We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ocean Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Surfsand Resort(Cannon Beach)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$114
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
$409
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Webb's Scenic Surf Motel(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
1,429
213
52
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
213
52
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesapple piehaystack rockcontinental breakfastcookie jarhard boiled eggsoregon coastyogurtturn down servicenice breakfastfirst floorget awaylow tidebeach chairsshort drivebeautiful beachgas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,501 - 1,506 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Oregon coast is breathtakingly beautiful -- not as dramatic as California's Big Sur, but still sublime. Unfortunately, the built environment along the coast is uniformly lacking in style and charm, and the Ocean Lodge is no exception. Located on a broad beach, with views of Haystack Rock and other jagged surf outcroppings, the Ocean Lodge provides cheap, "cutsey," predictable, uninspiring accommodations. Nothing -- from the bed, the room decor or the breakfast -- rises above the bland and the mundane. Aspiring to resemble a "1940s beach resort," the Ocean Lodge is more accurately described as a three-story motel that unfortunately scars a pristine section of beach. The town too has little to offer except franchise or "Chart House light" restaurants. There is neither the funky charm of Big Sur's Deetjen's nor of British Columbia's storm watching retreats. Unless time and budget require a short hop to Cannon Beach and the Ocean Lodge, try something else instead.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DRS_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We just stayed 3 nights at the Ocean Lodge in #207, a king/dormer room with floor-to-ceiling windows and sliding glass doors leading to a good-sized, private deck. The lodge has a fabulous location, right at the beach with Haystack Rock in full view. All that stands between guest and beach is an easy set of steps right next to the lodge. It's actually right next door to The Stephanie Inn, which is a very upscale property that offers a few more amenities but costs significantly more (like $150+ more for a similar room). It's a nice beach for walking; if you don't care about getting your feet wet or bring boots you can walk along the beach all the way to downtown Cannon Beach.

The staff members were uniformly efficient, accommodating and extremely pleasant. Everything was quite tidy. The lodge incorporates a lot of wood and wood trim and it was kept in very good shape. The small reception area has a big fireplace and a couple of comfy leather chairs.

Room 207 at Ocean Lodge is very nicely sized, comfortably laid out and well furnished, with a full-size very comfy sofa, big wicker trunk/coffee table, round table w/2 chairs suitable for in-room dining or laptop using, king sized bed with LOTS of pillows (we had 8 in our room!), chest of drawers, etc. There was a wet bar area which included a microwave and small fridge, coffeemaker w/all supplies, mugs, plates, etc. We had a full size gas fireplace and in the niche above that was a large, newish flatscreen TV plus a DVD player. DVDs from a large library - 200+ - are available for checkout from the front desk at no extra charge. (Although they do charge $1 a bag for popcorn, which seemed kind of silly. Hey, why not put a bag or two in the room with the coffee supplies and charge for extras?) The bathroom, although not luxuriously decorated (the counter was formica) is good-sized and has a very large, jetted tub and a separate shower. Plenty of nice towels and adequate little amenities.

There is a decent cold breakfast included with the room rate. It's set up in a nice upstairs area with seating for maybe 20 people, and they make it easy to take stuff back to your room by providing rimmed trays. They offered a few different cereals, including a pretty good granola, yogurt, a couple types of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, bagels, coffee cake and, oddly, apple pie. They feature Sleepy Monk coffee, a very good brew from a locally based roaster. (By the way, the Sleepy Monk coffee house in town is great with really nice people, good espresso drinks, fantastic baked goods, and there is a wonderful little dinner restaurant - The Irish Table - that's part of the same business.)

In addition to the DVD library, Ocean Lodge has a lot of books and games available for guests' use. They don't have a fitness center but do offer guests a day pass to the local gym in town. They also permit pets in a few of the rooms and we saw several guests who had come with their (very happy) dogs. We were never bothered by pet or people noise. We did have some fairly entertaining weather - lots of rain, a fair amount of hail, some snow and what we thought were pretty high winds (apparently not high by local standards). None of this detracted from our stay.

We would definitely come back to Ocean Lodge but only if we could get one of the ocean view rooms. What's the point of staying at the beach if you can't see the water? Just like the much more expensive Stephanie Inn next door, probably half or fewer of the rooms have a water view.

PS If you want to snack or even nuke up a light meal in your room, might want to think about bringing groceries with you. The "big" market in Cannon Beach is dark, depressing and not very well stocked. The 1st thing we noticed about it was the big sign that said they were not accepting employment applications. How cheery.

Room Tip: Upstairs, ocean facing
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Ocean Lodge sets a high standard for peace and relaxation. The rooms are comfortably decorated, beds have fine cotton sheets, a fireplace in each room & a breathtaking view of the ocean and of Haystack rock. The lodge like common areas promote visitors to sit and read or have a cup of coffee with a chocolate chip cookie (or two!).
There is nothing better than a windy Winter storm blowing outside and being able to hang out with a loved one or friends in such warmth and comfort.

Thanks Ocean Lodge!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Not only do we feel like we're in heaven at The Ocean Lodge, but so do our 2 chocolate labradors! We love this location. It's a little further down the road from the main district of Cannon Beach; however, we appreciate the quiet neighborhood and having beach access just outside our patio door. Fido will have his/her own dog bowl, towel, biscuits, and sheet to cover the foot of the bed. Having a narrow lawn just off the patio helps for those late night and early morning potty breaks, too! We love this quaint boutique style hotel. No room service or restaurant on site, but we don't mind. After spending so much time on the beach, it's nice to get in the car and enjoy some of the great restaurants within 5 to 7 minutes away. The king sized bed is comfortable and the room is spacious with a kitchenett and gas fireplace. A coffee shop is within walking distance, and The Stephanie is next door, serving breakfast and dinner in style. Our bathroom was a bit on the small side, but a small price to pay for slice of heaven!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the pet-friendly rooms and love the immediate beach access.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights & loved our room, had excellent customer service from all employees & would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndavisjr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews