sunday and since my husband got a romance package that included stuff like a bubble bath, chocolate fondue, late checkout, we were expecting to check out at 2.00pm again as stated in the itinerary for that day. We got a call from the reception at 12.00pm telling us that we needed to check out immediately or they would have to charge us. I mean seriously? First off, we already paid to check out late. Second, that was obviously noted in their daily communication to us. After that a snotty call is highly annoying and becoming of a mid-level hotel. It’s not like they have 500 rooms that they can’t keep a consistent inter-departmental communication platform. Hotels with many more rooms that Stephanie Inn, can keep a consistent record across the people that print the itinerary and the front desk.

They also have a 24 hour cookie jar with very delicious cookies. But, we didn’t find out about that till the last day, because the guy who checked us in didn’t bother telling us. We overheard the receptionist who was checking in another guest told him about it, while we were checking out. So that was a fail for us.

Anyways, the staff in general is very nice and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. But, things like examples I described really put a damper on our vacation. And, my poor husband was super bummed since he was so excited to plan this and make this occasion memorable especially as we were seeing each other after two months (we’re a long distance couple this year).

Sadly, it was memorable. Just not in the way you want to remember your first anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House and I think it offered way more private than the rest of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate your comments and are very sorry that your anniversary was not as memorable as you had hoped and expected it to be. We deeply apologize for the errors we made and I can assure you that steps have been taken to insure that these things don't happen again. We hope you will not judge us too harshly and return to the Stephanie Inn. Sincerely, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest and again, thank you for brining this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie Inn

Address: 2740 Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3164
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $295 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stephanie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stephanie Inn is Oregon's premier Four Diamond, oceanfront destination for anyone seeking a respite from the hurried pace of everyday life. With panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, the inn is truly a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stephanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanie Hotel Cannon Beach
The Stephanie Hotel
The Stephanie Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing