We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place to stay in Cannon Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay in Cannon Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I just recently returned from a weekend getaway to Cannon Beach. It was a last minute decision to go with our dog so our options for staying somewhere were somewhat limited. I found Ecola Creek Lodge to have very reasonable prices and were pet friendly. When we arrived the staff in the front office was very friendly and helpful. The room we had was small but cozy. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. I would agree with others who said the funiture was a bit dated but everything was very clean. , especially since it was a pet friendly room. My only complaint is no screen on the sliding glass door. This would have been nice so we didn't have to block the door so our dog wouldn't escape. The other complaint we had were the walls were a bit thin. You could hear some people talking and when someone next door or above you took a shower, ran the faucet, or flushed the toilet it was VERY loud. This didn't bother us too much but is something to consider if looking for a very nice quite place to stay, and it may not be this loud if we had stayed in one of the other rooms.
The location of the lodge was also very convenient It was just a short walk to town and the beach.

Overall we had a great experience and would recommend it to others. We will definietly go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giggleac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    90
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
109
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

The staff here is terrific! The grounds are lovely, and the office very nice ,however, the rooms while very clean are a bit dated. We were comfortable in good beds and a large room, but noticed the furnishings were tired. We were planning to spend most of our time hiking Ecola State Park and beaches so the location is excellent and away from the tourist throngs, but definitely close enough to enjoy the town.
As for value, I wouldn't say it was great as they don't offer a continental breakfast as most lodgings in Cannon Beach do, but it is still affordable and a casual ,pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcboppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Our daughter stayed at the Ecola for her honeymoon last year, and highly recommended it for our "quiet weekend." I e-mailed the property to inquire about vacancies, and they were very prompt and friendly in replying. From the moment we walked through the door we were treated like old friends. The owners are so incredibly nice.

Our room was one of the small "fireplace" rooms, with a cozy gas fireplace, bed, futon, and small coffee/refrigerator/microwave area. We had a lovely little patio out front, overlooking the well-manicured lawn and park across the street. The wild bunnies would greet our comings and goings. They're simply adorable!

I would love to go back soon, get a kitchen suite so we can get local seafood and cook in the room, rather than fighting touristy crowds for local fare. Mo's restaurant, just a few miles down the road, became a fast favorite.

Ecola park is just around the corner and up the hill, featuring the most beautiful views in the entire area. Don't miss it!

Highly, highly recommend!

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was perfection!
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coastfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We chose the Ecola Lodge because it was a bit more affordable and had some of the nicer amenities while not having the beach view from the window. It was worth the tradeoff. The hotel is easily reachable from the north exit to Cannon Beach and is on the road the Ecola State Park and a short 5-10 minute walk to downtown Cannon Beach. That meant we were able to park the car and walk downtown to explore the shops, walk on the beach and eat in the cafes.

The rooms were clean, not fancy in any way but comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels and soap. One disappointment was roomcleaners came by and offered us new towels, but didn't clean up the room at all. We spent two nights.

Wireless Internet was also a nice convenience, they offer movies you can rent for $2, but we were able to watch a Netflix movie just fine. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregontcoastwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Or.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights with our dog and really enjoyed it.
The staff was very friendly.
The grounds are very well maintained, and the bunnies are so friendly. I was told by the staff that we could feed them, so I brought carrots along ~ too cute!
The location is perfect, just a very short walk into town and the beach.
Would love to go back...

  • Liked — Friendly Service, Beautiful grounds and Cute bunnies...
  • Disliked — The room was on the small side, you are limited with a dog
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed here on a Cannon Beach vacation, and we were very pleased with the friendly service, clean room, and well maintained grounds. (the bunnies are so cute!) It is definitely a bargain in Cannon Beach. The motel location is quiet, located just north of downtown Cannon Beach. Ecola State Park, and its fabulous views and trails, is just around the corner. Our only recommendation is improved linens. The sheets were a little scratchy for our taste.

  • Liked — great value, excellent location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — bed pillows and linens
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank runnerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is the first review I've written, but just had to write in about this one. This place was so perfect for our family of four. We stayed three nights at an excellent rate. We had the 2-bedroom suite with a kitchen. One bedroom had a king bed and the other had a twin and a double. They provided a pack-n-play for us as well. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the necessary tools. Great grassy area right out front and a little table and chairs on the patio. Super friendly staff, exceptionally clean rooms. Updated and comfortable. Easy walk to town and beach. Highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — Clean, convenient, friendly
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank goinwiththegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#5 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Property: Ecola Creek Lodge
Address: 208 E 5th Ave, Box 416, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing