We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Organic Coffee Shop”

Sleepy Monk Coffee Roasters
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Organic Coffee Roasters and shop
Restaurant details
Description: Organic Coffee Roasters and shop
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Organic Coffee Shop”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All of their coffee is organic and roasted on the premises. Delicious. They also bake their own delicious pastries. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttoVonRegenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    95
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great coffee shop with a terrific variety of brews. Big lines, go early, hang out and watch the traffic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nbeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty coffee and cookies”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Cozy little coffee house. I had a tasty latte and cookies! I'd definitely go back next time I'm at the Beach :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gromper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tasty coffee and treats in pleasant and unique atmosphere - a Cannon Beach classic”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sleepy Monk Coffee is a must stop everyday of our trip to Cannon Beach. That is every day they are have seasonal hours, and even in the peak season are not open everyday (closed Wed and Thur).

The coffee is top notch, both in terms of the beans/roast (we stock up while there, then order online to keep us going through the years), as well as preparation. My wife prefers the "Fancy" drinks such as "Monk's Decadence" and other sweet concoctions topped with whipped cream. I opt for a simpler unadorned cappuccino which they do right - not too wet or too dry.. smooth with a chocolate-y finish.

The sitting area is quite small, but our family of 4 usually manages to find a spot, and on nice days there is seating outside. It can get crowded and the line can get long, but the staff is friendly and efficient. If the line is long, try coming back in 15 minutes, there may be no line at all… it is odd how the dynamics of that work.

The food at Sleepy Monk does not seem to have changed much in variety over the years, but it represents a tasty, high quality assortment of baked goods, and a couple of savory items. A nice compliment to the coffee as part of your morning routine

We stay at the SurfSand resort just across the street on the beach (see review here http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g51790-d95948-r116594103-Surfsand_Resort-Cannon_Beach_Oregon.html), so Sleepy Monk makes a nice easy walk before we start out day. Sleepy Monk also shares the building with the Irish Table Restaurant (as in Sleepy Monk closes, then the Irish Table opens), which is also worth at least one dinner during your Cannon Beach trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannon Beach Barista”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Friendly service and great espresso! Plus they have yummy treats to eat! Long lines but the company waiting always were nice to wait with!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LChau_Beaverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleepy Monk Coffee Roasters also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sleepy Monk Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing