We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute & Cozy”
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
FLORIDA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute & Cozy”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

When I booked I checked to see if there was AC in the rooms. And that's just incorrect.The website STILL says there's AC in the rooms! Luckily it wasn't hot & the 2 fans did the trick. But being on the 1st floor, there was no way I could sleep with the windows open..
The people who work there were most accomodating & they were so very pleasant & helpful. The grounds are cute, nice landscaping & the rabbits came around in the evening. The unit was roomy & comfortable & had a fireplace. A lovely place.
The folks who work there are so very nice. But I believe they should have the correct info about whether they have AC or not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICH618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    91
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
66
120
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Too many rules posted everywhere. Location not quite as desirable as led to believe on website..probably explains why they require payment in advance. Much better places to stay at comparable rates.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdavis122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The room is old and did not smell good. Bed was so uncomfortable. Got insect bites (lots of it) from the bed and blankets we used. I won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Supatra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ecola Creek Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
The current Lodge [Motel] was built in the mid-forties which accounts for it's unique Cape-Cod look, charm and nostalgia, and as with many older 'coastal' buildings sometimes you have that unusual 'woods-y' aroma. [Which some folk even what to bottle!]
As you review other "Trip Advisor" posts, which are also supported by our 'Guest Comment Cards'; most guests give us high marks for housekeeping & cleanliness, and all beds are current by Hospitality standards.
That's why the comment of insect bites is so puzzling, and also we've had no other reports!
As manager I did an immediate inspection of the entire room in question, and found no evidence of any. As always, we sincerely appreciate all input from our guests, and are committed to providing a relaxed, tranquil and 'clean' setting for our Pacfic Northwest visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We just got back from two nights at the Ecola Creek Lodge and were very pleased with our decision to stay there. The grounds were lovely; there's a koi pond in the courtyard and rabbits dot the ground, presumably helping out with the yard work (or working on their nourishment, you choose). The lodge is located on the edge of the town of Cannon Beach; it's about a five to seven minute walk into the shops in town and about a three minute walk from the beach.

We stayed in the turrent room, which features a large fully equipped kitchen. The living room has a comfortable sofa, two chairs, a new Vizio TV and a desk. The bathroom wasn't as up to date as the rest of suite, but it was very clean and the water pressure of the shower was fabulous. The bedroom was quiet and comfortable as well. Wi-Fi is free, and the Lodge offers 24 hour DVD and game loans. There's also a game room for kids (check with staff for hours), vending, and a laundry facility on-site.

The lodge is also located down the street from Ecola State Park--the viewing area at sunset is possibly the most beautiful thing I've ever seen in all my travels.

The bottom line: there are more expensive places to stay in Cannon Beach that may be newer, but this is a beautiful, comfortable, well-maintained property that will give you excellent bang for you buck.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereIsMyMnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here last September and had a great time. The front desk staff were super nice and very helpful. The grounds were very well kept and the place was in good shape. The room was modest, nothing too fancy but certainly suited our needs. Best part was our little deck and enjoying the morning sun looking over the gardens. This place isn't on the water nor is it right in the heart of town but a casual 5 minute walk will get you to either. We'll be back for sure...

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and could hear the people above us walking around a little... I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have been going to Cannon Beach for over 20 years and have always wanted to stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge, it looks so cute. I waited until Thursday before Labor Day weekend to decide to go to the beach. It was last minute so I didn't have a choice of rooms and ended up with room #12 which has an entrance in the parking lot, which I was informed of when I made the reservation. I was happy that even though the entrance was in the parking lot that the entrance had been constructed so that when you opened the door you didn't look into the parking lot and people in the parking lot didn't look into the room, it had a little "deck" where we put our cooler and beach items. Our room was very large, I was very surprised at how roomy it was. We had 2 queen beds, i had read in some of the reviews that the TV's were old but ours was newer and was great for watching a movie. The room wasn't a luxury room but it was clean and had everything we needed.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room as the weather was great that weekend. Since it was a holiday weekend the traffic in town was terrible so we parked the car and walked everywhere the lodge is in a great location for walking. There is a small park down the street with beach access (a 5 minuted walk). We also enjoyed sitting in the court yard by the koi pond. There was a wedding going on that weekend at the Lodge and we enjoyed watching the ceremony and being offered wedding cake.

I am glad we finally got an opportunity to stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge and when we stay again i want a room off the court yard. Great staff, very helpful.

Room Tip: call and see what rooms are available, the web site didn't really have the most accurate info...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lptsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Checked in on a very rainy day and it may have impacted our stay. Although the clerk was quite friendly she neglected to tell us that she was putting us in a 'pet' room. Within 15 minutes the disinfectant smell was overpowering with no way of venting the room out due to the rain. The carpet stains and dog bowl in the room were less than inviting. How can she not mention this?? We were moved to another unit and this one was much better as no pets were allowed in this one. It still had a 'musty' odor though. The room was large with a separate seating area to watch TV, although the TV was rather small. A fridge and microwave were provided. Unfortunately during the night we could hear every noise from an adjoining room, especially a man snoring. These thin walls were irritating to say the least so this is not the best place to stay while in Cannon Beach. Our 'average' rating is rather generous as we would not stay here again despite the nice location and appealing grounds. If only the interiors of the rooms were as nice....

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, AVOID the pet rooms if you do not have one. Can't stress that enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,009 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,614 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,504 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Property: Ecola Creek Lodge
Address: 208 E 5th Ave, Box 416, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing