We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge, nice room, but needed a light switch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Apison, TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge, nice room, but needed a light switch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

While traveling Oregon Coast, we decided to stop for the night in Cannon Beach without really having planned to or done our research. Looked on this website and saw some good reviews for the Waves Motel and decided to give it a try, as they had a few vacancies. Great view from our room -- the next morning. The room itself was vary spacious -- living area, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and separate jacuzzii/hot tub indoor room. The room was a little warm, so we had to open the windows for a bit to cool it off, as it appeared there was no AC. Actually used the jacuzzi, as I felt this place was cleaner than your standard hotel bathtub. Great smelling aromatherapy toiletries! The bed was comfortable and had the softest sheets I've ever slept on -- I actually looked at the tag to see the brand so I could order some! Cons: (1) shower head was too low for my 6'1" husband, who had to bend down, and (2) could not turn out the porch light, so our room was a little bright at night which made it harder to fall asleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Kerri C,
Thank you for taking the effort and time to respond to your recent stay at The Waves Cannon Beach. Our A/C system is mother nature - a slight breeze will generally cool off most any warm day at the coast. You got one of the great days! We pride ourselves in having a clean property and my staff is very concerned that it is the best. Thank you for noticing the difference. Security was a concern when we built this building and the city did not have street lighting so we installed the outside lights on the building. We are correcting this problem - the type of shades we use now come in "room darkening" and we have ordered all new shades for this building. We hope this will still provide the view and security when needed and stop the night light from interrupting a good nights sleep. When you have the opportunity to revisit our area we would look forward to having you as one of our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    298
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
373
640
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to Cannon Beach thinking we may be able to get a place for the night and if not, head home or to Seaside. But we really wanted to stay in Cannon Beach. We got lucky. The Waves had 2 rooms availble and we took the first floor one. Perfect view looking west and north so we could see the ocean and the lighthouse. The room, with its country French yellow walls, was very inviting. Everything was perfectly clean, not easy to do at the beach, and the fireplace was a nice warming touch.
Next time we want to stay at Connon Beach, we'll reserve a room here in advance!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsimon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

First time in Oregon and Cannon Beach. We had a 2 night reservations in another hotel next door to the Waves but we fell in love with Cannon Beach and decided to stay another 2 nights. Unfortunately (or fortunately) our hotel was booked and we had to reserve elsewhere. By luck the Waves had availability and we booked one of the oceanfront rooms.What a beach view!! The room was very large with a gas fireplace. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. It had a great long galley kitchen but since the room was so large it did not feel awkward. The room was very clean.It had a small balcony facing beach.The motel is walking distance to everything in town. True, it was a little pricey but the view from the room was more relaxing than going to a spa!!

Room Tip: If you can, book the oceanfront rooms. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for sharing a couple of extra days of your vacation with us and in Cannon Beach. We find that if a guest visits one of our rooms, the room itself with the views offered, will generally be the seller. We appreciate you, the guest, that understands the quality of our property, the dedication of our staff and the convenience of our location. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as guests the next time you visit our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I usually plan more in advance but my fiance wanted to just get in the car and drive. I tried a few of my favorite places in Cannon Beach but could not find a vacancy. I read a review about squeaky floors and sub-par beds but choices were limited and I decided to give it a shot. The person I spoke with did not listen to me that we really needed king bed. She put us in a room on the ocean side but in a queen bed.
The room was ok but not worth the money. The ceiling above us was indeed very squeaky. The ocean was very far away. The TV got very few channels and we could not even get the Ducks game. And the phone did not work at all.
When I commented to the front desk the next day, all I got was a shrug.
WE WILL NOT BE BACK!

Room Tip: Maybe upper rooms will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miasorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Twenty-seven of us stayed at the Waves Oct.13-17,2013 to celebrate my birthday. The waves was fantastic and very accommodating. All of our guests loved their rooms, the weather was fantastic and the views marvelous. The Waves is a perfect location in Cannon Beach, walking is easy to almost anywhere you might wish to go. Lazy Susan's is great for breakfast and the driftwood has wonderful clam chowder as well as other food.
Our visit was great with wonderful friends.

Room Tip: The Waves Flagship units are marvelous with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltlady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for sharing your birthday with TheWavesCannonBeach. We were delighted to host guests from all parts of our country and be able to show them the beauty of the great northwest and especially Cannon Beach. For those that live close by we hope that you don't have to wait for a birthday invitation to come back - and - those from across the country please plan as special outing for this time next year. We are happy that the celebration went well and that you have many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first time staying at The Waves - will definitely be back! The Flagship room was very comfortable, had a great view of the ocean and is very centrally located to all of the shops and restaurants, so I had no need for a car except to explore other parts of the area. Room furnishings were more than sufficient and everything was clean and tidy. Although I was there in October and had no need for air conditioning, I can see where a hot stretch in the summer could be a bit uncomfortable as there is no A/C in the rooms. But, that would be the only negative I could point to . . . .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best moments of our stay were when we enjoyed the panoramic views of Cannon Beach from several large windows and the (smallish) balcony of our second story, one bedroom apartment at the Waves, Victorian. It had a chic little kitchen with all the essentials for cooking our meals, plenty of space in the living room, comfortable murphy bed that folded out of the wall in the living room and another comfortable queen size bed in the separate bedroom. Pretty, modern bathroom with turn- of- the century decor elements designed to match the name of the property. I would gladly return any time. Great location in town too, where everything is a short walk away. And did I mention the views?... the ever changing, marvelous vistas of that splendid beach? And the sunsets.....Wow!

Room Tip: Second floor was a good choice for us because we wanted to enjoy greater perspective of the beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackenzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing