We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place right on the ocean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous place right on the ocean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived and were given a warm welcome. We asked to see our room as we always do and can only say we were overwhelmed by the view over the beach and ocean. The room has everything you could need if you wish to eat in or not. The bathroom was spacious and towels etc good. Our breakfast was lovely and the server most helpful re Gluten free needs.plenty to eat and of good quality. We would recommend anyone to stay here. We are sorry we only have two nights.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    190
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
336
877
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is magically simple. From the moment you drive up to the log cabin-esque place you know it's homey! We stayed Thanksgiving week of 2012. We drove through a great storm to get there while they closed the roads behind us. The entire town was out of power and we were even given flashlights. However, our place soon got power back. The wonderful aroma and sound of a roaring fireplace greeted us. We had one of the beautiful beach front ground floor rooms. It large with plenty of room in the living room to camp out and do puzzles, read by the fireplace in our room, look out the windows at the surf and just relax. If you are traveling with your four-legged child, this is a wonderful place for them. Upon check-in in our room there was an extra sheet for his wet paws to dry off, a food bowl, treats (plus coupons for pet stores in and around Cannon Beach), poop bags! It was great! The view is to die for and the collection of videos to check out for free makes it a great spot to just get away from things....We love the Beach in the fall and this was perfect!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor walk out room so you can mosey down to the water from your sliding glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed at The Ocean Lodge six times, maybe seven since hearing about it many years ago when our local news station did a story about it before it was open for business. We love the ocean front jaccuzzi rooms! The view is awesome, the beds are comfortable, there is a microwave & mini-fridge, the bathroom is wonderful (ahhh the tub!), and the service is always friendly and efficient. The cookies in the lobby are a nice treat, and we love that they serve Sleepy Monk Coffee (locally roasted in Cannon Beach) at breakfast and in the lobby. For those cold, rainy days, the fireplace is nice and they have a decent selection of DVDs at no charge in the lobby. A nice continental breakfast is included with the price of the room. We love that it is walking distance to the Warren House Pub, which we always visit when in Cannon Beach. The ocean front jaccuzzi rooms are expensive, but worth it. We stayed in a non-view room one time and, even though the room itself was identical, we had severe ocean front room envy. If you are flexible, take advantage of the three nights for the price of two deal that they offer midweek in the off-season, which makes it much more affordable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visit here at least once a year,usually when they offer a special, like this time-three nights for two. As always we had an ocean-view room with fireplace, terrace, king bed for full view of all,a great breakfast, cookies and coffee all day. A short beach walk to Haystack. Although I visit every time we visit that rock and the marine life, it is life and soul changing.

The staff is incredibly friendly without being pushy or fake. They continuously are making improvements with minimum if no impact On the guests. As long as you state what side of the lodge you want- North no pets,south pet friend, you will be fine, they really separate it well unless you are right on the dividing line.

My one suggestion would be to add better reading lights for the bed.

Room Tip: North side to be away from pets and better views of Haystack
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great property and I would make it my headquarters in Cannon Beach. The weather was typical for Oregon springs but whether it was sunny or raining horizontally. This was a great place to hang out or start the trek up to Haystack Rock.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently visited Ocean Lodge on a rainy May weekend. We brought our dog and stayed in one of the pet friendly rooms across the street from the main lodge. When the clouds parted we were able to make it out on the beach, but were also greatful for the plush rooms and vast movie collection to keep us entertained. The service was great, and the breakfast was delish! Overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When you have 2 lovable pups like us you can't help but to plan your trip around them. This is the place to stay! Pet friendly, beautiful rooms, clean, awesome service, close to downtown, as everything is, and so relaxing. W go every August and stay here all the time. We've stayed elsewhere and always go back to what we enjoyed the most, the Ocean Lodge. It's mediocre price range, but when traveling with dogs you want the best and the cleanest. This place will take your breath away and for us it's nice to be 3 hours away from serenity. Sure lots of people, but that makes it way more fun and enjoyable. Love Cannon Beach and all that it has to offer. Lots to do and see and lots of time to relax : )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Property: The Ocean Lodge
Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing