We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal corporate retreat experience”
Review of House on Metolius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House on Metolius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I feel like a chanterelle mushroom forager who happened upon a trove of earthly delights. Do I jealously guard information about my experience at the House on the Metolius to keep others away? That's just not in my character. Besides, I can't resist the urge to beat Sunset magazine to the punch in describing one of the most extraordinary travel values on the West Coast.

Last week, my management team and I spent two nights and nearly three days on a retreat at the Main Lodge. Loy Helmly, the general manager, managed the logistics of our down to individual meal plans (including ingredients) with my administrative assistant.

Most of my team stayed in the Main Lodge. Another stayed in one of the cabins situated about a mile away from the Main Lodge that she affectionately called the "Hobbit House". [The House on the Metolius encompasses a very large swath of land that abuts the Metolius River.]

Upon entering the Main Lodge, you discover the incredible stone work and wood work of this rambling, bright and airy ranch style home. All of the bedrooms and public gathering rooms have unobstructed views of two mountains. The large stone terrace is perched over the clear, serpentine Metolius River. No expense was spared in the furnishings and finish of this home. There is nothing fussy about the ambience of this home. It epitomizes understated elegance.

Loy and his team were very attentive to the needs of my team. We dined inside in the main dining room, outside in a covered porch and on the terrace. Our meals featured fresh, exceptional quality ingredients that were deftly prepared. On our first night, we dined on halibut and salmon. The quality and care of the chef's preparations were excellent.

In summary, our team had a very comfortable and productive meeting experience. I could not have scripted a better experience. It is (and I hope will remain) and extraordinary value. A five star experience at a three-star price. Thank you Loy and team.

Room Tip: Book early to insure that your whole group can get accommodations on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosecityoak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Greetings and thank you for such a wonderful description of your recent visit to House on Metolius. We love being "discovered" and your description of the search for rare forest mushrooms and the feeling of pleasure and adventure it evoked was inspiring! We are definitely excited that your meetings were so productive and we were able to compliment them with our facilities and service. Such high praise is "music to our ears" and motivates us to continue our efforts for our guests. We look forward to your return next year and another great planning retreat for you and your executive team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin has really about everything you would need, even if you decide to bake they have utensils for it. We had very good and relaxing few days there, and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuta_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your visit, especially noting that our cabins are fully supplied with utensils for making a great dinner or that special dessert. We like to think that our guests come here just for that reason - to enjoy the amenities of the cabins that compliment the beautiful natural surroundings. We're looking forward to your next visit as well. Best regards from your friends at House on Metolius!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is the most beautiful setting I have ever seen in my life! We were here for a wedding, and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The reception was on the deck of one of the cabins, which was very nicely appointed.

Be sure to get directions, and don't use your GPS or an internet map service, or you may end up lost.

We loved House on the Metolius so much, we're already planning a return trip (to stay) for next year!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SwissMiss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I consider the House on the Metolius an absolute, and rather hidden, gem among very many outdoor lovely places I've enjoyed worldwide. Natural beauty rivals wilderness environs I know in Switzerland, Austria, Southern Alps in New Zealand and parts of Africa. Long meadow with artesian fed Metolius River, towering old growth evergreens, surrounding glacier topped mountains with just a few antique cabins. Fine trout fishing: rainbows and Bull trout. Copious Oregon flora and fauna in lovely solitude. I've been a guest there multiple times in four decades.
James W. Hall III, MD Outdoor writer.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
Thank dochall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We've been visiting the House on the Metolius for over 17 years. It holds a special place in our hearts and memories. This year we spent a wonderful Christmas in cabin 3. We'll be doing that every Christmas in the future! This is truly one of the most peaceful places in Oregon to rest your head and your mind. Here's a short video from our visit.

http://vimeo.com/18327621

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royaltreatment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

As soon as we arrived at House on the Metolius, all of our cares melted away. The individual cabins are cozy, the staff is wonderful, and the property is as beautiful as it gets. And if you're looking for a private stretch of prime fly fishing water on the challenging Metolius River, House on the Metolius is unmatched. We look forward to coming back year after year, and highly recommend this destination to anyone looking to seriously relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I have returned to House on the Metolius year after year because of its peaceful, quiet ambiance, spectacular views and friendly staff. It is a small resort located in the Pacific Northwest’s Cascade Mountains near the tiny town of Camp Sherman. It consists of several small, simple, but well-appointed, self-catering cabins that can be rented for short or long stays. The views of the mountains, especially Mt. Jefferson, are breathtaking.

The Metolius River runs through the property and offers challenging fishing for the avid fly fisherman. There are many opportunities for hiking and biking nearby. Bird watching is also rewarding....there are eleven species of woodpeckers in the area! Many hours can be spent sitting in Adirondack chairs under the towering Ponderosa pines looking out to the snow capped mountains beyond and feeling the stresses of everyday life fading away in this uniquely serene and tranquil setting.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House on Metolius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Metolius

Address: Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Price Range: $129 - $2,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House on Metolius 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on Metolius, located in the heart of Central Oregon, has served as a private estate and retreat for over a hundred years. This beautiful two-hundred acre estate sits astride the Metolius River, with its magnificent view of Mt. Jefferson and Three Finger Jack.At House on Metolius, we focus on a small number of guests, and your family gathering, wedding reception or company planning session will have our full attention.Experience this private stretch of river with your family or share the experience with a group as a corporate retreat. Take in the crisp mountain air, relax and experience Central Oregon with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House On The Metolius Hotel Camp Sherman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing