We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I took a quick weekend getaway to do some work in peace and quiet. I stayed in the end unit on the second floor of the La Colina building, which gave me a great view. I am not sure if the other units have the same view, I think the Flagship building may be blocking the view for the other units. I sat in the lovely little craftsman nook and worked away, looking out at the ocean. I do like a kitchenette, and this one was fully appointed. The bathroom is nothing to get excited about. The cobble stone fireplace adds appeal. It is not a "resort" so the property itself does not offer a lot of attractions and amenities. The location is great. I have stayed at a few other properties in Cannon Beach, this is my favorite, and it has actually been the most affordable too!

Room Tip: Second floor north end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    298
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
373
640
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Whether rain or shine, I always enjoy my ocean visit to the Waves. The room makeover is beautiful and the walk to the beach is less than 3 minutes. The Waves is right in the middle of Cannon Beach and it's a perfect place to stay whether you're shopping, dining or beachcombing.

Linda
Hillsboro, OR

Room Tip: I like the Garden Court Rooms because they are quiet and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Right on beach, right in town! Don't have to drive anywhere unless you want to venture out on a hike!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetsommertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the flagship and LOVED it! The first 4 days we were on the second floor with a great balcony looking out onto the beach. Unfortunately we had to move to the main floor which was very nice but a bit noisier. All in all great spot. Nice kitchenette. We have already booked our summer vacation there again

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. Much quieter and stunning panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diesel1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Waves in May of 2011 for our babymoon in one of the Southwind king studio rooms. The facility was clean, comfortable, and well situated right in town/next to the beach. Our son was born in July of 2011 and we finally decided it was time to get away for a mini holiday this month (March/2012). We knew we needed more space than we'd had in May so we booked a one bedroom suite at The White Heron Lodge (Victorian) on the second floor. From the moment we walked into the room, we knew we'd made the right choice. The suite is bright, airy, and has a knockout view of the water (it's situated right along the estuary and looks out over the beach). It has a little balcony, a kitchen, a gas fireplace, and a huge bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub. The bed is comfortable and the furnishings are very nice (as opposed to some of the other places in Cannon Beach that look rather dated). Apparently there are laundry facilities right next door too and soap/change are both available over at The Waves office. I would recommend The White Heron Lodge Victorian highly to anyone, particularly couples with a baby looking for a little more space than a regular guest room would offer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a fabulous view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for returning to Cannon Beach and trying The Waves Cannon Beach's White Heron Lodge property. We find that families especially enjoy this property for the size and location. As your little one grows I hope you will continue to visit us, as a family, to enjoy the beach front lawn, the view, the ocean and enjoyment of this village. Hopefully we will see you soon - and remember we have all the sand toys available for your son's beach experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We began going to The Waves years ago. It has been a few years in between visits this past time, but it was just as we remembered it, except recently updated. NICE to find it has not gone downhill instead. We enjoy the quiet, sitting in our room watching the ocean. There is no sound except for the waves and the seagulls. There was only one thing we were disappointed about and that was they no longer use wood burning fireplaces, it is now gas. We missed having the wood delivered outside our door and the warm cozy crackle of the fire. But the gas one did provide atmosphere regardless of the authentic fire feel we missed.

Room Tip: we always ask for the beachfront room, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Waves is a fine quality, family-owned & operated motel, right at the beach and a block from the pedestrian-friendly row of interesting shops and restaurants. Although it happened to be cloudy and occasionally drizzly the 3 days we were there, we were able to take relaxing walks on the beach, just across the street, and find some good restaurants nearby. Our room was a welcoming and comfortable respite after 6 days of one-night stays. We enjoyed the cozy and tasteful Craftsman Style furnishings. Would stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in 'The Gardens' do not have ocean views, but enjoy the same proximity to beach and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing