We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in the Lighthouse Room at the Argonauta portion of The Waves and had a wonderful weekend. The private deck is wonderful and has a lovely view of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable and it was great to have a kitchen so we could eat most meals in. I had hoped there was a bath but the shower was fine as were mostly outside anyway. Simple, clean, great location, good price for the quality, WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is nicely laid out with corner rooms and windows that give you an outstanding view of the beach and coast. You can't see the Haystack from here, but thats an easy walk around the bend. It is an easy stroll to some of the downtown shops and restaurants. Well appointed rooms. Be warned though, the gas fireplaces do not have a protective screen, which poses a danger to young children..

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Vailhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

What sets The Waves apart from other rentals is their truly accommodating and generous staff. My wife has physical issues and they are always so kind and helpful in any way possible. We couldn't recommend The Waves any more enthusiastically than we do. If you want a clean environment, perfect location on the ocean and a stone's throw into town, very quiet, and a very responsive staff then this is the place for you. Bravo to The Waves, Brian and Sally Dutra.

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Wonderful of view Ecola Park. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Close enough to walk to local bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grfg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have been going to Cannon Beach for 40 years and staying at the waves for at least 25 years. It is a wonderful place to stay with so many options. We love staying in the 2 bedroom apartment upstairs as we are always traveling with friends or family. The views are breathtaking and the accomodations are great. You can walk to absolutely everything and easy accesss to the beach. We also like the flagship rooms as well. We have stayed in all the rooms at one time or another over the years and you just can't beat the service, location and views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stumbled on The Waves when we were looking for an ocean view room in Cannon Beach. Now we won't consider staying anywhere else. The location is great - you can walk to numerous bars and restaurants, it is quiet and the view to the north to Ecola State park is magnificant. We enjoy the bird and people watching from an upstairs king room. I especially like the amount of light in the rooms. My only request would be to have a spare blanket in the room for an afternoon nap, and some of the rooms need the TV upgraded.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Waves is my favorite find. I return time after time. They are perfectly located between the town and the beach so we are within walking distance to everything. Parking has never been an issue, either. We find the Waves to be clean, comfortable, and friendly. Their property has different room sizes and layouts to fit just about any needs from a small two person get-away to a larger family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,303 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $105 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing