We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schooner's Cove Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect from Schooner Cove as I've never stayed here (or in Cannon Beach) before. The room was clean and comfortable with a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. Great bathroom with all the amenities. I loved the fact the hotel was so close to the downtown area and I could walk to restaurants and shops. Haystack Rock is about a 30 minute walk down the beach. Staff were very nice and pleasant. All in all... a great and wonderful experience. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriott35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    255
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
323
472
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We've had mixed experiences at Schooners Cove. Previously we stayed in the 'sloop' room and thoroughly enjoyed the experience - 4 /5 star. We returned on the veterans/remembrance day weekend. We booked late so were in limited to the non-view 'landlubber' unit. We were going to be out so the non-view didn't bother us. What was disappointing was the noise - from the parking lot, from the unit beside, from the unit overhead. When I checked in with the frontdesk I was told the unit above wasn't normally booked out and the manager had been in the unit. There was another unit available the next night and we had a peaceful sleep but at an additional $65-75/night. Given we didn't need a second bedroom or kitchen unit it seemed like a waste but I needed to sleep. We have stayed at Westover Inns and generally have good experiences but this was the weakest part of our Oregon trip.

Cannon Beach was beautiful and the residents are friendly. We found the restaurant selection to be a bit limited but there are lots of good options in nearby communities (Chowhound had a discussion which was useful).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amuse_easily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The cost was a little more than I would normally pay for a room but this one was worth it. The view from our balcony window was definitely worth the extra money. Right on the beach with great views of the ocean and the rugged Oregon coast. There was a continual change in scenery as the day went by. Our room was recently renovated. New bathroom upgrades, granite tops in a small, but functional mini kitchen unit with stove top and frig which really came in handy. Picnic tables and grills are available for your use. A very short one block walk to the heart of town to go to the galleries, community theatre and restaurants. A hot tub was available after a day busy with activity. This was a well cared for property and had a great staff in the office.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

There is a reason why people return to this hotel and why it is constantly sold out. The rooms are in incredible condition, the staff are fantastic, the location is awesome (right on the beach, you can walk to restaurants and shopping). The rooms are pricey on the weekend off season at $259, but you'll be happy to pay it as we thought that the location and accommodation was some of the best in Cannon Beach (if not the best). We wished that we could have stayed longer and we will be back, it's great for families and couples!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Schooner Inn for 2 nights and had a lovely oceanfront room.
Kathleen, the manager, and her staff were outstanding and so very helpful.
The room was quiet -even though there was an extended family on the beach having a fire and cook-out. We didn't hear them at all.
We enjoyed the clam chowder at Morris' Fireside restaurant much more than at Mo's.
Breakfast at the Local Grill and Scoop was outstanding and within walking distance.
Bruce's Candy Kitchen also has scrumptious caramel apples!
Tip: Go to the tide pools by Haystack Rock an hour before low tide. We waited until low tide and ended up getting very wet from the waves coming in. It was still so fun though.
Cannon Beach is a wonderful place to visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The room was great, lots of room to stretch out and relax. What great gounds - right on the beach, lounge chairs in the grass. Great place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed in a double sloop with a friend this August. Fantastic location as has already been mentioned in other reviews. The accommodation was roomy and very well equipped, except lack of air conditioning. I do realise that the hot weather we experienced wasn't necessarily typical! Thought it would be a problem that there was no breakfast provided but a quick morning trip to the local (stunning) bakery and then a leisurely breakfast at the table provided in our own room soon solved that.

Loved the atmosphere as evening came on and families gathered to watch the sunset and then around campfires on the beach. Also enjoyed the local theatre.

The location of this hotel puts these experiences within easy reach. Did think it was a bit pricy but can understand why they can charge what they do!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner's Cove Inn

Property: Schooner's Cove Inn
Address: 188 N Larch St, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schooner's Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful oceanfront hotel in the heart of downtown Cannon Beach. Enjoy oceanfront suites, kitchens, gas fireplaces, Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, DVD players, and oceanfront decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schooner's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner`s Cove Hotel Cannon Beach
Schooners Cove Hotel
Schooners Cove Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing