We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service isn't important to these people.”
Review of Hearthstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Telling me, "We're never doing Groupon again" doesn't make me feel any better about the fact that you've arbitrarily decided not to honor a $185 voucher. Your issues with Groupon aren't my problem and Groupon doesn't do refunds.

We stay at the beach often, but here's one place I'll never be staying now.

Take care of your customers, and agreed: Don't run a Groupon again.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulforkfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Guest Relations Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

I apologize for any inconvenience you were caused, however, we cannot make exceptions to extend promotions past their expiration date. The details of the promotion were fully expressed and your acknowledgment of these details was required at the time you purchased the deal. You do have alternative options to use your Groupon credit after the expiration date, which we are glad to discuss. Customer service is our number one priority, I regret we did not have you as our guest. Please contact us with any further questions.

Cordially,
Monique Petersen
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were able to check in early, front desk staff very nice. The room was just OK, on the small side. We stayed in one of the units that allowed dogs,unit 25. The room was not cleaned very well. My puppy came out from under the bed with a flip flop and matches. Hair and dust in the corners, potato chips by the toilet in the bathroom. Greasy dishes in the cupboard. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. We checked out early and went home. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLM1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear guest, I truly regret the unsatisfactory conditions you reported about your room at the Hearthstone Inn. I can assure you that we are committed to providing fresh and comfortable rooms for all of our guests, and are very concerned that it appears our regular room inspections had missed the items you discussed on the date of your stay. If we may offer you an opportunity to impress you with improvements, please contact me directly. Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback.

Cordially,

Monique Petersen
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in room #24. It was spacious main room, with a small bathrrom with a shower. It has a kitchenette, fireplace, queen bed and pull out sofa.

It was clean with lots of windows, dogs are welcome. It is quiet and cozy and the staff were friendly. However the main drawback is there was no ice machine.

Room Tip: Room #24 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kortkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a tiny room. Should not advertise 'can sleep 2-4 people'. Beds are terrible, and one of those is a hide-a-bed, which was awful, and not enough lights to see well, much less read. Not enough pillows or blankets- it was cold ! One old crappy TV in main room. Small table, ridiculous "kitchen" - that was one long weekend, especially with 4 people in there. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelsea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the larger unit and really enjoyed our stay. The separate bedroom allowed me to sleep in while my wife watched tv. We are tea drinkers and the kettle on the stove was perfect. The kitchen was very well equiped in this unit and we had everything to cook a meal. The tongue and groove ceiling, stained glass window and beautiful river rock fireplace make this a cozy cabin experience.

Although the location is right on Hemlock I did not hear traffic. There are a few restaurants [Doogers] close by and the beach is just one block away. Checking in at the Cannon Beach Hotel two blocks south is easy and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Hearthstone for our yearly Mom and me weekend. The room was large with a kitchenette and table. It was very comfortable and clean. We found it very cozy considering fall was in full swing during our visit. I highly recommend the Hearthstone or any of the other Cannon Beach Hotel lodgings (McBee, Courtyard and main hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHLOwner, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hearthstone Inn for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked three nights and had planned on cooking at least two meals a day. The unit is advertised as "fully equipped kitchenettes", which was far from the truth! The main appliances worked fine but there was very little cookware or utensils for cooking anything. It was impossible to cook even pasta because of only having a small sauce pan and no way to strain it. There was NO cheese grater, measuring devices, serving bowl, peeler, or most anything else you may need to cook anything. Apparently, no visitors are allowed due to there only being two eating utensils: two forks, two spoons, and two knives, with no large preparing spoon or fork. Within one hour of checking in at the Cannon Beach Hotel lobby, which is where you must go for the Hearthstone Inn property, I requested a pasta pot and a large spoon. The receptionist went to the now de-funked restaurant within the hotel and found a very large pot, which would not even standup on the stove burner because of being so out of shape, and a bent-up spoon. She said she would leave a note for the day person to act on our cookware needs. Needless to say, when we returned the next afternoon to the hotel lobby, no real attempt was made to supply us with cooking essentials as requested the day before. We spoke with the general manager who was NOT the least bit apologetic but did finally offer to buy or scrounge up what we needed. (We heard from some of the Cannon Beach store owners that the manager is one of the least liked people in town). She definitely has no clue about customer service! We asked for a refund for the last two nights so we could stay elsewhere but she would only refund for the final night. Anywho, by the second evening we finally had what we needed to cook pasta but left the next day to stay at Sea Breeze Court which was wonderfully equipped to cook meals. My advise is to stay away from any of the Cannon Beach Hotel properties: (Hearthstone Inn, McBee Cottages, ......) and Highly recommend Sea Breeze Court.

Room Tip: Stay @ Sea Breeze Court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
1 mi away
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
#5 of 17 in Cannon Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn

Address: 135 E Jackson St # 139, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3090
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $145 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone Inn is a rustic, distinctive cabin-style inn offering four unique rooms just 1 block from the beach. All guest cabins include large wall-mounted flat screen TV, DVD players, traditional beach rock fireplaces handcrafted by local artisans supplied with burn logs (refreshed daily), and kitchenettes with most of the items you may need for a small meal including a stove, under counter fridge and microwave. The thoughtfully designed interiors feature knotty cedar, cut at a local sawmill. With vaulted ceilings and skylights, the rooms maintain an airy and rural feel just a few minutes' walk from downtown. Log beds with our custom made SeaCloud mattresses, original art, cozy furnishings, and easy parking complete the authentic Northwest experience each room provides. This inn is completely family and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hearthstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing