We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lodge in a great location”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
“Wonderful lodge in a great location”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Our stay at the Ocean Lodge was a wonderful experience. The staff was excellent. The General Manager, Wendy Higgins, goes the extra mile to ensure that guests are satisfied and are enjoying their vacation. The corner queen suite was a perfect location to just walk out onto the beach. We would definitely stay at the Ocean Lodge again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick30709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    194
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
351
905
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, OR
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay at the Ocean Lodge. My Fiance and I enjoyed exploring the tide pools and walking around the cute shops in town. The room was great! We also enjoyed the complimentary movies on a rainy day. The staff was great. The coffee and cookies 24/7 were much enjoyed :) Would also highly recommend The Driftwood for dinner-delicious Fish & Chips!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_8168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I went here with my long time boyfriend for a weekend getaway in the cold winter weather and it was a very nice break to take. We stayed in an ocean front room which had a fireplace,kitchenette,sofa,patio,queen bed and spa tub. The room and service was exceptional here.
-They have a great selection of complimentary DVDs to choose from and take to your room and always have a nice big fire going in the lobby as well as cookies and coffee 24/7. Ive met plenty of the staff and everyone of them were so so nice and helpful,even late at night! We went on a night stroll and they lent us a flashlight.
-The complimentary breakfast is great and just what you want in the morning. Very basic but by no means low quality (I'm a sucker for complimentary breakfast). Their coffee was GREAT
-Spa tub jets worked very well and it was very easy to get some hot water going. Could fit 2 people.
-Each room has a semi-private patio and many rooms get an ocean view and the view is GORGEOUS with a view of Haystack rock.
-The beach in front of the lodge is great to explore, a few areas with rocks(including haystack) to look for critters, but plenty of sandy beach space.

I did get to take a look inside their bungalow rooms as well and they look great! But unfortunately they do not have a direct ocean view they are located behind the main ocean lodge building.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiOdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just returned from our second annual Christmas stay at The Ocean Lodge. Already booked our third! Even better this time, great breakfast, comfortable rooms with kitchenette equipped with everything you need to have sandwiches, salads, cold beverages etc, full size coffee pot. The jacuzzi tub has made us consider remodeling our home to duplicate it, could easily fit three people, I know, that's more Vegas than Cannon Beach, but I digress. Totally dog friendly, and not just because it's the thing to do, they actually like them! Full outdoor doggy wash station to de-sand and de-saltwater. Firewood and beach toys available at front desk along with new release movies and menus from all the local restaurants. We love this place and hope to return before our next Christmas reservation. Oh- free high speed internet now, too! Also, huge windstorms every night during our stay, power never flickered.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wa-Wineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Reach out and touch Haystack Rock. Blustery December beach - with big waves. Charming. Christmas tree in lobby, library on second floor by the breakfast nook. You've got to go. And, manager, Wendy Higgins won Oregon Innkeeperof the Year - and we can see why.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlantamew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This review is long overdue - my husband and I (and our pooch!) stay at the ocean lodge every Feb for our anniversary. We love love love the staff, the rooms and the location! You are far enough from the main area of cannon beach that you aren't bothered by crowds when you are sitting on your deck, but close enough that you can walk in (about 30 mins) for dinner or a drink. And see Haystack rock, of course!

We have done some amazing hiking nearby with our dog, and always love returning to our cozy room, turning up the fireplace, putting in a movie (they have a DVD library for rentals!) and relaxing with the sound of the ocean in the background. Truly a great escape from life!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNexplorer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

couldn't ask for more. this place has an excellent location close to the beach with our very own beach access. The beach front casita are just immaculate. a front porch with an excellent view of the beach.
The room is huge with all the comforts of home.Nice jacuzzi with jets in the bathroom!!!!!! A must!!! free wifi access available for guests. free breakfast all thru out your stay.
Staffs are hospitable and very helpful as to where to eat and what to do during your visit.
I would return here on my next vacay to cannon beach.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PURPLEYAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Property: The Ocean Lodge
Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing