We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a queen La Colina suite with the kitchenette for 3 nights, and we had the most amazing time. Mid October was an amazing time to visit Cannon Beach because it was a bit quieter in the town, and the fireplace in the room completely made up for the rainy weather.

The room was fantastic, the view and quality of the room was better than I expected. We were glad we chose to stay here not only because of the hotel itself, but it is right in the middle of town and walking distance to everything we wanted to do. When we saw the location of other hotels that we considered, we knew we would have regretted staying anywhere else.

We got to experience an amazing overnight storm, met some super nice locals (Insomnia coffee shop across the street has amazing staff) and we will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great, friendly service. They went above and beyond . They were willing to give us the coat off there back . We were going to walk on the beach in the rain, they offered there rain gear. So I wouldn't have to buy any. I highly recommend staying at The Wave. I know we will be back.




  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The view was fabulous. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The kitchen was up-to-date and functional. We loved the Waves and will be back again. Cannon Beach offers some great shopping even in Winter. We enjoyed our vacation. The hotel was nearly empty at this time of week and time of year, but the staff was attentive to our every need.

Room Tip: Oceanview on the seawall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've now stayed here a few times and still love it. This trip we experienced a power outage while at the hotel. They called our room to see if everything was okay and then brought us a battery operated lantern so we wouldn't be totally in the dark.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenquinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just completed another 10 days at the Waves. For several years we have stayed once or twice a year for 10 - 14 days each visit. The Waves location is very convenient, the views are fantastic & the rooms are comfortable although this time we noted that the carpet was stained in a number of places & needed a good cleaning.

My only negative, based on a lifetime of hotel & motel stays across Canada, US & Mexico, is management's attitude towards any issues raised or problems that arise. Several years ago we were at the Waves when storms knocked the power out for a day. We were also there for the Japanese Tsunami warning & had to be evacuated in the middle of the night to sleep in our car until the next morning & could not go back until almost noon of the next day. Some people simple packed up & left. We stayed. Both times not so much as a complimentary breakfast. Nada.

This visit the wireless internet was out for the first 4 days, which is extremely important to me. I ended up incurring additional roaming charges over & above my roaming package, in order to conduct necessary business. I personally talked to the owner about a "partial" compensation - which was minimal. I received "attitude and nada."

This is the only place I have ever stayed where the attitude seems to come across that they are doing you a favour for letting you pay to stay there rather than appreciating your loyal business year after year.

As one example: I have stayed at the Pan Pacific Mountainside (Whistler, BC) for 50 nights in the last 18 months & only experience the exact opposite. I am welcomed by staff by name and am frequently asked by staff if there is anything they can do to make the stay more pleasant. If there is a problem, & any problems have been few and far between, there is an instant response & they are happy to compensate for any difficulties in a number of ways. That is the norm in all places that I have ever stayed -- except at the Waves. Hence my rating of service as poor.

Room Tip: We enjoy the second floor of the Waves Flagship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Detailman_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first visit to The Waves and we'll definitely make this our destination next time. While on a vacation trip with no agenda except to stay near the beach each night, we arrived in Cannon Beach without reservations and found a 'no vacancy' sign at our usual lodging. The owner there suggested we try The Waves and we found exactly what we had in mind: ocean view, beach access and easy walking to restaurants and shops. Our ground floor unit had a small deck where we enjoyed a glass of wine and watched the sun set. We enjoyed it so much that we called the front desk and reserved the unit for a second night! The large room had a kitchenette, fireplace, booth/table with large windows and a comfortable bed. The location is perfect -- you can park your car and walk to anything you might need. The beach is also very nice in this area and we enjoyed long walks in both directions. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm which building you'll be in -- there are 'levels' of ocean view here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Waves hotel off and on since 1989. I have tried several other properties in Cannon Beach and always come back to this one and now I'm a constant loyal patron. Best views of the Beach and Ecola Point are here. Most units have small kitchenettes and gas burning fireplaces. Great management team that is stable, welcoming and hospitable. Clean rooms and adequate parking. Location is fantastic and situated right on the beach and only 1 block from downtown restaurants, retail, and galleries. We usually buy fresh, fresh seafood from Ecola Seafood Market and prepared a meal right in our room. Purple Moon boutique is as nice as any on Oak Street in Chicago. Bruce's Candies are the best and choices abound. Although Bill's Tavern has great microbrews, the wait staff are some of the grumpiest people we've met in Cannon Beach. Instead try the Lumberyard for a cold draft while you watch you favorite team. Bill's by the way won't allow football on their TV because patrons linger around too long. Ummm... seems they have their priorities out of whack in a small community that is always welcoming and appreciative of your presence and business. Cannon Beach is a very unique destination and we love a 'get-away" weekend spent here. The Sand Castle contest in June and the Stormy Weather Arts Festival in November are sure bet great times. When we visit Cannon Beach we stay at The Waves Motel and don't consider any other place for accomodations. The location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Studio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,681 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $116 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing