We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Wayside. Our experience was beyond amazing. We stayed in the king suite and it was immaculate! Everything was so clean, the service was outstanding, and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. We had crazy weather but still enjoyed visiting the local restaurants and walking the beaches every day! 100% recommend! I've been raving about this place ever since!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    181
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
253
268
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at other hotels in Cannon Beach and decided to give The Wayside Inn a try and I don't regret it.... It was wonderful! They had our room ready way before check in, the room was great with a view of the ocean, very clean and nice. They had everything for my dogs and the fireplace was a hit! My mom and I liked it and my dogs LOVED it! the staff was very nice from the moment I booked the room. They suggested a better room for the same price and were quick on asking if we needed any help. I will definetively come back and will recommend it to everybody. It was my Mom's first visit to the coast and she was impressed by the hotel and loved the beach.
Thank you for making this a great time!

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk before booking they were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We brought our two 4 legged daughters for a long weekend and had a great time! Everyone behind the desk was friendly and helpful, and we even got a little doggie welcome basket with towels, extra bedding, bowls, poo bags, and a couple treats!

It was nice and quite, great to be a little out of "town" and basically across the street from the beach.

Great value! We'll be back!

Green Features: I wish they didn't use the pre-packaged coffee accoutrements (sugar, stirrer, powdered creamer) because we only used the regular sugar and everything else was left. Oh, and a recycling bin would be an amazing addition!
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grrrney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Wayside. What a great choice! It is very well priced for the quality, room size and location. We had a room with a bedroom, full kitchen, fireplace and a balcony with a view of the ocean. Most places in Cannon Beach that have similar accommodations are about double the price. It isn't directly on the beach but that isn't a big deal because it is right across the street. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The only minor complaint is that the walls are a bit thin so noise can be an issue but given all the pluses we felt like this was a minor issue. Oh, and the king size bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

WOW! This hotel is an absolute GEM! A diamond in the rough! I'm afraid to tell too many people my "secret" treasure!! I wanted an ocean view with hot tub (a must for me and my achy bones and muscles) without the astronomical oceanview price that many of the other places charge. It's across the street from Tolovana Beach Park for extremely easy beach access. In fact, it's right off Hwy 101 - turn for Tolovana Beach Park - and skip the congested roads through Cannon Beach. Hotel is at end of off ramp. Mo's Seafood Restaurant is across the street, too.
I stayed in the King Suite, since most reviewers highly recommended paying a few bucks more to get the view. As a bonus, the suite was a corner room. Rooms are of different configurations but the King Suite was a separate bedroom with a queen sofa sleeper in living area. Keep in mind, ground floor = no view. No elevator, but that didn't bother me in the least. Weather was absolutely glorious for mid-January.
The small kitchenette is "dated" but hey, it worked and was very efficient. I loved being able to cook breakfast in the morning, sit at the table and watch the waves. Plenty of pots, pans, dishes. It even has a dishwasher! Refrigerator with top freezer - not like the typical dorm room unit that other hotels have. There was a microwave too! A small mini mart is a 5 min walk from hotel.
The room was very clean. There is also an in-room dvd player. I brought my own movies, but the hotel has quite a few for rent - $4 for a day. The room has a great gas fireplace (cozy!) and more than ample space. Like a small apt!
The pool is small, but just right temperature. Great for lap swimming. There are some pool noodles for kids to play with. Hot tub is fabulous. Mind you, the hours are 9AM -9PM.
The staff.... gosh. The gal at check in was wonderful. Very friendly. Efficient. Really want to make your stay comfortable. I don't have a dog, but it is a pet-friendly hotel. Doggie towels and treats and water bowl to clean up after beach walks! Speaking of beach walks, Haystack Rock is about a 15 min walk up the beach. (well I walk kind of slow.... it's really not that far.)
There is a weekend shuttle bus stop across the street that can take you into town so you don't have to drive around "forever" just to find that elusive parking spot.
As for noise, I found it to be non-existent. I will definitely be staying here again -- hoping for same room! Great value.

Room Tip: must have 3rd floor for best view. King Suites are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CasualTraveler51488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed how pet-friendly the place was. It's just across the street from the beach. There's a nice indoor hot tub. We paid a little extra for a room with a kitchenette, which saved us a bunch of money compared to eating out at the mediocre, overpriced restaurants in this town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I took a vacation to Cannon Beach to visit a very good friend. We always look for pet friendly places to stay as we always bring our dog. When we checked in we were given a "doggie basket" complete with bowls, doggie towels and a biscuit for the dog. When we got to our room it was very comfortable and clean. It had a nice fireplace (gas as I recall) that heated the living room nicely. The staff were friendly and wanted to ensure that you had a comfortable stay. We would DEFINITELY go back there. From this hotel it is a short walk to the beach. We had nice weather when we were there. There are nearby restaurants and shopping is just a short car ride.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be laid out differently. If you would like a larger room be sure to ask if one is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing