We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Little Cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Townhouse, Argonauta Inn, which is part of The Waves. We found it perfect for a three generation visit, including a 1-1/2 year old. The location was ideal just off the beach and within easy walking distance of the center of the village of Cannon Beach. We used the kitchen for quite a few of our meals and found it to be well equipped, including dishwasher and microwave, as well as a high chair for the baby. One night we used a barbecue which was just behind the Townhouse. The two bedrooms worked out well, and we didn't use the pull out couch downstairs. It was clean and bright and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubilada2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    298
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
373
640
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really liked this place, we turned up on spec and were made really welcome, great room on the beach everything you need. Will certainly return. A really good experience. Did I mention its right on the beach ?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_cox_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a car, so could stay a couple of miles out of the charming town ---although my kids ran easily that far every morning for exercise! We were not on the beach, but had a great view, and the ocean was a one minute walk from our deck. Everything in the condo was well appointed and well kept. Since the first night was cool we used the fireplace, and the next day we were brought new logs --- although the rest of our stay was sunny and 80 degrees. Restaurant tips from our property manager were greatly appreciated, and he was right every time.
I would absolutely recommend The Waves and would stay there again. Ellen G

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenaebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the Flagship king studio rooms with a beautiful view of the beach. The location is excellent for nice long walks and runs on the beach, walking to dinner, and making breakfast in the room (with a beautiful view).
The fireplace makes the rainy and windy times seem cozy. Lots of places to hike and explore. It made a wonderful get away for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: upgrade to the Flagship. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

With no reservations for Cannon Beach we looked around and price compared. This place is fantastic! We didn't have an ocean view, but a peak at it and it was still a great room and a great experience. The owner, Frank was super nice with lot;s of local knowledge. The room was very spacious, comfortable and super clean. The linens were the best we've ever slept on! Don't skip this place!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billwebbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for being a guest at The Waves Cannon Beach. We try hard to have affordable, comfortable accommodations for all size groups. Being on the beach or close by and still in the center of the village makes everything accessible by walking. After many years at the motel it is my pleasure to give as much information about our community as possible. Thanks for listening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Flagship King Studio and were impressed with the great view and easy access to beach. Clean modern room with instant gas fireplace made for a cozy stay. Hated to leave! Seemed like the sea gull who perched on the balcony had the same idea. Very close to shops and restaurants. Haystack Rock is probably a 20 minute walk on the beach but you will be rewarded with tide pools and ocean birds at low tide. Be sure to check tide tables and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_toute_allure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Our Flagship building at The Waves Cannon Beach was designed to provide our guests with a great view of the Pacific Ocean, the Tillamook Lighthouse, the rocks fronting Ecola State Park. The wave action against these rocks and just washing up on the beach in front of the building can provide hours of enjoyment and relaxation. All this and your still just a few minutes from Haystack Rock and even closer to the village. Thank you for being one of our guests and a visitor to Cannon Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights there recently and are already looking forward to staying there again. We picked it for its location and the photos on line and got everything we had hoped for. The room has a 180 degree view of the coastline and is right up against the bulkhead. We spent one glorious afternoon just sitting on our private deck and just soaking up the sunshine, scenery, and peace. On a rainy evening, we turned on the gas fireplace and had a toasty dinner sitting at our table and chairs inside, looking out at the beach. The king sized bed was very comfortable and so, too, were the chairs. Besides having two comfy chairs at the table (by the windows), there was also an easy chair and ottoman with a reading lamp. Such a peaceful stay. The location can't be beat. Not only does it sit at waters' edge (well, bulkhead edge anyway), but it is a block from the main intersection in town - close to restaurants and shops. The place was clean and modern and everything we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: The complex has more than one building. If you want an unobstructed view of the water, be sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We enjoy our "older" guests that have spent time on the beach and in the sand as well at those younger families that are beginning their memories. The Waves Cannon Beach is located conveniently located just steps for the beach and the village. This allows all ages to enjoy what this community has to offer. Thank you for sharing part of your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing