We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay--hope to return”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Thanks for TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the Ocean Lodge. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was great with a fantastic view of the beach and also easy beach access. The room was nice with a very comfortable bed and a jet tub for two. The room had a balcony. We were lucky that the weather was very sunny and warm. I would definately recommend the Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
There are newer reviews for The Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Front desk staff at check in was great & very helpful. They even had a staff member show us around the hotel and our rooms being that it was our family's first time there. That was very helpful!

The room was amazing with a beautiful ocean front view right outside our window! Our 2yr old daughter LOVED the Ocean!

Our over all trip was great a couple minor things but was SOLVED IN NO TIME!

My Husband and I will always have this Lodge in our mind when we come back to Cannon Beach!

Thank you to all the staff members you were so helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We have previously stayed at the Stephanie Inn, which is next door to The Ocean Lodge but is closed for renovation for a few months.

Our stay at the Lodge was great. The continental breakfast (included in the price of the room) is quite extensive - though I do wish they'd splurge a bit and get some better, healthier breads.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the environment is on a par with the Stephanie - maybe a touch less sophisticated. Of all the other options in the Cannon Beach/Manzanita area, this was our favorite (and we looked at a LOT!) and I would stay here again if the Stephanie is still unavailable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

This was our first visit to Ocean Lodge and I can't wait to stay there again! From the time we checked in to the time we left three days later, I can't think of a thing I would change. First, I have to say that the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. It had a pillowtop mattress that was soft but the underlying springs gave plenty of support. When we finished putting away our things after checking in, we laid down on the bed and promptly fell asleep for an hour. I slept so well I was completely rested at the end of our vacation. Our room was a king view with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. Although it was a bit small, the room was cozy and comfortable. As others have mentioned, the balconies are not very private but we enjoyed it as we met some of the other guests as we were all watching the sunset together.

The breakfast was fabulous, especially the granola and the locally-roasted Sleepy Monk coffee. The lodge provides coffee, tea, and freshly baked cookies all day and I enjoyed brewing a pot of Earl Grey in the afternoons to sip while listening to the crashing waves and reading my book. The lodge also has a library and many vintage magazines.

The staff was very friendly and professional. They had great restaurant suggestions and were very patient as it took me a while to select a movie from their DVD library.

We were sad to leave Ocean Lodge and look forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geekgirl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My husband and I wanted a honeymoon that was peaceful and quaint, but also a touch luxurious. The Ocean Lodge fit the bill perfectly!! We arrived a little bit early, but were thrilled to discover that our room was ready - complete with a lovely photo frame to keep as a momento of our trip. The staff gave us a very warm welcome, and were extraordinarily helpful throughout our three day stay. We had a first floor room facing the ocean, which was not overly spacious, but very nicely laid out and exceptionally comfortable. It was wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean! We didn't hear a peep from those staying in the surrounding rooms, even if they had children or pets with them. The breakfast was very good - especially compared to continental breakfasts offered up at other hotels we've stayed at. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chashibala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We were initially booked at this property's sister property, the Inn at Cannon Beach. When we arrived there to find our room right next to a loud construction site, we were quickly moved without question toThe Ocean Lodge. We couldn't believe our luck - it was the best room on our 18 day trip. We were placed into a free-standing cottage on the lodge grounds. While the cottage itself was not ocean front, we were mere steps way. The lodge's location can't be topped, and we would not consider staying any other place should we return to Cannon Beach. The staff at each property could not have been more accommodating - they even charged us our confirmed rate from our original booking down the road rather than the higher rate for the cottage. The only downside to The Ocean Lodge - leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I just returned from the Oregon Coast after spending two delightful nights at The Ocean Lodge. The Lodge and my room far exceeded my expectations. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a VIP. There is no check-in counter--you are personally welcomed at one of two desks. My host then showed me to my room and when I offered a tip he told me it was his pleasure to assist. That's classy! The room, while it did not overlook the ocean, was spacious and comfortable. The bed was a perfect firmness. There was a microwave, fridge, some silverware, plates, etc. in the little kitchenette area. The gas fireplace made the room comfortable on the chilly Oregon evening. The bathroom was luxurious. The large shower had jets in the wall surrounding you with water. The room was clean and stocked with everything you needed for a pampered stay. While it was rather expensive, it was well worth it. Walking down the beach, it's only a 20-30 minute walk to the town past the most spectacular Oregon scenery there is. It's less than a 5 minute walk from the famous Oregon Coast restaurant, Mo's. Before I arrived I had planned on driving some some of the sights in the area. Instead I treated myself to staying right at the Lodge, walking to town and Mo's and never moving my car for the entire day. What a relaxing trip. The September Oregon weather punctuated the stay with nearly perfect and beautiful conditions--but even fog and rain wouldn't have dampened my stay. I would recommend this Lodge to anyone visiting Cannon Beach but plan on booking early. The place fills up months ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,230 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.0 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#5 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $213 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing