We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schooner's Cove Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice, but smelly”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice interior, nice location on Cannon Beach. It smelled very strongly, perhaps of formaldehyde from cleansers or new materials.

Well appointed, would make a nice stay for a few days if it didn't smell so badly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer-westover, Owner at Schooner's Cove Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Everything is brand new at Schooner's Cove including furniture, wallpaper and carpet and we were very sorry to hear that you were sensitive to it. We hope that you will give us another chance and come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    254
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
318
469
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Afraid because it might mean i won't be able to get a room if it gets too popular. Serious. They are doing a real nice job with the renovations. The location is great, even if you really cant see the "Big Rock" at the other end of the beach.

Room Tip: In the summer it's nice to stay in one of the lower units, you can walk right out of your room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelcat012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just returned from two nights at Schooner's Cove Inn, Cannon Beach. We have stayed here before and thoroughly loved it. To our surprise this time, the rooms have just gone through a complete renovation from wall paper, to carpet, new beds, new furniture, TVs, etc. This made this little gem in Cannon Beach all that much better. The best thing about Schooner's Cove is its location. It sits right on the beach and is located right in old Cannon Beach; easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. You can't see Haystack Rock, at least from the south end, but who cares. Walk a 100' onto the beach and you can see it! We stayed in the room they call the Captain's Quarters with a separate bedroom. This unit comes with a small kitchen including a real refrigerator, two burner stove, half dish washer, etc. All the appliances appeared to be new too. All in all, if you want the beach experience as well as easy walking to Cannon Beach shopping, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sage102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I dropped my Mom off at her home in Seaside after she stayed with us for the Holidays. We decided to head to Cannon Beach and stay for the night. While we had lunch I called the list of hotels here on Tripadvisor and we swung by a few as well. We picked the Schooner's Cove Inn and more than happy with our choice. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful and right on the beach. Very clean and comfortable. Wonderful beds too. Loved that we were located right down town as well. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNesters1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the first time as an adult with my family at Cannon Beach, a place my parents love to keep coming to. While my parents suggested another location to stay (they had their favorite), we chose the Schooner's Cove Inn because it was considered such a great family place - essential when you are trying to keep a teen and preschooler happy.
IT IS a wonderful family place!

While the Inn itself is not amazing or new, it supplies all the amenities that you need for bringing a family to a beach like this.
We never had trouble with finding parking - there are ample spaces.
While the stairs are a hassle to climb up every time - even the lower floor has you climbing stairs - it is not too onerous (even my father - with his bad hip - managed without any issues.
The rooms are neither new nor luxurious, but do serve well as a 'home base' for the family to explore from. Each room has a kitchenette, and the beds were comfortable.
On the lower floors, each covered deck has its own staircase, providing you direct access to the grounds (a well maintained patch of grass where you can find picnic tables and bbq's). If you travel with others, you can move between rooms this ways as well: just walk up to the other room's gate.
From the grounds, it is an easy walk to the beautiful beach and towards Haystack Rock (a bit of a walk, but well worth it). The beach is lovely, long, but a bit boring (not tidal pools). However, if you make the effort to go to Haystack Rock during low tide, you will be rewarded with an abundance of marine life. If the weather is not agreeable, you can still enjoy the beach from the covered deck, as there are beautiful views from there.
The location is a very easy walk to main street (1 small block), where you can explore a place caught in a time-warp, and enjoy the beautiful small stores and courtyards off main street that lead to other great places. We found it Very SAFE to explore at any time.
This is a great place for families to come to, and my parents liked it so much that it is now their new favorite place. We are looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Lower floor is best when you are with younger children. Direct access to the grounds and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAbroadCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first time in Cannn Beach. We weren't sure where to stay. So glad we picked this hotel. Right on the beach, has a fireplace and balcony. We loved that we were able to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and even though we arrived early they were able to check us in. This will be the place we stay when we come to Cannon Beach

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han5son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Once again we visited Cannon Beach and stayed at Schooner's. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the town yet right on the beach. This is a very dependable hotel with all amenities you would want. Love the skippers room with king bed overlooking the ocean, romantic fireplace and a great deck with chairs. Always clean.

Room Tip: No pets and no smoking ...yea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,937 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner's Cove Inn

Property: Schooner's Cove Inn
Address: 188 N Larch St, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schooner's Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful oceanfront hotel in the heart of downtown Cannon Beach. Enjoy oceanfront suites, kitchens, gas fireplaces, Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, DVD players, and oceanfront decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Schooner's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner`s Cove Hotel Cannon Beach
Schooners Cove Hotel
Schooners Cove Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing