We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced with nothing nearby”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2009

While the view was amazing (though you can have the same view at a variety of other hotels/resorts in the area), there's much to be desired. I felt that room was cramped for three adults and a toddler, and was dismayed when I realized that the kitchenette doesn't include anything to cook with! No pots, pans, stove or oven-not even a kitchen sponge for cleaning your dirty dishes. I also felt that the continental breakfast was severely lacking. It's the same fare I could find at a room that costs under $100 a night. If you've ever stayed at a concierge room at Disney, then you know what a nice continental breakfast should be like (and this one wasn't it). Most of the staff is extremely cordial, though we did encounter two employees who were rude and snooty. Also, they advertise that they have wi fi, but it wasn't working for the first day and only worked after WE (the GUESTS) spent three hours on the phone with their provider to get the problem solved.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank creslean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,550 - 1,556 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

We recently stayed at the Ocean Lodge for the weekend.
PRO: The location is amazingly beautiful--right on the beach and the public areas are cozy, NW chic (fireplace, comfy chairs, etc.). Pleasant staff.
CONS: Rooms and the complementary breakfast leave much to be desired. We paid approximately $250 for an Ocean view Queen--definitely not worth it. The room was clean but tired and worn almost run down; nicked furniture, chipped toilet seat, aged carpet, a few pieces of inexpensive furniture and a deck w/ plastic chairs. The bed was over-soft & sheets were threadbare. The breakfast was very basic and unappealing: cereal, cold sugary grocery store pastries, bread, boiled eggs and yogurt and a small selection of less than fresh apples, bananas & oranges. A quick stop at Safeway would have provided the same breakfast for under $5.

Overall, like staying at a budget hotel. (Although I have stayed in a Comfort Suites in rural Maryland that was much nicer!) It seems like the management was really cutting corners. The staff were courteous and helpful; but these issues are really beyond their control. There are much better options in Cannon Beach for the price they charge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthropologie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Recently stayed in the Ocean Lodge for two nights and had a wonderful experience, which was enhanced by my proposal of marriage to my (now) fiance on the beach in front of the hotel. I have stayed in Cannon Beach many times (at least 30) and thus have experienced many hotel properties including the Stephanie Inn located immediately North of the Ocean Lodge. In my opinion these two properties are the best locations in Cannon Beach with the best ammenities. Overall the Stephanie is probably a slight cut above, but we were very pleased with the Ocean Lodge and this was out first stay there.

Check inn was a pleasant experience and the room on the top floor was perfect for a beach hotel - no compleaints whatsoever. There were other couples on each side of us and we never heard a sound. The exterior deck was sort of on the small side, but certainly adequate for two people. The bed was a little soft for our taste, but certainly comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom was large enough and it had a great shower head, which in many properties is lacking and this one was high enough for my 6' 01" height. They offer a nice continental breakfast in the morning from 7AM to 11AM which was pretty much standard, but the coffee was great and there was fresh sqeezed orange juice. This didn't compare to the Stephanie Inn, but remember you are paying less to stay in this property.

We thought the staff was excellent and very attentive. I asked one staff member for a restaurant recommendation and he immediately said "Neumans" which is located in an old yellow house just North of the Surfsand Inn. Great meal and we would highly recommend it to other travelers. Overall the Ocean Lodge is a good value for the money and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My family and I just returned from our third stay at the Ocean Lodge. This is the most relaxing place we've found on the Oregon coast. You can watch the awesome ocean from your room, soak in the spa tub, or read a good book by the library fireplace. Their coffee is delicious, especially when paired with their fresh-baked cookies. The staff here is always cheerful and helpful. They seem to genuinely care that each guest has a wonderful time. Everything is clean and well-maintained. If you want a fantastic, restful getaway, I highly recommend the Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORNursesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for three days and had second floor room with a balcony. Sometimes you need to splurge when you are in a perfect location, just outside one of the nicest towns in the Northwest. The Inn is very well maintained, although the cleaning staff seemed to be around just a little too much. The breakfast was nice, not exceptional, but the staff is very professional and accomodating. If you are staying in Cannon Beach I recommend this Inn highly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Thanks for TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the Ocean Lodge. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was great with a fantastic view of the beach and also easy beach access. The room was nice with a very comfortable bed and a jet tub for two. The room had a balcony. We were lucky that the weather was very sunny and warm. I would definately recommend the Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Front desk staff at check in was great & very helpful. They even had a staff member show us around the hotel and our rooms being that it was our family's first time there. That was very helpful!

The room was amazing with a beautiful ocean front view right outside our window! Our 2yr old daughter LOVED the Ocean!

Our over all trip was great a couple minor things but was SOLVED IN NO TIME!

My Husband and I will always have this Lodge in our mind when we come back to Cannon Beach!

Thank you to all the staff members you were so helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $190 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing