We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Court - great value steps from the beach”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, MD
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Garden Court - great value steps from the beach”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in the Garden Court King/Twin room. It is a great choice for anyone who doesn't want to spend an extra $50-100/night for an ocean view - who needs that when you are just steps from the beach? We loved the super-soft luxury sheets and comfortable beds. Location is excellent, near shops and restaurants. So nice to be able to walk two minutes for those early morning runs on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    312
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
412
688
71
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in the Flagship units that offer the best ocean views in my opinion of the three complexes they own. One thing you will notice is that the view is better than that of others as it overs 180 degree views where as other facilities offer you only a straight foward view.

Per other reviewers, I have to agree, any other complex besides the Flagship, only offers partial views of the ocean and usually from leaning over a balcony or looiking through the gaps of the Flagship complex.

In regards to service, I noticed a lack of friendliness as well. Not only at the faciilty but everywhere we went in Cannon Beach wether it was restaurant or shopping. I'm from Leavenworth, WA and we handle a fair amount of tourists as well with much better service.

BTW the turn down service is very minimal. They only touched the towels and bed. That's it.

All in all this location was acceptable for what we needed and even as first time visitors. Just don't get your hopes up that they appreciate the business, or a showing of it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Flagship, second floor room 410
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ming1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I liked the Waves a lot. We had a nice view of the ocean, a clean quiet apartment and instant access to the busy center of Cannon Beach. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment, the main room spacious and the bedroom bright and cheerful. Lots of clean towels, plenty of storage space and a hot shower that really worked - what more could we ask. Cannon Beach at this time of year is really expensive but I thought we had good value for money.

Room Tip: The upper floors have better views but there are stairs not elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent five nights in a ground floor king studio in the Flagship Building, spectacular ocean front location. In fact, we actually gasped when we entered and walked from the entrance off the parking lot to the door leading to our private deck.

Here is what The Waves does really well: comfortable and spacious accommodations. Kitchen very well equipped, including a toaster and small coffee pot (with coffee replenished daily). Private deck, thanks to positioning of individual units. Large picture windows and casement windows to get the evening breeze. Nice spa, though it was out of commission twice during our stay. Abundant towels.

What The Waves does less well though not necessarily a problem depending on the guest: there are no curtains on the windows, only flimsy shades, which means that the room is full of light by 6:30 a.m. Again, some folks may like that but we were looking forward to sleeping in on vacation. Lack of daily maid service meant that after five days the bathroom/toilet were a bit grungy. Again, a personal issue. Others might not care. The rooms do include fresh towels daily, but those towels might be delivered anytime between 10:30 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Would we return? Probably yes. While not cheap, The Waves offered a very comfortable stay in a great location. Just stop by the drug store to buy a sleep mask, the kind you wear on an airplane. Also---and this is no small issue---you can walk to many restaurants, galleries and a small supermarket (expensive) without touching your car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capitol Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

we booked a room with ocean view balcony.. if we stood hanging over the balcony we could see the ocean in between buildings. Kitchenette was microwave on top of fridge. Cutlery and two bowls were in top drawer of night stand ..room had one chair and no table at which to sit.. definitely not a room for two as billed. A total rip off..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We've stayed at The Waves many times and always enjoyed it. The property is always excellently maintained and we love the location. But what is puzzling to us is that whenever we call to make a reservation or go to the office to check in, to ask a question, to check out, no matter who is working; hired help or the owners, they've never once seemed friendly or appreciative of our business. Never an acknowledgment that we are repeat, repeat, repeat customers. Any intereactions are always short; never friendly, and almost curt. Guess they have so many customers they don't need to care if we come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klamath87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I am sorry to hear that our staff was not as friendly as the can and should be. We really do appreciate your business and all repeat customers. Our manager is generally great with remembering not only repeat customers names but a little about each of them. Personally I have a hard time with names but remember faces very well. We try to make conversation with each guest as time allows usually about your home town or vacation plans. I apologize that we haven't shown our friendly side and we will make every effort to improve this portion of our operation. Please allow us the opportunity to show our improvement.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirland, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I were thrilled to find a reasonable ($139 in the Garden Court) and nice room located close to the ocean and central to town. We parked our car and walked everywhere. Easy to leave our room and take long walks on the beach. Close to great places to eat. We will definitely be back to the Waves.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,004 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing