We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying at the Waves”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Loved staying at the Waves”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Waves August 17th for 3 nites, and loved the view. We had the Flagship Studio Room with a king bed. It was worth the money. Windows everywhere. The only problem which wasn't the motel. was the fires on the beach at nite, filled our room with a smoky smell for most of the nite and with no A/C, we couldn't open windows til late in the morning. Perfect location for town and the State Park. We would definetly return. The fireplace was definetly a perk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    310
    45
    23
    17
See reviews for
409
685
71
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The price was excellent after looking at what was out there and being affordable. It was nice to see so many families staying and taking a vacation. Our room was very clean and quiet.
When we asked where a good place for dinner was the advice was right on.
The beach is tops on my list of beauty with easy access!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I've never written a negative review before. Nor have I ever been treated with such disrespect by the owners of a hotel. We've been staying at The Waves regularly for more than 10 years. It's expensive in the high season ($250 a night for our king room), but the view is lovely. When we went to take our showers on Sunday around 10:30 before heading out for the day, no hot water. The owners had scheduled replacement of the hot water heater! We couldn't shower until 2. We were not warned ahead of time, or we would have showered earlier. This wasn't an emergency, but a scheduled repair. We decided to let management know--politely-- that we weren't happy, and the owners, the Swedenborgs, happened to be at the desk. They could not have been more dismissive, almost ridiculing us for being upset about the hot water. Their attitude seemed to be that we should have just been glad they took care of the problem. We left completely astonished that they didn't seem to care to keep us as long-time patrons. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank esoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Splurged for two nights at The Waves (room 406). The room was clean and nice but I have easily stayed at nicer places. The location was great. I wanted on the beach and I got it. I would stay here again.

Hotel staff was very accomodating. Asked for a fan and a roll-a-way and both were provided.

Minor details like no soap in the room, quick call and it was provided.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Followtheequator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldmeilen, Zurich
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The place was beautiful and calm. The waves sung lullabies for all of our family. The kids could go to the beach unattended, so we had time to relax and read in a comfortable armchair. Just make sure your advance payment is on the bill :-) and you better buy groceries before entering town, they are extremly expensive there ,enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: we were in the white heron which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have returned to the Waves for the third time and are planning to go back. The location with a gorgeous view and east beach access makes it perfect for us. The rooms have been great and the staff/management attitude has been very friendly and gracious. Need a little faster wi-fi but other than that PERFECT!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We enjoyed our beautiful guest room with an ocean view, right on the beach! Quiet, clean, well appointed rooms in a great location in Cannon Beach. The fireplace in our room made for a romantic, cozy evening on a cool, misty Oregon night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,940 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing