We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a nice lunch.”
Review of Cannon Beach Cafe

Cannon Beach Cafe
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: A small Café located inside the historic Cannon Beach Hotel featuring a fresh, delicious gourmet lunch menu which consists of sandwiches, soups, salads, Lunch Boxes To Go. Freshly brewed local coffee, specialty teas and fine Italian sodas are available. With upscale decor featuring original Cannon Beach seascape and landscape black and white photographs, wine colored walls, floors of classic black and white tile with rich wood trim, and a stunning tin ceiling, the interior provides the perfect setting for lunch during a beach get away. An open air patio with tables and umbrellas allow for al fresco dining. Bon Appetit! OPEN FROM 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM FOR LUNCH & FROM 5:00 PM TO 9:00 PM FOR DINNER
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good food but it is not special as the menu would suggest. The service was slightly slow despite few customers. It is only open for lunch.

Thank Dwight T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Dwight T,
Thank you for your review we do appreciate those who take the time to share their experience. We are so sorry you found our menu to be not so special. Our chef works very hard to use only fresh wholesome ingredients daily and offers vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free dishes, not easy to find in Cannon Beach. We do have many return customers who do find these items "special". Here you will find bread brought in by our staff from the Grand Central Bakery in Portland (impossible to find here), you will see a tray of freshly roasted beets coming out of the oven daily to prepare our delightfully fresh beet salad and sandwiches, or pans of freshly roasted sweet potatoes baked daily to prepare our savory sweet potato salad. Our teas and beverages are steeped to order and each food order prepared from scratch. Yes, this can slow things down a little and we are sorry your service did not meet your expectations. We do hope you will stop by again and give us another chance to prove we are "special".
Sincerest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Co-Owner / General Manager
Cannon Beach Cafe and Olio Cupcake Bar
Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I ate here on their second day open and it was fan-tas-tic. I'm so happy these people took over this space and have opened the first restaurant that has truly felt suited to the hotel and the space since Gower St. left all those years ago.

We had a wonderful lunch and took two cupcakes to go for a late night snack. I had an amazing crab salad and my husband had one of the best meatloaf sandwiches he's ever had. The lemonade was delicious. Oh, and the pickles! I insist that they start selling them by the jar and shipping them to my house right away!

We'd go back again and again if we still lived in Cannon Beach. I hope this restaurant is a huge success!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent visit at the Cannon Beach Café and Olio Cupcake Bar.
We are very happy to read that you were able to test the "best pickles you ever had!" Wow! What a compliment! Thank you very much for also noticing the quality of our amazing crab salad, meatloaf sandwiches, and our lemonade. We will share your comments with our staff, they will be very appreciative as they put a lot of love in everything they do here.
Thank you again for your review and if there is anything we can do for you, please just let us know.
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
Cannon Beach Café & Olio Cupcake Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Three of us had a delightful lunch yesterday at the Cannon Beach Cafe. We had been across the street at the Farmers Market when we decided we wanted more than a foodcart lunch.

The menu is indeed a gourmet one - full of wonderful possibilities. My sister-in-law and I decided to share the Chicken Brie Melt, (for a reasonable $2.00 split plate fee) which also has strawberries in it. My husband had the Crab Salad, which has peaches and avocado. I also had their lavender lemonade. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented.
Our server was a co-owner; he said that he and his wife had opened the restaurant only 11 days ago! For such a brand new endeavor, they certainly have their act together. And prices were very reasonable. (We nearly passed up this restaurant since the window sign says "Gourmet lunches" and to me "gourmet" translates as "expensive" - especially in Cannon Beach!) And after lunch we walked a short block to the beach. What more could you ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is a real pleasure to known that you appreciate the wonderful possibilities our menu offers at the Cannon Beach Café and Olio Cupcake Bar. Yes indeed, the Chicken Brie Melt and Crab Salad are delicious guests favorites already! We are honored to know you appreciate the intricacies of our dishes. We are also of the like mind, that gourmet food should be fresh AND affordable! Our proximity to the beach is a definite plus, but it would mean nothing without lovely folks like you stopping by and enjoying a meal before heading out to the surf.
Thank you again for your review and we welcome the opportunity to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
Cannon Beach Café & Olio Cupcake Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The chef is wonderful--goes above and beyond to make the experience special! Great food! Wonderful cupcakes!

Thank PacificNorthwestGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for mentioning that our Chef is wonderful! Yes she is a truly a gem, and cares more about her food and customers that you can even imagine. We’re so gratified when she is appreciated by travelers. We’ll be sure to pass on your message.
We are pleased to read that you thought our food was great, and of course Chef’s cupcakes are wonderful! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with the travelling community, it means everything to us.
Should you visit Cannon Beach again, please stop by!
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
Cannon Beach Café & Olio Cupcake Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate lunch here on the day of the Grand Opening last week. This cafe is attached to a very lovely looking hotel/B&B and the decor is lovely. A short walk to the Beach was perfect after a nice lunch. Service was good, and the food was delicious. I tried the Chickpea-Sweet Potato Burger and it was delicious. They do not have soft drinks though, instead offering Italian Cream Soda (which I did not try).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Cannon Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cannon Beach Café and Olio Cupcake Bar, where you were able to enjoy our delicious Chickpea-Sweet Potato Burger. We’re so glad you took the time to enjoy the beach after as well, it really completes the experience! Thanks again for your kind words, we will always strive to impress you!
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
Cannon Beach Café & Olio Cupcake Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannon Beach Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cannon Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing