We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Wonderful of view Ecola Park. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Close enough to walk to local bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grfg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    312
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
412
688
71
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have been going to Cannon Beach for 40 years and staying at the waves for at least 25 years. It is a wonderful place to stay with so many options. We love staying in the 2 bedroom apartment upstairs as we are always traveling with friends or family. The views are breathtaking and the accomodations are great. You can walk to absolutely everything and easy accesss to the beach. We also like the flagship rooms as well. We have stayed in all the rooms at one time or another over the years and you just can't beat the service, location and views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains, or
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stumbled on The Waves when we were looking for an ocean view room in Cannon Beach. Now we won't consider staying anywhere else. The location is great - you can walk to numerous bars and restaurants, it is quiet and the view to the north to Ecola State park is magnificant. We enjoy the bird and people watching from an upstairs king room. I especially like the amount of light in the rooms. My only request would be to have a spare blanket in the room for an afternoon nap, and some of the rooms need the TV upgraded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Waves is my favorite find. I return time after time. They are perfectly located between the town and the beach so we are within walking distance to everything. Parking has never been an issue, either. We find the Waves to be clean, comfortable, and friendly. Their property has different room sizes and layouts to fit just about any needs from a small two person get-away to a larger family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

First visit to the hotel, won't be our last. Room was in the Flagship Junior Suite (Queen, Twin) at the end of the building on the ground floor, The view was great. One of the few hotels with comfortable chairs in the room! Within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenquinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was the most romantic place to spend our 26th wedding Anniversary. The room was far better than or expectations. Clean and comfortable and worth every penny!

Room Tip: read reviews, we new a couple who stayed at the Waves and recommended it to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for spending your 26th Anniversary in Cannon Beach at The Waves!
We hope your time here was everything you were looking for in a romantic getaway!
We look forward to seeing you for 26+ more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was our first stay at the Waves. We rented the unit called The Contemporary at the White Heron. It was quiet, peaceful, with unobstructed views of the Esturary and the ocean, comfortable inside with great spots to read or nap (which we did both), and within walking distance to everything in Cannon Beach. We parked our car and for 3 days, we had a great R&R. We cooked in and ate out. No question.....a great find! Coming back in July for another stay in this same unit!!

Room Tip: The downstairs unit is larger and though you may have someone above you, it's easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgefieldjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,004 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing