We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Ocean Lodge in September. The rooms were large and well appointed. We had an ocean front room that included a gas fireplace, small refrigerator and microwave. Our room was very clean and had great views of the ocean and Haystack Rock. Our king bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We left the sliding door ajar at night so we could hear the ocean. This is a great place to stay when in Cannon Beach. Rooms there aren't cheap, but every once in a while you need to splurge and this is one place to do it.

Room Tip: Spend extra for an ocean front room. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    190
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
337
878
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Ocean Lodge was our last stop on a trip up the Oregon coast. It was fantastic! The atmosphere is charming beach and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The shower was the best, and the spa tub was great after a day at the beach. We ate at the Seafood Market in Cannon Beach and it was a good choice. The seafood is fresh from the ocean and the restaurant is very casual, family friendly. The Ocean Lodge has a buffet breakfast which is very well stocked including a tasty apple pie! We had a wonderful day walking the beach, checking out the happy dogs running with their masters and Haystack Rock's tide pools. It was so nice to be staying right on the beach and have a beautiful cozy room to return to and sit on the deck relax and watch the sun set over the water.(while your bed is being turned down and a chocolate put on your pillow. I will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gretzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for our 22nd anniversary. Had a great time. Love the decor. Want to redecorate my home like this.
Cookies in lobby awesome. Free DVD movies available with great selection. Can't wait to come back.
We have to save up since it's a little expensive but I think worth the expense for special times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passiongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is perfect, especially if you have an ocean view room. We arguably had the best room in the lodge - the one on the 2nd floor center, with a vaulted ceiling, facing the ocean. It was a luxury to leave the slider open all night and sleep with the surf sound and breeze. The breakfast was a mix of healthy (hard boiled eggs, oatmeal) and unhealthy but yummy (cereals for kids, bagels, blueberry scones, and various other sweet breads). The staff were friendly and helpful, and gladly stored our bikes for us, and offered us a wide range of dvds should rain interfere with our plans. Our friend's room, across the road, was very comfortable, and her only complaint was about neighboring guests' behavior (but not noise). This hotel is very kid and dog friendly, so if you're not, you should ask if they can put you on a top floor.

Room Tip: I'm usually not a 'view' person - the thing I value most in a hotel is quiet. That said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieNeedlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Sometimes architects get it just right like this beautiful building. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the shared spaces creative with lots of cozy places to sit and enjoy.
The lodge is right onto the beach with fantastic views onto the ocean.
There is a breakfast room, but as a nice feature, you are encouraged to take a tray to your room to have it on the terrace for example.
The staff is friendly and very helpful; thankfully so, as it was very difficult to find a table for our party of 6 in the local restaurants.
This hotel is very pet friendly: they even have a dedicated dog shower on the way from the beach - now there's an idea you wouldn't find in Europe... ;-)

Room Tip: Book the double height room with ocean view: it is slightly more expensive but absolutely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a pleasant stay at The Ocean Lodge with my wife (anniversary trip).
The Pros: great staff, perfect location, great view, nice room w/ comfy bed, and GREAT coffee (Sleepy Monk Roasters).
The cons (not many): breakfast is Motel 6-esque, lots of loud kids (they cater to families), and rather spendy during peak season (as is the competition in Cannon Beach).
Still, I recommend Ocean Lodge, and look forward to another stay in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MCinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and we had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly and the location was absolutely amazing. We really enjoyed being right on the ocean. The hotel serves a delicious breakfast every morning and has cookies available all day. One cautionary note, though...the hotel is not really walkable to the city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MUTigerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Property: The Ocean Lodge
Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing