We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first trip to Camp Sherman was grand!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House on Metolius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House on Metolius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Camp Sherman was grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were only able to stay one night, which is simply not enough time at this fabulous resort. We have stayed at many other spots in Central Oregon, but this was our first to Camp Sherman, and it won't be the last. We booked the River Wisdom Package - it was great, as it included a 3 course dinner with wine, plus other treats such as chocolates, cookies, tea, continental breakfast, etc. We spent the late afternoon outside in the sun, relaxing and enjoying this beautiful setting (plenty of outdoor seating, river views, a beautiful lodge) plus ample hiking trails just outside the door. We stayed in a lodge room - the rooms are well appointed with queen beds and include a fireplace in each. The staff members were all gracious, smiling, and went out of their way to make our trip special. Thank You Loy, Jade, Melissa, Chef Robert, and all the staff members. We look forward to future visits.

Room Tip: All lodge rooms #1-7 are very similar - almost identical in fact. There isn't a bad one. #1 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaT503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Lisa - Thank you so much for your wonderful comments after your recent stay. We too wish it could have been longer as we were just getting to know you both when it was time for you to depart. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for remembering all our names and your appreciation of our staff and services. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

How does one get close to the river, the trees, the silence of our natural world without a tent and a sleeping bag? This place is the answer. No tv's, thin walls, or blow up mattresses. The rooms included touches that an artist can appreciate. The River Wisdom Pkg came with Moonstruck chocolates, cardamom cookies, tea etc.

The staff was headed by Loy and each and everyone of them were on the lookout for anyway they could make your stay better. Jade was always generous with her time and smile, Robert the chef prepares amazing meals, see picture, and whether you are seated with a group, the owners or by yourself at a 'table for two with a view' you just have to experience it and flow with it. Tyler, I believe is his name, is a great face to greet you with your morning confections. The continental breakfast is perfect to get you going, the homemade croissants were even made into a bread pudding for dessert for dinner! Now that was something!

We hiked 5 miles round trip to the fish hatchery, one trail is right next to the roaring Metollius river as it meanders downstream thru the gorge. The 220 acres of the HOM property are accessible and a fabulous way to feel like you are in your own private kingdom. How often do you get that experience these days? Others have described the architecture, the cabins and rooms with great passion. I can only add this is a wonderful place to paint. It would make a great artist retreat or spiritual gathering place because there is so much expansion available to all.

Room Tip: If you sleep in a king bed, you should ask for one here. All the rooms are great. I am pretty sure 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
D and S - Thank you for such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us! Of course, we would echo that House on Metolius is a wonderful place....but we are spoiled as staff, to have guests like the two of you! It was such fun to provide extra touches of service and to see how much you enjoyed the details that we pride ourselves on thinking about. Of course, your "dinner with a view" at the special table in the living room, overlooking the Metolius River, was accentuated by the family of Canada Geese with 4 goslings, that paraded back and forth in the meadow or paddled up and down the river....almost as if on cue! We also enjoyed seeing your painting (which you have probably finished by now) and stories of the fish that must have gotten away. We hope you can return soon for more memories! All the best to you both! Loy, Jade, Robert, Tyson and Melissa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at House on Metolius over Easter weekend. The weather was outstanding, views of the mountains was great and the food and service was amazing. Thank you to Jade, Loy and Robert for truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: House on Metolius is the best kept secret in the NW. It is perfect for family get togethers as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenDaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Ken: It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed a "mini-reunion" here this past weekend. We certainly found it fun meeting more of your family and seeing how they all enjoyed your grandson and their great grandson. There seemed to be a lot of excitement with the little one! In addition, sharing food and beverage together while celebrating the 62nd wedding anniversary of your aunt & uncle made it an extra special weekend. Best wishes for many more such happy celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My summers (1950's) were spent at a family rance across the river from House On Metolius. Those summers and the setting changed my life. A new building (with 7 "hotel rooms) continues to respsect the pristine, unbelievable setting. Cascade mountains, amazing Metolius River meandering through an unspoilded meadow (emerges out of the ground few miles away) is breath taking. Land in the area is protected from further commercial development. The Metolius River is known worldwide for catch and release fly fishing. Camp Sherman (store, fishing gear, sanwiches, and a single gas tank) near by looks almost the same as in the 1950s. Hiking is available in a 360 range to spectacular trails and unspoiled views one can hope for. The facility is well designed. Furnished with facinating books. A grand piano in a large living room and spacious outdoor patios just above the river. Overall a quiet setting. Enables acquiring rest, relaxation, peace and solitude.
This visit was for an invited group to experience a marvelous setting, good food and music. Did not spend the night. Comments on rest of the setting; highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two areas for overnight accomodations. The original "cabins" used mostly by thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello EB ! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about House on Metolius. Your memories of past visits were so interesting to hear and to see that you feel all is well here on the Metolius River Basin was very encouraging to hear! It was also great to see you visiting with Jade (she says "hello" as well) and discussing past visits to the area with your friends GC & KM. The "new building" or Main Lodge as we call it, isn't really "new" as it has been our owners' family home and private retreat since the late 1950's. As you noted, guests enjoyed the cabins on the west side of the river, while our owners enjoyed their privacy here on the east side of the river. The Main Lodge was opened for use by the public in April 2012 and it has been well-received in this first year of business. The great concert you enjoyed by noted Portland pianist and composer, Michael Allen Harrison, who was joined by recording artist, Julianne Johnson, also of Portland, is just one of many such special events we've begun to host in order to showcase this wonderful private home now turned into an elegant retreat. We hope you will come and visit us again soon and we thank you again for your support and compliments. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the ultimate romantic get away! A surreal mountain resort experience. From the hosts Jade and Loy greeting me by my first name to the beautiful views from every part of the resort.

The place is perfect for a wedding party. The rooms are large and some have cozy fireplaces. The Great Room had a large fireplace, along with a grand piano. The dinning room and lounge area was warm and relaxing also with a fireplace. Great for conversing and enjoying a delicious meal. They have 3 lodges and 3 cabins. The Main Lodge is immaculate.

Speaking of meals, this place has amazing food! Catered to the brides's liking, the appetizers, lunch and dinner was an assortment of fresh green salads, roasted seasonal veggies, crab cakes, wild rice, roasted lamb and chicken skewers, roasted duck, grilled trout, pickled cucumbers and to top if off, continental breakfast was served every morning. This place is a foodie's heaven. If I lived near by, I would eat here once a week just for the homestyle cooked food! Just when we thought the afternoon reception was over, just after 6 PM, they served us the leftovers! I NEVER had this type of experience before! They also cater to special diets, for people like me with sensitive tummies. I felt spoiled and blessed to have had such unbelievable meals catered just for us!

I feel so grateful to have this once in a lifetime experience and recommend House on Metolius to all those lovers of the great outdoors.

Mahalonuiloa (Many Thanks) to Loy and Jade for attending our every need and the secret Chef (whoever she/he may be =)

Room Tip: Sleep with your windows open, if you like to fall asleep to the sounds of the forest and the river f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mahal: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facilities and staff. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed attending the wedding this past weekend and your detailed review really made us smile. We try very hard to "meet and exceed" our guests' expectations and we appreciate your compliments. Our Chef, Robert, also enjoyed reading your evaluation of his food preparations. We like to focus on regional cuisine and he calls it "South by Northwest", using indigenous ingredients but always with a little spice to perk up the flavors. He is no longer a "secret" as many of our guests have discovered him and now follow his flavors with special dinners which they arrange here at HOM. We hope that you too will be able to return and enjoy the House again on a future visit. Remember that you are always welcome and we'll be sure to have your room ready again soon! Best regards - Loy, Jade and Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to spend 2 nights with our Sales Team at the House on the Metoliis! There were 6 adult men on the retreat. It was perfect! In addition to a perfect setting and relaxed meeting space, we were also able to do some fly fishing with the help of local guides arranged by management. Three of the guys were totally inexperienced but had great fun and one of the other more experienced was able to land about a 9# Bull Trout! Another afternoon we booked 18 holes at the wonderful course at Black Butte Ranch (very close by). The food, drink and hospitality if the staff was wonderful and the warm homey feel of the main house built on the experience.
I would recommend House on the Metolius for any function of this nature or even a few couples get-away week or long weekend.
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mike - Thank you for the great notes from your company retreat this past fall. We enjoyed serving you and your team. We also remember that great fish adventure....the largest fish any of our guests landed this season and with our catch and release waters, it will be there for another lucky angler in the future! Don't forget the great team-building sessions around the fireplace in the living room as well. All in all, we're glad it was a productive time for each of you and we look forward to your return. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from an overnight business retreat where we had a chance to get all the members of the team together to create more connection, communication, and clarity around the business we're growing. The House on the Metolius was the PERFECT location to do this. We were all able to stay in the Main House and bask in the amazing attention to detail that Loy, Jade, and Robert (LOVED the coconut rice!!) put into every aspect of our stay. Make no mistake, this is not rustic. It is desert elegance right out of an issue of Architectural Digest. The families that own the property are inspiring adventurers and risk-takers as made evident along the hallway. We had our first 'meeting' in the main living room, and needed to take a 'deer moment' break to watch two deer come up on the property for a bit of lunch and prance across the lawn. We were well taken care of and we look forward to going back!

Room Tip: The whole house was quiet, with a nice distance between rooms so we didn't feel crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtistJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Jen: Thank you for your kind words about your team and their recent visit to House on Metolius. We are so glad that our key staff was able to serve all your meeting needs and that your time was productive while here. It was great to watch your organization spend time together, handle issues and deal with the challenges of your growing business. With the extra effort you all put into your sessions, we know you will be successful! Best wishes to you all and....yes....please come visit again when you can relax and enjoy another "deer moment" (and elk, coyotes, osprey, etc.!) Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Sherman
15.0 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
24.5 mi away
The Lodge at Eagle Crest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sisters Motor Lodge
Sisters Motor Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sisters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices

Been to House on Metolius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Metolius

Property: House on Metolius
Address: Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on Metolius, located in the heart of Central Oregon, has served as a private estate and retreat for over a hundred years. This beautiful two-hundred acre estate sits astride the Metolius River, with its magnificent view of Mt. Jefferson and Three Finger Jack.At House on Metolius, we focus on a small number of guests, and your family gathering, wedding reception or company planning session will have our full attention.Experience this private stretch of river with your family or share the experience with a group as a corporate retreat. Take in the crisp mountain air, relax and experience Central Oregon with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House On The Metolius Hotel Camp Sherman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing