We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Gull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Gull Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Blue Gull isn't fancy, and it's not on the beach, but it's only a short walk to hit the sand. We think it's a great spot for families. We love that it's a short walk to town and just a quick jaunt to the beach. It's nice to come here for a few days and not even move the car the whole time. Everything we need is within walking distance. We've stayed here multiple times, and it's always been clean.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Or_Dux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    72
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We've stayed here before and have always enjoyed it. Our room was very nice and roomy for a family with two kids. We loved having a separate bedroom for the kids. The only downside was that we were in room #10 and the neighbors were loud and the walls in the kids room is very thin. We could everything and when they went up and down their stairs. The heater was broken too so it kept pumping heat in the master bedroom all night too. Other than that, it was pretty good. Nice kitchen and sitting area with tv.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytime00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have stayed here many times and always enjoy it. We stayed in #10 and our married kids came down to stay with us. Very nice to have the kitchen and little living room. Only problem with this particular room is #11 room has their upstairs over the one bedroom and you can hear when people are trampling up and down. So not a good choice if you have noisy neighbors.
But a good value and so close to the beach and walking distance to town. It was very cold when we were there and the heaters were able to keep the room warm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdchadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Our family thoroughly enjoyed this place. We travelled from Canada down the west coast to LA and it was our favourite accomodation. Plenty of room with a nice Mexican theme to the furnishings. Nice cooking facilities that allowed us to have a home-cooked meal for a change (we had tacos which was probably influenced by the furnishings!). In the morning the battery was flat on the rental car and I called the receptionist and a guy was at our place with jumper leads in less than 5 minutes - talk about friendly service!! Thanks a lot for the experience. The complimentary muffins were great as well. And it wasn't expensive, although the Aussie dollar was strong while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Everytime I stay at the Blue Gull Inn I come away more than satisfied. Especially with their recent renovations it makes this place to stay well worth the money. Even in the busy summer month the price per night is quite affordable in comparison to the other places to stay in Cannon Beach. Located only a block away from the beach and two blocks from downtown cannon beach, it's a great spot.

Pros:
- Clean room
- Nice decor
- 1 block walk to the beach
- 2 block walk to downtown Cannon Beach for all shops/restaurants
- Free breakfast (muffin & fruit), free dvd rentals, free popcorn tea/coffee

Cons:
- Rooms are a bit small
- Courtyard fountain runs all night which could be a nuisance if room is close enough
(Neither are huge comments, just had to write something)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

This motel is located next to the beach, which is great, but then anywhere in Cannon Beach can not be far away from it as it is a small place and the beach is very large. Our room (5A) was small and narrow, with a double bed, but also a single which we did not need, so this took up a lot of room, there is also a large TV / Microwave cabinet which blocks the entrance to the room and most of the natural light. Cannon Beach is a great place to visit, good cafes and pubs, so we were able to get out of the room a lot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stay here every time we come to Cannon Beach. It is close to the beach, has a very nice staff and just what we need. We don't eat all our meals out, so the the microwave and fridge in the room is great. Sometimes we get the kitchenette which also great for us. This place is in a great location as we are able to walk into the main section of town and not have to worry about parking. We are also 1 block from the ocean and is so convenient. It has always been very neat and clean for us. It may not have all the frills that some like, but for us it is perfect and we will continue to come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdchadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gull Inn

Property: Blue Gull Inn
Address: 632 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gull Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gull Inn is ideally located only 3 houses off the oceanfront and three blocks from downtown. This is a family favorite Inn offering fourteen rooms from which to choose: from one of the guest rooms with spa or kitchen, to a one-bedroom spa suite with 2-person Jacuzzi tub, full kitchen and living room with fireplace. You can also bring the whole family and stay in our two-bedroom suite with full kitchen. This hacienda themed Inn with a rose garden courtyard and Spanish style fountain is the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring the beach and downtown. We invite you to discover our little spot of paradise on the Oregon Coast. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Gull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Gull Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing