We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camp Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metolius River Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've Ben staying here for 20 years, but you can't tell the cabins and grounds are that old. We love driving through the pine forest on a warm day (that lovely pine scent is so relaxing.) Each cabin is tastefully decorated, although we do have two favorites ;) The managers, Nancy and Allen, really make you feel like you are truly welcome and are always helpful and friendly. Sitting on the deck in comfy adirondack chairs watching the wildlife along the beautiful Metolius river is all you need to do...or you could hike, ski, bird watch, fish...endless activities. After a long day you can cook in your well appointed kitchen or in-season dine at the close by Kokanee Cafe. Ahh...I'm relaxing just thinking about it..time for another reservation!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is our second visit to the Metolius River Resort staying in cabin 2. We absolutely love it there. We were late arriving so we called on the way and Nancy let us know that our key would be pinned to the bulletin board at the managers office. It was there as expected. The lights were on in our cabin and everything was perfect. Kitchen is equipped with everything that you would need, including complimentary coffee beans for morning coffee. Our only complaint is mattress on the downstairs bed. It could use replacing. Other than that everything is perfect. Resort is very quiet and relaxing. We will be back! If you visit, you need to have dinner at the Kokanee Café next door...it is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clb0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well, this is an "unusual" review of sorts, but is worth your time reading! We were so looking forward to spending four nights in one of their cabins in August, when we learned that due to competing college orientation schedules with our son - we needed to cancel. I gave Nancy a call to let her know, hoping I could ask if they could find another renter to fill the cabin since we were beyond the 30 days. I did not even have to ask, as it turned out. Nancy was very accommodating, and offered to refund our deposit in full even though we were over the deadline. She was just wonderful, and very understanding. I look forward to scheduling another trip there as soon as we can, but in the meantime wanted to share this little tidbit about their service. How this was handled speaks volumes about them, in my opinion. Enjoy, fellow Camp Shermaners!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank SoupGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay for two nights. Everything we needed was in the cabin, including logs for the fire. Enjoyed a lovely walk by the river and saw a herd of deer twice in two days. The store nearby is a treat. Had fun snow tubing at Hoodoo Ski Resort just about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

You're forced to slow your pace. And really, isn't that the point? No cell service, some internet access, but not enough to make you feel as though you should be working. Cabin 2 was exceptionally clean and well stocked for two people who prefer to cook, rather than eat out.

Although the previous reviewer thought the cabins were too close together, we didn't notice....each cabin is set back or forward from the one next door, so you never feel as though you're looking in the neighbor's window or staring at their deck. In the end, there was ABSOLUTELY no sense of a lack of privacy. Additionally, it is an exceptionally QUIET place, even with all the cabins full, some even with children!

There are a number of fabulous hikes in the area Nancy (the resident manager) even loaned us a hiking guide so we could adventure as near or far as we would like. Fly fishing with barbless hooks was also possible pretty much off the banks everywhere. Camp Sherman store is very well stocked, friendly and the fly shop staff is very knowledgeable with licenses available in the shop. Wildflowers were everywhere!

Finally, the staff was remarkably friendly from beginning to last. Upon making our reservation, we had a lovely, fairly extensive conversation with Nancy about all of the possibilities for our coming week off. Although they make it clear that there is no "maid service" during the length of your stay, the staff disposed of our garbage when we needed them to and took care of our recycling when it built up (we were there a week!) In essence, you have to make your own bed and keep yourself tidy. (Not a real bummer, clearly) Yes, having access to a laundry would have been nice, but we called ahead to check and just packed more stuff!

To address the LoriBer's comment, I think there was simply a misunderstanding in communication. MRR works very hard to make sure that everyone's stay is relaxing and peaceful. I personally would not have enjoyed our stay nearly as much, if we had to wrestle with "parties on the deck", which is what the office person was trying to avoid, I don't think they were trying to keep four adults from enjoying a glass of wine on the deck.

The bottom line is that when we left after our week, we were regretful, but made a commitment to spend one week a year in this place of refuge. It was a brilliant choice for our twentieth anniversary!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxhillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place is beautiful...pretty quiet and right on the river. However the cabin are pretty close together...so if it's privacy you want you'll need to go elsewhere. It's a short walk to the camp Sherman store which has everything you need. The cabin are extremely clean and everything you need in the kitchen is there. We were disappointed that there were NO BIKE RENTALS or laundry for the cabin guests. And when I asked about both the manager seemed irritated that I asked and responded rudely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Becky,
I am so sorry that you felt you were being treated rudely. Did this happen at check in?
There are no laundry facilities or bike rentals in Camp Sherman at all. We are all on septic systems out here and we just could not handle all of that water. We do tell people about the laundry in Sisters when asked.
No, this is not a cabin in the woods as you can tell by our web page... But the resort has planted bushes by every deck to give people a little privacy.
We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the cabins and how people are treated.
Other than your problem with the laundry and the bike rentals, I hope you had a good time. I think we have a beautiful property here. You can relax on your deck without being bothered. We do not allow people to wander around on our property so the only people on our property are cabin guests.
Once again, I am sorry this wasn't what you expected. I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Contacted office and spoke to a woman trying to find an available cabin 4 months in advance for 3 nights for 2 couples. I asked which cabins were available and she said the cabins were all privately owned and even though they advertised they could sleep 4 some would not allow any more than 2 and even if we stayed in a cabin and our friends stayed in one next door in their own cabin they did not want us to spend any time in each others cabins! I said that's crazy, what is up with that policy? She remarked in a very Snarky and Sarcastic way it's just the way it is! Mind you we are all in the age range of 50's to 65 and a glass of wine is as crazy as we get! We all felt this was a very strange and controlling way to run a vacation rental business! Putting up with this type of attitude and having a resort monitor every move of the paying patrons did not sound like a very relaxing way to spend 3 days to us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank LoriBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Sherman
16.3 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
625 reviews
16.1 mi away
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Lake Creek Lodge
Lake Creek Lodge
#1 of 5 in Camp Sherman
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metolius River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metolius River Resort

Address: 25551 SW Forest Service Rd 1419 Rd, Camp Sherman, OR 97730-9632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Camp Sherman
Price Range: $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your perfect Northwest retreat is found along the picturesque Metolius River. Here, nestled among the Ponderosa pines and glorious Aspens are eleven privately owned cabins. Each is fully equipped and decorated to reflect the Northwest cabin experience. Known as one of Oregon's premier fly-fishing rivers, the wild and scenic Metolius River offers a challenge to the most skilled fishing enthusiast and flows but steps away from your cabin door. RATES: All cabins are the same rate, starting at $265 per night for double occupancy and an additional $20 per extra guest per night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing