We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay that won't break the bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay that won't break the bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an 18-night road trip. We were very happy with our room at the Wayside Inn. We had the one bedroom king suite, 3rd floor, all the way to the left as the clerk had told us on the phone (6 months in advance) that was the best view. It had a nice view of the ocean over the road and parking lot across the street. Easy access to the beach, and the hotel has beach chairs and beach toys etc to lend. Far from Oceanfront, but it was 200 a night instead of the very high priced oceanfront places. The room was comfortable with gas fireplace, full kitchen and living room with separate bedroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. If money is no object, and you plan well in advance, obviously one of the oceanfront hotels would be better, but for us this place was fine and we had absolutely no complaints. I can easily recommend it.

Room Tip: upper floor for best view, all the way to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    176
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
245
262
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly and efficient check in. We had the corner suite just above the reception. Very large accommodation with a separate double room, shower room and toilet, fully equipped kitchen, sitting area with a sofa bed, dinning area and balcony. This particular room would be more than adequate for a family of 4 for a few nights stay. Great view of the beach.

The Inn is at the south end of Cannon beach and about 10 mins drive from the centre - there is a bus stop just opposite the Hotel. Cannon beach itself is a really nice, clean town.

Cannot recommend this enough - it was the cheapest of the hotels we used whilst on our tour of the Oregon coast, and the facilities were the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Great staff. It is small but very cozy and comfortable. We will go back and stay there as it was away from the business of downtown. Close to the beach and beautiful view.
It took us about 30 minutes to walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great staff, really nice rooms, lots of extra touches like blankets available for the beach, good coffee at the office and pet friendly. We won't stay at this hotel because we're going back to Cannon Beach. We'll go back to Cannon Beach to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701NicoleB701, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It is our goal, at The Wayside Inn, for every guest to come back and visit us again, so we are glad to hear we can enjoy the company of these wonderful guests more than once. We thank them for their kind review and are so happy they enjoyed our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for seven nights with our dog in tow. Located at the southern end of Cannon Beach, the Wayside Inn is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but very close to the beach, which is across the street. Haystack Rock is a lovely 20 minute walk along the beach, which we did twice a day.

Anyway, our room was on the third (top) floor, with a nice view of the ocean. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We had a nice welcome basket for the dog containing bowls, treats, poo bags, towels and bed sheets. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The only downside as with most hotels is noise from adjacent rooms (loud TV or slamming of room doors, which is a pet peeve of mine). There's a coffee maker in the room and a microwave, too. Some rooms have mini kitchens.

Although we were away from the downtown area, we had food options nearby: a super little bakery (Waves of Grain), a pub, and the terrific Mo's seafood restaurant, which we all loved. There's also a small store within a block or two. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701NicoleB701, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad to hear that these guests enjoyed the best of our little town and enjoyed our service at The Wayside Inn. We thank them for their review and hope to enjoy having them as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

just stayed 2 nights at the wayside. very comfy nice place. it had a kitchenette, and nice decor that looked pretty new. bed very comfy. linens & towels were great. it was spotless clean.
sliding door window blocked outside noise well. not that there was alot of noise, mostly the ocean. only noise was the plumbing from next door units. i would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razmatazzySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not a luxury hotel, but very convenient and clean. Hotel staffs are very friendly and flexible -- even allow us to park and borrow beach blanket after check out. Room got washer and stove, etc...but, no need to cook as There is a seafood restaurant cross street.

Room Tip: I stayed in non smoking and no-pet room
See more room tips
Green Features: People in Oregon are just nice, you can clearly see that from the hotel staffs....
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX-wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing