We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for our 31st wedding anniversary "escape" this week. We have been to many places on the Oregon Coast and this is our first time staying in Cannon Beach. We loved
our room - Flagship unit - It had everthing we needed - complete kitchen, comfortable bed, fireplace, clean and bright, nice patio., It also had amazing views of the beach from large picture windows. It was also very private and quite the way the units were layed out. We also liked the location. Once we got there we could walk to everything and had a great selection of restaurants and shops. Our unit was so nice we brought back pizza and salad and ate it there,
perfect.
Other places in the area are much more expensive (that we have stayed at) and do not offer
what the Waves did - cannot wait to return again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    303
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
381
659
68
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Moved here from the hotel across the road as they had no rooms left for a second night.We had a one bedroom and Murphy bed room right on the sea front. It was unbelievable,the views can't be beaten. We loved it so much that we cooked for ourselves that night.The management were very friendly and helpful.We really appreciated that as the room wasn't rented the night before they let us into the room early to store our luggage,a really nice gesture. We will definitely stay there again.You can't be closer to the beach and yet you are still down town and able to walk to the shops and restaurants which you can't do from most hotels in Cannon Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We desparately needed a restful and serene escape and found the exact solution in The WAVES. What a quiet, well cared for property! Its location is perfect for walking to the quaint shps and botiques and a fabulous coffee cafe is right across the street! Our room faced the ocean and couldn't have been more peaceful as we enjoyed the sight and sound of the surf, gulls, and witnessed beautiful sunsets. Smells of campfires on the beach wafted into our room delighting our senses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr.Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Townhouse, Argonauta Inn, which is part of The Waves. We found it perfect for a three generation visit, including a 1-1/2 year old. The location was ideal just off the beach and within easy walking distance of the center of the village of Cannon Beach. We used the kitchen for quite a few of our meals and found it to be well equipped, including dishwasher and microwave, as well as a high chair for the baby. One night we used a barbecue which was just behind the Townhouse. The two bedrooms worked out well, and we didn't use the pull out couch downstairs. It was clean and bright and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubilada2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really liked this place, we turned up on spec and were made really welcome, great room on the beach everything you need. Will certainly return. A really good experience. Did I mention its right on the beach ?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_cox_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a car, so could stay a couple of miles out of the charming town ---although my kids ran easily that far every morning for exercise! We were not on the beach, but had a great view, and the ocean was a one minute walk from our deck. Everything in the condo was well appointed and well kept. Since the first night was cool we used the fireplace, and the next day we were brought new logs --- although the rest of our stay was sunny and 80 degrees. Restaurant tips from our property manager were greatly appreciated, and he was right every time.
I would absolutely recommend The Waves and would stay there again. Ellen G

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenaebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the Flagship king studio rooms with a beautiful view of the beach. The location is excellent for nice long walks and runs on the beach, walking to dinner, and making breakfast in the room (with a beautiful view).
The fireplace makes the rainy and windy times seem cozy. Lots of places to hike and explore. It made a wonderful get away for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: upgrade to the Flagship. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing