We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waves
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfsand Resort(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveler rating
1,061
335
60
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
335
60
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite heronla colinaflagship buildingocean viewgas fireplaceshops and restaurantsbeach houseking studiogreat viewecola creekpark your carprivate deckthe north endwithin walking distancemiddle of townperfect locationfew steps
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,425 - 1,430 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Waves August 17th for 3 nites, and loved the view. We had the Flagship Studio Room with a king bed. It was worth the money. Windows everywhere. The only problem which wasn't the motel. was the fires on the beach at nite, filled our room with a smoky smell for most of the nite and with no A/C, we couldn't open windows til late in the morning. Perfect location for town and the State Park. We would definetly return. The fireplace was definetly a perk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The price was excellent after looking at what was out there and being affordable. It was nice to see so many families staying and taking a vacation. Our room was very clean and quiet.
When we asked where a good place for dinner was the advice was right on.
The beach is tops on my list of beauty with easy access!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I've never written a negative review before. Nor have I ever been treated with such disrespect by the owners of a hotel. We've been staying at The Waves regularly for more than 10 years. It's expensive in the high season ($250 a night for our king room), but the view is lovely. When we went to take our showers on Sunday around 10:30 before heading out for the day, no hot water. The owners had scheduled replacement of the hot water heater! We couldn't shower until 2. We were not warned ahead of time, or we would have showered earlier. This wasn't an emergency, but a scheduled repair. We decided to let management know--politely-- that we weren't happy, and the owners, the Swedenborgs, happened to be at the desk. They could not have been more dismissive, almost ridiculing us for being upset about the hot water. Their attitude seemed to be that we should have just been glad they took care of the problem. We left completely astonished that they didn't seem to care to keep us as long-time patrons. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
11  Thank esoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Splurged for two nights at The Waves (room 406). The room was clean and nice but I have easily stayed at nicer places. The location was great. I wanted on the beach and I got it. I would stay here again.

Hotel staff was very accomodating. Asked for a fan and a roll-a-way and both were provided.

Minor details like no soap in the room, quick call and it was provided.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Followtheequator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The place was beautiful and calm. The waves sung lullabies for all of our family. The kids could go to the beach unattended, so we had time to relax and read in a comfortable armchair. Just make sure your advance payment is on the bill :-) and you better buy groceries before entering town, they are extremly expensive there ,enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: we were in the white heron which was great
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews