We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Hearthstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great location on Hemlock Street (main thoroughfare thru Cannon Beach, but we've never noticed any noise)... 2 blocks to the beach and 8 blocks to downtown. The Inn itself is rustic and cozy... rock fireplace (they provide one Duraflame log each day so bring as much firewood as you can), log four-poster bed (very cozy), fully equipped kitchenette and pet friendly! This was our second stay at Hearthstone Inn (room 25 both times)... we love this place and are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_and_Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear livelaughlovemore,
Wow, thank you for your lovely comments. Our team members do read each of our guests’ comments and it matters to us a great deal. It is nice to know that you appreciated your stay and let us know about it. Maria, the housekeeper for the Hearthstone Inn, has been here for nine years and works hard each day to make sure the rooms are perfect. We can’t wait to have you back!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Hearthstone Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

The place looks very cute and quaint on the outside like a rustic cabin and it's within walking distance to the beach and town. That's where the appeal of this place stops. We walked in and there was sand all over the hard wood floor. The bathroom floor was disgusting as there was a mixture of sand, dust and hair accumulated along the floor boards and corners. The shower in the bathroom gets water everywhere! The towel mat given to you to step out onto is soaked after just one person taking a shower!! In the little sitting area you walk into from the front door is a couch that has seen better days. It was so worn and outdated I laid a blanket down on it to sit on because I couldn't think of the things probably living inside. The TV is a joke by the way, a very very old tube TV and very small. The fireplace was the only redeeming quality we saw on the inside of the room. The little kitchen provided looked clean and cute however as you stepped up to it you saw the dirt. The window you don't even want to go near it was caked with so much dirt and dust and looked rusty. I opened up the drawers to get utensils to cook dinner with and the drawers were of course full of dirt and dust and the utensils didn't looked washed. I had to wash everything before using it. I only cooked one night and we had to eat out after that because I was so disgusted. The bed in the bedroom was extremely uncomfortable and I was awake all night. Oh and forget about any real heat. The heater in the sitting area didn't work at all. The one in the bedroom worked half the time and I was cold every night. At least we had a fire in the evening that helped warm it up, but once we went to bed it was extremely cold. We were gone all day in town and at the beach and by the time we came back in the late afternoon the room hadn't been cleaned or restocked. I had to call to have the maid service bring us new towels and a Duraflame log. I will never stay here again and upon check out I let the front desk know of my disappointment.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank dis3fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear dis3fam,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are terribly sorry you were disappointed. As you can see from many of the reviews following this one, Hearthstone Inn is a place that is known and loved. Maria, our Hearthstone housekeeper would weep at your comments and so do we all. We are a small group of dedicated employees who know and love every inch of The Hearthstone, it is special place that we work hard to preserve. Built in 1982, it was completely handcrafted from locally milled cedar logs with hand-built, beach-rock fireplaces. Our rooms are inspected each day before check-in to make sure nothing is missed. Cleanliness is a top priority. Our shower curtains are washed daily and we have a program of cleaning that is very meticulous. Regarding the TV, we actually had a guest tell us recently that they hoped we will not upgrade the TV, which, by the way, we are planning to do this year. You will not find another inn like it in the area, perhaps the Hearthstone Inn is not for you. Nevertheless, this is simply not typical of the Hearthstone Inn and staff, and we are mortified at your experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will work with the appropriate team members to ensure that we address your concerns fully. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us at one of our other properties that is newer and more contemporary.
Sincerely,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Hearthstone Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in Room 26. This is not a cabin! It is an older place that has been remodeled to feel like a lodge. I loved the lodge feel!!! Others have written that the bed wasn't comfy but I didn't feel that way at all. I wouldn't want to stay here in the summer because it is set right on the main road but since we came in on a Sunday in Oct. it wasn't too bad. I can only imagine what it would be like on a busy summer weekend. Noisey! The kitchen was well equipped with stove, micro and small fridge. They have place settings for 4 and pots and pan to cook with. This is a pet friendly place. The parking is in the back of the lodge which we were not told. The place next door will call and have your vehicle towed if you park there. I loved the fact that you are only a block from the beach and that there are shops all within walking distance from here.

Room Tip: Room 26 is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjf4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a great place. It is convenient to the beach, coffee shops and town. With a kitchenette, it is perfect for a small family. It is quant and cute. However, I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed. I'm not being dramatic for the sake of this review. Both nights my husband and I woke up repeatedly, due to being sore from the bed. In the mornings we felt like we had been camping and sleeping on a themarest. You will wish you slept on the beach as laying on the sand is more likely to bring about a good night's sleep.

The hearthstone Inn is described as rustic, and clearly it is the bed they were thinking of! Ouch.

We were in the grand room, number 24.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanderson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was worried. They've improved. Our room was clean and I even I asked for it to be serviced early and it was the first room they did and with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyjean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were a little worried about our stay here as the reviews were all over the place. We ended up pleasantly surprised and loved our little cabin. The cabin had a lodgey feel with the hardwood floors, log bed, and river rock fireplace. We had our two kids there 8 and 11 and our little dog, and although it is small, we fit just perfect. The pullout bed worked fine for our kids and we loved having a kitchen to cook, with enough utensils for four. It was a a great cozy cabin with character. We were surprised that we didn't hear any of our neighbors too. The only thing that didn't work really well was the heater. It was all or nothing, but we figured out that we let it heat up and then turned it off and it was no problem. The fireplace in the evening was all we needed too. It was close to town and we were able to walk everywhere. The beach was just a minute walk away too. The front desk people there were very nice and courteous too!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 and liked that we only shared one wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytime00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Telling me, "We're never doing Groupon again" doesn't make me feel any better about the fact that you've arbitrarily decided not to honor a $185 voucher. Your issues with Groupon aren't my problem and Groupon doesn't do refunds.

We stay at the beach often, but here's one place I'll never be staying now.

Take care of your customers, and agreed: Don't run a Groupon again.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulforkfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Guest Relations Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

I apologize for any inconvenience you were caused, however, we cannot make exceptions to extend promotions past their expiration date. The details of the promotion were fully expressed and your acknowledgment of these details was required at the time you purchased the deal. You do have alternative options to use your Groupon credit after the expiration date, which we are glad to discuss. Customer service is our number one priority, I regret we did not have you as our guest. Please contact us with any further questions.

Cordially,
Monique Petersen
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
0.2 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn

Address: 135 E Jackson St # 139, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3090
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $151 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone Inn is a rustic, distinctive cabin-style inn offering four unique rooms just 1 block from the beach. All guest cabins include large wall-mounted flat screen TV, DVD players, traditional beach rock fireplaces handcrafted by local artisans supplied with burn logs (refreshed daily), and kitchenettes with most of the items you may need for a small meal including a stove, under counter fridge and microwave. The thoughtfully designed interiors feature knotty cedar, cut at a local sawmill. With vaulted ceilings and skylights, the rooms maintain an airy and rural feel just a few minutes' walk from downtown. Log beds with our custom made SeaCloud mattresses, original art, cozy furnishings, and easy parking complete the authentic Northwest experience each room provides. This inn is completely family and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hearthstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing