We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a first visit to Oregon and Cannon Beach for my daughter and I. The Inn has a great location, easy access to the beach. Room was clean and spacious. Staff friendly at check-in and check-out. Nice touch to have cookies and/or taffy, water and coffee to go. Although we booked a "partial ocean view" room, we could clearly see and hear the ocean. This is a pet friendly property and although we love pets, our refrigerator did smell like dog food, thus we did not want to place any food or water in it. This was our only complaint on this Inn. Try dining/drinking at the pub adjacent to the Inn. Avoid Moe's....Red Lobster is upscale in comparison! Overall enjoyed this Inn and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    178
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
249
263
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Wayside Inn is located at the south end of Cannon Beach. It is across the street from Tolovana Park. A walk across the park gets you to the ocean. Haystack Rock is a leisurely walk along the beach.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean and comfortable. They are a dog friendly property, with special amenities for pets if you bring them. The room I was given had no evidence of pet hair or smell. The furniture is in good shape. Everything worked fine except the oven. The oven temperature knob was broken, but I wasn't there to bake.
Towels were nice and fluffy, sheets soft and clean. There is a gas fireplace to make the place feel even more cozy.
The bath amenities are all very lightly and pleasantly scented.
There is some street noise if the windows and sliding door are left open. When closed, it is very quiet.
I would happily recommend the Wayside to people that ask me about places to stay in Cannon Beach and I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My last visit to the Wayside Inn made me want to stay there again. The staff is always friendly and helpful if needed, but never intrusive if not needed. This is a smaller inn, private, quiet and cozy. The king suite on the second floor, over the pool/spa area was perfect for me. Internet was very reliable. Sliding door to the balcony gave my black Lab her view to the park across the street. Little kitchen has everything you need. The gas fireplace was so nice for a quick warm up in the mornings and evenings. Lots of luxurious linens in the bath, with wonderful quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in a dispenser in the tub/shower.
The Wayside Inn is one of those places that you will want to tell friends about! And want to stay at again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTGypsysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an 18-night road trip. We were very happy with our room at the Wayside Inn. We had the one bedroom king suite, 3rd floor, all the way to the left as the clerk had told us on the phone (6 months in advance) that was the best view. It had a nice view of the ocean over the road and parking lot across the street. Easy access to the beach, and the hotel has beach chairs and beach toys etc to lend. Far from Oceanfront, but it was 200 a night instead of the very high priced oceanfront places. The room was comfortable with gas fireplace, full kitchen and living room with separate bedroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. If money is no object, and you plan well in advance, obviously one of the oceanfront hotels would be better, but for us this place was fine and we had absolutely no complaints. I can easily recommend it.

Room Tip: upper floor for best view, all the way to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly and efficient check in. We had the corner suite just above the reception. Very large accommodation with a separate double room, shower room and toilet, fully equipped kitchen, sitting area with a sofa bed, dinning area and balcony. This particular room would be more than adequate for a family of 4 for a few nights stay. Great view of the beach.

The Inn is at the south end of Cannon beach and about 10 mins drive from the centre - there is a bus stop just opposite the Hotel. Cannon beach itself is a really nice, clean town.

Cannot recommend this enough - it was the cheapest of the hotels we used whilst on our tour of the Oregon coast, and the facilities were the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanc
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Great staff. It is small but very cozy and comfortable. We will go back and stay there as it was away from the business of downtown. Close to the beach and beautiful view.
It took us about 30 minutes to walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great staff, really nice rooms, lots of extra touches like blankets available for the beach, good coffee at the office and pet friendly. We won't stay at this hotel because we're going back to Cannon Beach. We'll go back to Cannon Beach to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701NicoleB701, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It is our goal, at The Wayside Inn, for every guest to come back and visit us again, so we are glad to hear we can enjoy the company of these wonderful guests more than once. We thank them for their kind review and are so happy they enjoyed our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing